We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Penzance

Certificate of Excellence
Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    106
    27
    16
    6
See reviews for
45
273
55
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived after almost 48 hours of travelling, tired & cold and was greeted by Sue who immediately knew my name, arranged a cup of tea & a heater in the room. What a wonderful welcome! Loved the room (unfortunately we had to move for our last night due to an unavoidable plumbing problem) which overlooked the bay, and was bright,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel,with great food and staff...I will stay again and again..I love the morning breakfast with sea view...very comfortable room and clean. Free parking next to hotel...........................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are happy you had a comfortable stay and that we all provided a great service. Its perfect weather here in Penzance for sitting around our pool with a cocktail soaking up the sun. Looking forward to welcoming you next time and hope you have a lovely Bank Holiday weekend. More 

Bromley, Kent UK
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
87 hotel reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my third visit to this delightful hotel. I have family in Penzance and it makes for a wonderful base during my stay. I had room 11 which is a lovely bright room and very spacious. It has a good sized comfortable bed and is spotlessly clean. The bathroom is very good and there is lots of hot water.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it was lovely to see you again and hope you had a nice time with your family. We all miss Jerry very much! The sun is shining and lovely and warm, Jerry would have loved to be stretched out on the terrace overlooking the pool. Looking forward to meeting you when next in Penzance and hope you had... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a lovely two night stay here with my husband in March 2015. HOTEL Nice mix of modern and traditional furnishings. Many of the items around the hotel (pictures, sculptures, carvings, jewellery) are available to buy and they showcase works by local artists. Every afternoon they provide tea/coffee and cakes in the downstairs lounge with the chance to chat to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very happy you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the services we provided for you both. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time and hope you have a lovely weekend. More 

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights on business. The room (number 27) was comfortable and very clean with a good view over the bay to the mount. It was also nice and spacious. To my taste whilst the room was in good condition and tidy it was beginning to feel a little dated and given the price I (my company) paid I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, which is important to us, and glad you had a comfortable stay. The view from that room is particularly beautiful, especially as the sun rises over St Michaels Mount. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you next time. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just had another trip to hotel penzance great hotel great food lovely room with sea view very friendly staff well run comfortable hotel will definitely return on our next visit to the area a safe bet to book here

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Lovely to see you again and happy that you enjoyed your stay once again. Looking forward to welcoming you next time and that you had a safe journey home. More 

New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very nice stay in the Hotel Penzance. The room, although a bit small, had an excellent view of St Michael's Mount. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant had very tasty food (although it took much too long and had to chase waitress to get a check the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are all happy you enjoyed your stay especially the view over Mounts Bay. We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you again when next in Penzance. More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bay restaurant disappointed v last time - 6 of us felt not quite there against high standards previously. Room 22 was fine (mine) but rooms 23 and 24 really inadequate. Very small for the price and bathrooms very dated. We complained strongly at checkout but nothing was offered. After 3 trips to Penzance Hotel will not come again at this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and it was lovely to meet you all. Your comments have been noted and are being investigated. I do hope you had a safe journey home and the parcel arrived safely. More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A visit to Penzance allowed an opportunity to stay again in this well-run comfortable hotel. Breakfasts are unusually good, as is the service. My room looked towards Mounts Bay and then Bodmin Moor in the distance, a fine view in itself: however the sight of of the sun appearing over the moor at 6.30 A.M. was magical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us - especially the sunrises which are particularly beautiful coming up over the Lizard which is the most southerly point in Britain. We look forward to welcoming you again next time. More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I stayed for 3 nights for work and ate in the restaurant every morning and evening. My room was small but cosy, the only niggles were I was at the top of the stairs so could hear people going up and down and in the Room above it sounded like there was a constant whirlpool bath going. Food in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay, whilst working, with us. Your comments have been noted and are being investigated. Have a lovely weekend! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities