We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kenton Hotel

Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Hotel amenities
Kenton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rock1010 Stafford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    5
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kenton hotel is a very friendly family run hotel in the Porth area of Newquay. the family go out of their way to make guests welcome . The food is excellent. The views from the front of the hotel are probably the best in Newquay and the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. The area is at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bromsgrove ,England
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Myself and my Wife booked this last minute stay and were more than happy with the outcome. Car parking was a little awkward but not a problem and plenty of space out the front if all spaces were taken. Don't expect 5* Decor however this is not advertised as 5*. The hotel was clean the bed was comfy and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This dog friendly hotel was a bit further out from Newquay than we were expecting but the unspoilt views were amazing. Staff were warm and friendly, breakfast and room were of a general regular standard. Fantastic walk along coastal path just across the road from the hotel, beach and local pub were 10 min's walk down the hill. (Pub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have stayed here before & feel so welcome . The room was loverly & clean. The bed was so soft i had a great comfortable sleep. The breakfast is great as always, its always hot & great service. The views are some of the best you will see from a hotel window. Thank you to all the staff/staff once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

set just outside the rough and tumble of Newquay(I mean rough and tumble!), with a fantastic view across Porth beach to wake up to. immaculately clean, friendly family staff (lively debates with the owner-don't be offended, interesting character). Breakfast excellent, swift service and always hot. Walkable to newquay and to Watergate beach, but best beaches are opposite the hotel straight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is an old hotel with a beautiful ocean view. It is not very inviting when you look at it from outside. It is a little dingy and feels like a bit of a fire hazard. The bathroom is very small. The breakfast was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

All the family are so friendly it feels like you become part of family during your stay. The full english breakfast comes to you quickly & hot, it sets you up for the day ! The bed is comfortable & with sea view that comlements it ! The rooms & general decor could do with updating, maybe small flat screens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel and room, good breakfast & evening meal, lovely weather! We all enjoyed our week long stay in the Kenton Hotel - the day started with a good breakfast and then out for a bit of relaxing on a local beach and body-boarding/swimming in the sea. Back to the hotel about 5:15pm for showers (which were hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, it is very rewarding to know that all our hard work is worth the effort. I know you can't please all of the people all of the time but we do try anyway without much luck on some occasions it would seem. Hope to see you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a 3 night stay here over a weekend after reading ok reviews. Oh how did we regret it. It advertised a car park, however it could only hold about two cars and we were told that we may be asked to move it each day. The hotel smelt but I thought that was down it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you are not happy, not sure where all these nasty comments have come from to be honest, the photo's taken are very misleading and not quite as they look, not sure that one or two have even been taken in this hotel. You were given a full refund as your behavior was very suspicious, and we preferred... More 

Mortimer Common, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Found this hotel in a brochure on accommodation in Cornwall booked on route over the phone for that night .Slightly more expensive than the B&Bs we stayed in on our trip round Cornwall .The room was small and basic but ok the stairways could do with some smartening up .Breakfast was basic to .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not overly happy, We never have claimed the be a 5 star hotel, we are indeed a small family run 2 star hotel which offers a homely friendly environment. if just booking a one night stay at the last minute you will always pay the highest price in any establishment and being a last minute... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question