We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Beresford Hotel

Hotel website
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2 PR, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £99
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Beresford Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    211
    106
    31
    18
See reviews for
61
296
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (491)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Room 308. It was small but comfortable and good enough for our short stay . Not much hanging space . Freshly painted and new bathroom . Door stuck on shower but reported and was fixed within the hour . We overlooked back of the hotel and fire steps. Not a pretty view but the rooms comfort ability... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Helene I am so glad that you had a lovely weekend with us and have commented on trip advisor. Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General Manager More 

paul_b58
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a nice weekend break to Newquay and stayed at the Beresford Hotel. Although the reception and communal areas had obviously been recently refurbished and we were impressed on our arrival our opinion changed as we found our room.Im afraid that this was the worst accomodation that we have had on a Shearings holiday. Although our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul I have read your review and am really sorry that you didn't tell us of your problems, we are never too busy at the weekends this time of the year and would have happily changed your room for you. I am concerned that you had issues with the cleanliness, we check every room on arrival and I like... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled to Newquay by coach with my elderly parents. Roger, our driver, was an excellent driver with a great sense of humour. He made all the trips very entertaining and really did look after us. All days out were brilliant apart from visiting the Gold Centre which was just an outlet of shops and not very interesting, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you and your parents enjoyed your stay and that you saw lots of Cornwall on your coach trips, it is so beautiful just now and well worth exploring. Many of our bedrooms have now been refurbished to an excellent standard,... More 

devon uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel as a suprise for my boyfriends birthday and I'm so glad I did. There is minimal parking behind the hotel and we were lucky enough to get a space. If your not so lucky there is a carpark next door that charges £5 per night. Check in was fast we were greeted by a very polite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kelly and Gavin I am so pleased we were able to make your birthday celebrations a great success. Newquay is a great place at the moment and you are right, the hotel is pretty centrally situated to enjoy both the town and its facilities and the fantastic beaches. Look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind regards... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings at the Bay Beresford Hotel. Got a great deal £149 for 5 days, travel, excursions and 4 drinks vouchers included. The journeys there and back took forever but once there I could not fault the staff. They were very helpful and polite. The food was not amazing but nice enough.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lynn Thank you for commenting on trip advisor about your recent stay at the Beresford Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that you found the Hotel to be warm, comfortable and friendly. Shearings have some fantastic deals going at the moment so maybe we will see you again soon. Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General Manager More 

Cheltenham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first visit to the Beresford Hotel was inauspicious. We had booked and paid for a room with a sea view but instead were given one at the back overlooking rooftops. We pointed this out and the receptionist explained that what we had actually booked was a "sea view option"! When we enquired as to what that was, she quickly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in Cornwall. Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

loved newquay in cornwall really good hotel {Bay Beresford } didn't care for the amount of time it took to travel down there with shearings. took 6 hours which is ridiculous, they need 2 drivers for these journeys then they wouldn't have such long stops. also in this trip we had an include excursion to Perrenporth which is delightful but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Patricia Thanks for your great review about the Beresford, I am delighted that we met your expectations. Cornwall is beautiful, especially in the spring in the sunshine, and Newquay is the perfect place to see it from. Kind regards Jackie Cunliffe General Manager More 

grantham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled to this hotel with shearings holidays, it took a while to get there but it was comfortable with a very pleasant driver who kept us informed all the way of our e.t.a and comfort breaks, when we arrived a member of staff greeted us and told us and told us that a hot meal was awaiting us and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Marilyn I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to comment on trip advisor. It really helps potential guests get a good idea of what the Hotel is like when they hear it from guests who have recently visited us. I hope you get the funds together to see us again soon... More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. The hotel was well placed for the beach and the town. Our room, 52, had recently been modernised, it was clean, warm and had a flat screen TV. The food was typical Shearings but there was lots of choice, well cooked and ours was always hot,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Neil Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your spring break with us. You are right. Cornwall is looking beautiful at the moment, the weather has been so lovely, its a great time to see it. Paul will be so pleased to be mentioned by you, he takes great pride in his... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been on many excellent Shearings holidays this was not to the usual standard, but we normally pay for a Standard plus room and they were not available. Room 12 was clean, the bed comfortable the bathroom although small had a very good hot shower the views were of the fire escape and old garages. The room is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your comments on trip advisor about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay, the Beresford is a traditional seaside hotel, and as you will have seen, it has recently had major investment, but it is an old building and will always need more to keep it up... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities