We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 108 Newquay B&Bs / inns

Glendorgal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Lusty Glaze Road, Porth, Newquay TR7 3AB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Glendorgal Hotel to your Saves list
Glendorgal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
49%
Ranked #92 of 108 Newquay B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
kullyb126 Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (75)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    36
    40
    36
    42
See reviews for
49
80
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights with family friends. Location was excellent. Extremely relaxing scenic setting. A short walk 2 mins to beach next door. Or you could enjoy the short steps down to the beach below the hotel. Very picturesque and lots of space for kids to keep entertained. Staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Rooms were clean and spacious.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
banbury
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As a couple we have just returned from a weekend at the Glendorgal. It is a very nice place to stay with very friendly staff. The bedrooms are nice and clean and very spacious. Breakfast was as expected with everything you wanted. There is a great view over the bay from the restaurant. Would I stay again then yes I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before staying at this hotel I perused many different websites and reviews in order to generate an image of what to expect and having now stayed at this hotel I am shocked at the number of bad reviews that this hotel has received. Personally most of my few negative impressions of the hotel were caused by other travelers and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back after a second visit to the Glendorgal Hotel (last stayed 4 years ago) and I have to say we were very disappointed. The hotel is overpriced. Our room had dirty windows, when you opened them, black bits would fall onto the bed. Such a shame as there is a lovely view. The shower had no curtain or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all feedback on board to help us to go forward. As a hotel we ask that guest’s bear in mind sometimes different families can make noise at different times in the day... More

Manchester
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is an absolute joke... I still have one day left here.. As we turned up to this hotel we got here abit before check in which was at 2 o'clock, we asked the receptionist if we could check in early she replied with 2 o'clock I'm afraid! With no options to go relax in the pool or wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review

In reply to this unfair review, we can only say that the room you stayed has beautiful sea views on the cliff edge. During a storm our windows do get salt sea air and rain hitting them. We do clean them frequently, however, not after every down pour. We checked on the window when it wasn't raining and it was... More

Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just wanted to thank Hilde and all the staff at the Glendorgal for helping to make our daughter Lucy's wedding to Dave on Thursday 7 August the perfect day. When Hilde took over the event management everything slotted into place and she responded promptly and helpfully to all queries. On the day all the staff were really helpful and friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent event and stay at the Glendorgal Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us Thank you once again for your valuable time and comments which help us to constantly review our services and to better adjust them to our guest needs. We hope... More

Cornwall
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Went here last weekend, 2 small cokes, 1 pint lemonade and a bottle of Peroni £10.30! I said we had been overcharged but hadn't, all soft drinks were flat. To the owner you should be ashamed of yourself no wonder your number 92 out of 109, doubt it will be long before you get the 109 spot. Loved the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, very sorry to hear that you were unhappy about our drinks prices. They are standard Hotel prices with a fantastic location. As far as the soft drinks being flat, I am sure if it was mentioned to our bar staff, they would have taken action. as far as the bedbugs please note that the picture was not taken in... More

Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just wanted to say the biggest thank you possible to Hilde and all the staff at the Glendorgal Hotel for making our wedding day the most perfect that anyone could wish for. Atmosphere, food, friendliness, service & all round quality was 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

As many reviews here seem to reflect, the service at this hotel is low. Consequently this has a great knock on affect to cleanliness and general hotel maintenance. Some hotels are made great by staff who will always put in the most effort for each guest to ensure every visitor has their own best experience. Staff at Glendorgal really give... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife & I stayed for a weekend, we had a plesent & relaxing stay. The views from the hotel are stuning & the hotel rooms were comfortable. We ate in the restaurant at breakfast & a dinner, on all occassions we had a good meal. The problem was the waiting staff, empty tables left with dirty plates throughout our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Glendorgal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Porth, Newquay TR7 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
26

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glendorgal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer