We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Hotel

The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Queens Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    103
    52
    30
    22
See reviews for
40
132
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (309)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the queens hotel from 13th to 17th august as a coach party,our room was no. 81 on the side of the hotel, a large twin room with bath and shower. the food at breakfast and dinner was very good, and the staff were friendly.there is also a nice bar and a large car park at the rear.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A fun night laid on by the hotel. The food was delicious. Great themed menu to compliment the entertainment. Great venue. The acting left a little to be desired. Some of the actors were very good, but some of them seemed to struggle with a simple script. But if you want a fun night out with a group of friends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has fabulous history and is in a great position on the sea front with free car parking at the rear. For me, this hotel isn't flexible enough for business travellers as the breakfast starts too late and the dinner finishes too early at 8:45 ( every others place shuts at 9:00 or 10:00pm - there is only 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had made a long train journey from Nottingham , catching the Scillonian next morning. On entering the hotel , I was warmly greeted by friendly & welcoming staff. My room was very comfortable & really clean. I asked if I may order food as it was early evening by now, & chose a jacket potato with coronation chicken. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go for Sunday lunch at the Queens Hotel and we are very pleased that we did. Having phoned ahead we were able to book a table ust half an hour before we intended to eat. On our arrival we were welcomed by the dining room staff and shown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was all and more than we expected. The room was delightful, the food excellent and the hotel staff were courteous and very helpful indeed. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend The Queens without reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very expensive. Poor value for money. Doesn't look like it's been decorated since the 1970s. Room was very small and the bathroom was even smaĺler. Staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very greasy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Suzanne, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. The hotel is a traditional hotel, and is decorated each year. We are very busy in the summer, and the price you paid is the fair price you would pay for a seafront hotel in Cornwall. All our larger rooms are also booked way in advance, so a smaller room... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

This hotel is clean, rooms were spotless but on entering the single room that I was in you can't help but think you were in your grandma house, the hotel really does need redone. Drinks in the hotel are crazy expensive, it's definitely worth the 20min walk to town to avoid this. Staff are professional , well turned out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Simon, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. The Queens Hotel is a traditional hotel, and so decor reflects this and so therefore is subject to taste. We don't try to be 'modern' in a lodge-hotel style, but focus more on customer care, service and cleanliness. I shall pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to the head chef. Regards, Nigel... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

My title sounds derogatory but it is not. This hotel was adequate for our visit to Cornwall. The location was perfect. We stayed for 4 days and were able to go in all directions easily to places we wanted to visit. There are not many hotels so close to the sea where you can open the windows and hear the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Kandn, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you liked the aesthetics of The Queens Hotel. The hotel is a family establishment that strives to adhere to the traditional values of good service and comfort. While there might be 'newer' hotels, we believe in sticking to British traditions and maintaining the ambience of a... More 

Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We arrived and the atmosphere was that of family. Very pleasant to deal with. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. They were very helpful with information about places to eat. The bartenders were funny and we enjoyed our conversations with them. They had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Jane, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our bar staff to be entertaining. We do try to make sure that all our guests are well looked after, and that you are truly accepted as one of the family. Regards, Nigel Pengelly. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
7.0 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay