We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Newquay hotels

Kenton Hotel

Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kenton Hotel to your Saves list
Kenton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
72%
Ranked #29 of 50 hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013
Paul R Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    4
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

All the family are so friendly it feels like you become part of family during your stay. The full english breakfast comes to you quickly & hot, it sets you up for the day ! The bed is comfortable & with sea view that comlements it ! The rooms & general decor could do with updating, maybe small flat screens... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel and room, good breakfast & evening meal, lovely weather! We all enjoyed our week long stay in the Kenton Hotel - the day started with a good breakfast and then out for a bit of relaxing on a local beach and body-boarding/swimming in the sea. Back to the hotel about 5:15pm for showers (which were hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, it is very rewarding to know that all our hard work is worth the effort. I know you can't please all of the people all of the time but we do try anyway without much luck on some occasions it would seem. Hope to see you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a 3 night stay here over a weekend after reading ok reviews. Oh how did we regret it. It advertised a car park, however it could only hold about two cars and we were told that we may be asked to move it each day. The hotel smelt but I thought that was down it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you are not happy, not sure where all these nasty comments have come from to be honest, the photo's taken are very misleading and not quite as they look, not sure that one or two have even been taken in this hotel. You were given a full refund as your behavior was very suspicious, and we preferred... More

Mortimer Common, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Found this hotel in a brochure on accommodation in Cornwall booked on route over the phone for that night .Slightly more expensive than the B&Bs we stayed in on our trip round Cornwall .The room was small and basic but ok the stairways could do with some smartening up .Breakfast was basic to .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not overly happy, We never have claimed the be a 5 star hotel, we are indeed a small family run 2 star hotel which offers a homely friendly environment. if just booking a one night stay at the last minute you will always pay the highest price in any establishment and being a last minute... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the views from the bedroom was great. However, the decor is very tired, carpets back in the 80s, and it smelt. Why, cos the majority of people staying have dogs, one or maybe two would have been acceptable but there were loads. Not a mention about dogs being welcomed when booking this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do heavily advertise as being a dog friendly hotel in many places and even have photo's of our own dog on all websites and adverts, so I am very surprised that you were not aware that we are a dog friendly hotel. Whilst we make every effort to... More

London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at the Kenton. We had a very nice time and found the hotel's location perfect for what we were looking for, that being, outside of Newquay and very close indeed to the magnificent scenery, beaches. walks. The breakfast is well cooked, filing and a good way to start the day. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the future. More

blackburn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Made welcome again, great food, great view and great company. True to their statement of "Kev will do it".. Kev didn't say no to anyone weather good.... Will be back on next visit to Cornwall......we even got to see dolphins

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your company again, it was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you next year. More

Caversham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are a couple who stayed for 3 nights with our 18 and 16 year old daughters. Got 2 double rooms. Breakfast included. Breakfast - our daughters stuffed themselves and us older more health conscious mostly went for the juice, fruit and cereals. No complaints. We didn't have dinner in the hotel. Rooms smallish but we expected that. Clean. Beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. It is always nice to see that we are actually doing something right and people are enjoying their stay. Hope to see you again. More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and it was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. Great location. Easy parking Friendly Staff Comfy Bed Reading other reviews I think some people have odd expectations. I didn't book a 7 star hotel in Dubai and have broad expectations depending on my stay. We needed a good base for the weekend and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments, hope to see you again. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel for a short break with my dad. It's in a wonderful location overlooking the bays and cliffs on the edge of town. The hotel is great value and staff very friendly. It's got a couple of bars/ restaurants about 5 mins walk from the hotel down the hill, which is quite steep so a bit if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, glad you had a good holiday and we hope to meet you again in the future. More

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.