We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Penzance

Certificate of Excellence
Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Add Photo

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    315
    112
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
49
286
55
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (481)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Isles of Scilly, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was pleasant and clean, however some basic maintenance let it down. Had the room not been so expensive, I would probably have overlooked the safety pin in the blind and mould in the shower. We were unable to eat there in the evening as the restaurant was full. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your review and we are glad the team provided a good service. Your other comments have been noted and will certainly be investigated. Our restaurant, The Bay, can get very busy and therefore I recommend making a reservation in advance so not to be disappointed. The Brasserie menu is served in the evening from 5... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
584 helpful votes 584 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On our road trip around the south coast we stayed at the Hotel Penzance and it was one of the highlights of the trip - the staff were excellent; the room was very good and the food first class - we will stay here again for longer when we come back to Cornwall - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, what a lovely review and we are very happy we made your stay memorable. We are already looking forward to meeting you both again next time. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here from the 19th June until the 23rd. we had the perfect stay, it was our first time in Penzance and we loved it. The hotel was wonderful, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was great too! the location of the hotel is just perfect, walking distance from the local shops and restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your 'amazing' review and we are so happy that everything was perfect for you. We look forward to welcoming you next time. More 

Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel and I would stay again but in a different room. In general the check in staff was quick and efficient and our room was ready when we arrived. This is a smaller hotel that does have some quirks - there is no lift, the hall ways are a little tight and the car park is very tight and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are very happy you were pleased with the service we provided and enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been noted and will be investigated and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Cornwall. More 

Reading England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You expect an awful lot for £210 a night and it makes you more picky than you would otherwise be, hence the following comments.... The staff were very good - attentive and friendly. Room was very spacious with great views of the sea. No blackout linings in the curtains meant that the daylight streamed in from dawn - this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are glad you had a lovely stay. Your comments have been noted. Today is the start of our Penzance Golowen festival when there will be samba, sunshine and sensational scenery in the town until June 28th. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, we had a fantastic room with lovely views over Penzance and Mounts Bay. The food was 5 star quality and the management and staff were really helpful. I am sure we will go back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for posting your great review and we are all very pleased you had a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you next time. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel in every respect! Helpful staff, excellent rooms, outstanding on-site restaurant. It was quite easy to take a casual stroll into the center of Penzance from the hotel. While parking on-site is available, given the layout of the lot, it is somewhat difficult to park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and glad you nada wonderful time with us. We look forward to welcoming you next time and hope you had a safe journey home. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is an adjoined pair of old homes on a hill, with the resultant corners and snug public rooms . We were greeted on arrival by the Manager, who showed us around before taking us to our room (Number 7), which has a fine view overlooking the harbour. The room was comfortable, and generally quiet although some noise did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are very pleased you enjoyed the great views from your room along with the other services we offer our guests. Our cocktails and dining experience in The Bay restaurant were especially enjoyed by your goodselves. We look forward to welcoming you back when on your second trip to Penzance and trust your journey home was a safe... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was excellent, lovely room, great view over harbour and St Michaels Mount, very good food, staff eager to please but not intrusive. We had a lovely stay. Parking is daunting and possibly insufficient, although we never used our car once it was parked preferring to use local transport. Also the only other comment I would make is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and we are all very pleased we made your Ruby Wedding Anniversary celebration special for you. Your comments have been noted and hope you had a safe journey home. More 

Chicago IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the Hotel Penzance. Recently enjoyed a 3 night stay as it was our first visit to the area. The staff were always cordial and helpful and the room was very comfortable. Nice to go down the hall for breakfast...nice selection & good service. Car park is on a very steep hill & spaces are tight. Was not able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your short break with us. We hope you had a safe journey home. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay