We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trereife House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ , England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Trereife House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    149
    42
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
109
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The owners of Trereife House were very accommodating and welcoming, our room (Hazlitt) was exactly as described and the breakfast, of local produce, was delicious. Despite the owners also managing a Summer fair on the days of our arrival/departure this didn't detract them from providing great service to us - thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night at Trereife House whilst visiting the Cornwall Design Fair that weekend. My room was located in the house itself and had a lovely view to the gardens, and the surrounding area. The bed was super comfortable as was the room. It has a TV, and coffee and tea facilities and was very clean. There was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted somewhere special to stay for a night away from the kids. We really enjoyed it and loved the grandeur of such a large house. we paid extra for the largest room and loved the huge separate bathroom. We slept soundly and enjoyed the luxurious breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fantastic location, great if you wish to explore Land's end and this part of Cornwall. We stayed for one night prior to catching the Scillonian to the Isles of Scilly, we were made to feel very welcome and they except dogs. There was a good choice for breakfast and it was served in the Drawing room with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bideford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful delightful place and people, everything at hand. The house and gardens were amazing. The self catering apartments top class and full of character. Can't wait to visit Trefreife House again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family run country house in a good location for exploring West Cornwall. A very warm welcome.We were shown to an excellent room which was modern but fitted with the history of the house.Breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived excited, expecting to stay in a grand house but were immediately disappointed. The house is not well kept and you get the impression that the people just don't care. The room was not really clean, shabby furniture, cold and the shower flooded. When mentioning it to the owner, he was not too bothered. They should take a serious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrereifeHouse, Manager at Trereife House, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Trereife however there are serious issues regarding some of the criticisms raised in this review. Firstly you state that the room was 'not really clean'. Despite being an old house that is owned and run by a small family team, we do our utmost to ensure good levels of cleanliness.... More 

Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending a stay in this grand but charming Queen Anne period country home - with wonderful gardens in which the children roamed free and for the four of us - a delightful spacious family room. Breakfast - full English was delicious plus yoghurt, fresh fruit and locally pressed fresh apple juice served by our generous hosts.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very helpful & friendly staff. If I had to find a negative (only if) then I would say that it would have been nice if the tea room was open every day and if there was something in the hotel where you could buy an alcoholic drink in the evenings before venturing out or as a night cap! That would... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very generous and welcoming hostes. Fantastisc rooms and a history with the house that made the stay unique. Breakfast was nice, sourroundings fine. Restaurants in villages nearby. Sun in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#16 of 89 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#18 of 89 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#42 of 89 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay