We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Great Western Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    184
    191
    67
    32
    26
See reviews for
70
252
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (500)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was thankful I only stayed for one night, seemed to be charged premium rate of £104 but didn't have the views as described. Window overlooked the car park and the room was tiny. The bathroom was newly refurbished as described but there was no hot water in the morning so I couldn't use the shower. Brought it to the attention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Two or three times a week during my partners lunch break we visit the Great Western for a meal and drinks. Every time the service and food is excellent, the staff are young, well trained and have a great attitude. We order a variety of meals during a week and all are hot and tasty with prompt service. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three nights in Newquay for a family wedding near by and a little sight seeing. We knew that we were not paying a great deal for our Premium Family Room, so didn't expect much. I am pleased to say that we were very pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were helpful and happy to assist with any enquiry, the room, 111,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It took us over 5 hours to arrive at the hotel - and what a hotel we were greeted by a Receptionist, Hayley I think her name was. We originally had a standard double room but I mentioned before we arrived that it was our Honeymoon so we could not believe it when we got to our room and found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night and frankly if was one to many. The room was basic and dated and awkward to locate (241), I thought in an emergency I'd panic trying to get out! Although the bed linen was fresh and clean I could still smell damp from the duvet and pillows. The corridors stank of stale cigarette smoke. The tables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Great Western, I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments regarding your bedding have been passed on to our housekeeping team and will be looked into immediately. As we are a no smoking hotel I am extremely shocked to hear there was a smell of... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely stay here, beds really comfy and food in restaurant unfaultable. Great value for money, the staff lovely and always someone handy although no one seemed to be in charge? If you can cope with the slight disorganisation- ( our booking was a little mixed up although they sorted it by transferring rooms the next day) and spats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed on a B&B offer promoted through travelzoo. Centrally located in Newquay. Rooms are clean and functional. Bathrooms are all newly refurbished which are excellent. A sea view costs more, our room overlooked the front of the hotel and the main road , but the double glazed windows kept the room surprisingly quiet. There are splendid views across the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Husband and I booked this hotel as their web page looked fantastic, it was our anniversary so we booked 2 nights, great location and although we could only get a budget room, it stated that budget rooms tended to be a little smaller and the bathrooms lacked a window, so no big deal. The room was awful, The SMELL... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry to hear that there was aspects of your stay that you were disappointed with. Our budget rooms represent excellent value for money and are priced accordingly due to their size and view. Our housekeeping team are extremely diligent so I was disappointed to hear that there was some... More 

Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was superb, matched by the fantastic views over the beaches and harbour. Enjoyed a cream tea and even went back later for a pint and evening meal, which was enhanced by some live music and great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff and service are superb. They cannot do enough for u. At breakfast you can pick exactly what you like. The sausage and bacon was not cheap gorgeous farmhouse bread, big dishes of real strawberry jam and marmalade fresh fruit salad evan real coffee! the bar and restaurant area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#17 of 51 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 51 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#20 of 51 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay