We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Beresford Hotel

Hotel website
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2 PR, England
Special Offer
WEEKEND BREAKS FROM £99
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Beresford Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    202
    104
    31
    17
See reviews for
59
288
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (476)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and myself have just arrived home on the 10th april from a four night stay at the Beresford hotel, traveling with sheerings it was a very enjoyable stay good food comfortable room. UNTIL THE EARLY HOURS OF THE MORNING WHEN WE WERE TARVELING HOME THE NEXT DAY my husband became very sick he missed his breakfast that morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lynn I sympathise with you for having contracted Norovirus, we had an outbreak of this earlier this year and it is an awful virus. However, the last case we had was on the12th March, so I am confident that you did not contract this within the Hotel. We know from local and national press that norovirus is almost epedemic... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just got back from a four day trip with Shearings. Went with friends six altogether had a great time the Hotel I think is in the process of being updated what they have done so far is great, yes still a lot to do with the rest of it but getting there. The food was really great and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kathy Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves (despite your husband's unfortunate tassle with the lift) and that you found the hotel warm and friendly. Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General Manager More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently returned from a four night stay at the Beresford Hotel with Shearing's. My single room was shabby and in desperate need of an upgrade, with peeling paper and dirty carpet. The heating system was very puzzling and went from nothing during the daytime to sauna temperatures in the middle of the night!! I was unable to turn the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy travelling with Shearings or the facilities of the Beresford Hotel. I have looked at the issues you have raised and am dealing with the service ones that needed attention. Many of our single guests enjoy travelling with Shearings as it... More 

milton keynes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel has been decorated and very nice. The staff are excellent - nothing too much for them and very friendly too. Food and entertainment very good. We had perfect weather too. Will definately go back there again. Excellent value for money!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liz Thank you for commenting about your recent stay with us on trip advisor I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves, you certainly did have lovely weather, which we hope is going to continue. It would be great to see you again soon Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General Manager More 

Tyne & Wear
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

fairly average hotel. Food ok but veg overcooked and often cold. Waters/waiteresses have too many tables to look after. Rooms quite clean,some things missed, linnen and towels clean. Rooms small but adaquate. Don't know if I would stay again. Only a small lift working as other lift being replaced at moment and stairs are quite steep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

HI Thank you for your trip advisor review about your recent stay with us. Shearings are offering some excellent deals at the moment and they have hotels in 50 stunning locations. Bay Hotels offer a good standard accommodation and our Coast and Country Hotels offer a greater choice of rooms and food for a supplement. Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we have just returned from a lovely break away, the Hotel is very comfortable, we paid extra for a sea view room and it was worth every penny, my Husband spent time spotting the surfers our room was on the 4th floor. Our Shower was the only problem with the pressure of the Water, but we had a high floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thankyou for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, and I agree with you that the view from the front windows is fantastic, and always interesting with the sea changing and the surfers performing all day! Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment and they are well worth... More 

Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed my stay. No complaints at all But : make sure you know if your room is near a lift. Take toiletries, none supplied. Room services good. Rooms are dated but clean and comfortable. MEALS were good but meat is served with sauces on the plate with gravy, I ended up eating the fish each day and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Glynn Thank you for commenting on trip advisor about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be warm and friendly, and that you considered it good value for money. Our new lift is up and running now, so we have two lifts serving both sides of the Hotel. Hope to see... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. The hotel was well placed for the beach and the town. Our room, 15, was on a low floor but did have the lift to the first floor then 2 lots of 6 steps to get to it. We found it easier to go up to the 2nd floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Polly Thankyou for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the Beresford. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, and that you found the food and the tours to be very good. Newquay is a great spot to see all of Cornwall as it is so central, and there is always plenty to see, especially in... More 

Barrow upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just been to this hotel on a break with Shearings holidays had a brilliant break food and service was faultless they are gradually upgrading including putting a new lift in even so hotel is still clean while they are working directly opposite the beach and ten minutes walk to the main shops very much recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stephen It was great to read your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are having a lot of work done at the moment and the most exciting is the new lift that should be up and running next week. This will complete the major renovations that we have had this winter, and... More 

mid glamorgan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here from march 30 to April 3rd, had a lovely comfortable and clean room,which was cleaned daily.The meals were excellent with a good choice every evening always hot and tasty ,our waiter luis was great and looked after us at all meals.All the staff were very friendly and hard working.The evening entertainment was very good ,Caroline was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments on trip advisor, it really helps us understand how we are doing and also is so useful for potential new guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you had excellent service from Luis, and enjoyed Caroline's entertainment. Shearings have got some great deals on at the moment, well worth looking at,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question