We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Hotel

The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Hotel amenities
The Queens Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Paul C
Add Photo

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    98
    100
    46
    28
    22
See reviews for
40
123
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very expensive for what it was, dated internally especially the shower in my double room. The breakfast was cooked & left within steel containers to stew... not good, i would have at least expected a decent shower & 'freshly' cooked breakfast. This makes the travel lodge look good...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

James, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. The Queens Hotel is a traditional hotel, and concentrates on comfort and service rather that being 'modern' despite the fact that the hotel has all modern facilities including lifts, stairlifts and fibre optic, wi-fi throughout. All our breakfasts are freshly cooked and presented in heated display units as is the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited family who suggested lunch at the Queens. Very disappointing we had a variety of food and non seemed to gave been made by the chef. All the sauces, burgers, and even the onion rings and chips were frozen and then fried. For the price I would have preferred the longboat Inn near the station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Paul C, Thank you for your review. We can assure you that very little of our food is 'frozen and then fried' - especially not the sauces. Our food is all cooked to order, using locally-sourced produce wherever possible. Your comments have been passed on to our head chef and kitchen staff. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I knew before booking that the hotel was dated. The room cost £111! What I open the door I quite simply couldn't believe they had the audacity to charge me that amount for this room. I own a caravan and the shower facility and toilet where larger in the caravan than it was this room! I complained and was given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Lee, Thank you for your review. The Queens Hotel is a traditional, family hotel that takes pride in values such as comfort and service. The hotel might not appear modern, but it has all the facilities of a modern establishment. Our room prices are, simply put, our room prices. In the summer months, the hotel is often full and so... More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I arrived at the hotel late at night after a 12 hour journey, having vacated the hotel we had originaly booked as we were not happy to stay there. The night porter, Russell, literally came to our rescue and could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He organised 'emergency' single rooms for us until the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Jill096, Thank you for your kind review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff to be very helpful in your hour of need. We always put the interests of our guests first, and are likewise glad when we can go the extra mile to help. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went by coach from Wales on Bank holiday week to the Queens hotel Penzance. On arrival we were greeted with tea and coffee, The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are nearly the same size as a single room. All very clean, towel changed every day.Waking up each morning, to a sea view which was lovely. Two dinning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Penzance55, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

As locals we have visited the Queens Hotel lately for Sunday lunch. The choice is good and there is an alternative to the roast and a vegetarian option also. The roast is value for money at under £10 for one course. The meat is plentiful,fresh veg is cooked to perfection and the gravy is delicious a real tasty meal. Starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Pauline, Thank you for your kind review of The Queens Hotel. Our Sunday roasts have a good reputation locally, and further afield, and so we're pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the views. As you say, it's always good to book early to get a window seat. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Penzance
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights recently. The £87.50 for a single was Ok for the bedroom and the lovely hotel features. (I like these older hotels) The bathroom was tiny without room to put your shaver etc. There was a shelf above the WC so you need to remember to keep the lid shut. The shower was quite a step... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Penlowarth, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Queens Hotel and for the review. Sorry to hear you nicked your toe - we'll take a look at the shower unit in that room. Our staff are always pleased to help and serve you, and we're pleased that you enjoyed the bar and breakfast. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I booked the queens blind via our works agency. The carpark is at true rear of the hotel. Reception is via the carpark up some steep stairs but there is a stair lift. The reception staff were very friendly with a polite manner The room was disappointing. The rate was £110 for a room over looking the carpark. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for your review. The title 'tired but lovely staff' reads like some of employees could do with an early night! However, you praised our staff which is very kind of you as we make a great effort to make sure all our guests are made welcome. Some of our rooms are smaller than others, and the... More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I'm slightly surprised by some of the poorer reviews on here. I found the hotel to be very comfortable and the staff to be friendly and efficient. The hotel location is fantastic, with lovely sea views from the front rooms and the restaurant. Breakfast was very good with all the choices you would expect from a large hotel. The cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graymole, Thank you for taking the time to review The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Queens Hotel in every way. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Had an excellent night at this hotel. From arrival it was brilliant. Efficient, friendly service at reception, a comfy bed (a single room that was like all single rooms small, but you get what you pay for!) and one of the nicest hotel breakfasts I've had. Little more to say - hope they keep it up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ockhams, Thank you for staying at The Queens Hotel, and thank you for your review. We pleased you enjoyed your visit and your breakfast and look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay