We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Western Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Landrake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Once again had a great stay at this hotel . Rooms all good size and always very clean and tidy , staff are always friendly and helpful. Not far to walk to town or the beach . Fantastic sea views and very reasonably priced. Breakfast is excellent . Will always come here when we visit Newquay

Helpful?
Thank dave67nikki70
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here and i can't fault it. The room was spotless, brand new bathroom and although it was a standard room we could see the sea from the window. All the staff are lovely and friendly and very professional. Right next door is probably the nicest pub in the town as well which... More 

Helpful?
Thank whatever198123
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel for a long weekend stay in January. It was great, had everything you needed and close proximity to Newquay town centre. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and our sea view was stunning. Facilities in the room were great, and it felt very spacious. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Bethan O
Guia De Isora
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love newquay and first time at this hotel,but definetly not the last,we were very impressed,staff all excellent, food top notch,and the hotel is clean,only criticism room was very cold as heating didn't appear to be working properly, but as we were only there for a couple of days wasn't really a problem.

Helpful?
Thank John H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second time of staying and we have booked again. We had the 'Bridal Suite' this time because it was an anniversary. There are stunning views along the beach towards the harbour and along the coast in the other direction. Glimpsed Dolphins in the bay one morning even. We stayed for two weeks partially during the time of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeR1947nhs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was nice (we had a "superior room"), very comfortable bed and a great seaview. Size of this superior room was also a plus, couch and small seating area in front of the window. We also pre ordered breakfast, but this was a bit common for the price we paid. Only options were a full English breakfast with toast, or... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been meaning to write this review for weeks now, we were staying in Newquay last November and ate here in the Steam Bar & Restaurant on three occasions. Lovely bright, open restaurant with great views over the Atlantic. All the food is very reasonably priced with good portion sizes and most importantly is lovely. Will definitely eat here again next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sweyn_Forkbeard
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at the Great Western Hotel on two occasions recently. On both occasions the staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. The hotel itself is an impressive building located in a good position near the centre of Newquay. Internally the hotel provides a clean and comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic experience. We love to see back returning guests. I will make sure all your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards, Lucy Longworth More 

Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Booked this Hotel last week, and was very disappointed to receive an email from them advising that if I want to check in before 2.30, which i will, having an early morning flight from Spain, they will charge £7.50 an hour. Have cancelled my £95 room only booking.

Helpful?
Thank Ally E
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. I was sorry to hear that because of this you cancelled your booking with us. We like to provide a range of services for all our guests to suit their holiday needs. Our main restaurant, bar and coffee shop area is open from 8am for any early arrivals... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

The room we stayed in was awful, was full of damp and everything felt wet, the radiator was on full blast and made no difference, the heating was off in the morning. We asked for last check out but were forced to leave earlier due to being so cold and uncomfortable. The hotel itself needed updating, it was very rundown.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyi95
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Please be assured all your comments have been taken seriously and have been actioned. Having emailed you directly; we have managed to come to a satisfactory outcome and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel. Kind regards, Lucy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (164)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#10 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#16 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay