We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Newquay hotels

Cliffdene Hotel

12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cliffdene Hotel to your Saves list
Cliffdene Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #33 of 50 hotels in Newquay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Tink49_12 Cambridge, United Kingdom
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    25
    17
    7
See reviews for
14
35
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went here with Grand UK Holidays, was very disappointed with our located room , but after asking nicely for a decent view the friendly helpful lady manageress gave us the key to a front room with a wonderful sea view AND a balcony, fantastic. We enjoyed all the daily tours, the room was clean & comfortable, but the whole experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Petherton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have held a reunion weekend at this hotel for 6 years now and we have indeed already booked for 2015, we Normally have around 50 to 70 people at our re-union each year, this year we were less in number due to rail disruption and other issues, however the service is consistent, the hotel offers great service, and value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your re-union weekend at our Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were well looked after by our team. The Hotel is situated in a great location and offers a warm and relaxed atmosphere along with the beautiful views which makes for a great weekend retreat.... More

Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My friend and I stayed here New year's Eve.. We were given room 45 on the second floor...We were given a very warm welcome on our arrival...After walking round the shops in the afternoon we returned to our room(twin room consisting of one double and one single) I went to have a shower turned on the water.... only to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I have taken on board your comments regarding the hot water and this is being investigated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future Many thanks More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business and got a great rate on booking.com.I booked a single and was given a double the room was good and very comfortable.the staff are very pleasant and helpful.The hotel does need a little tlc in places but is a cliff top hotel and will always need money spending on it.The public rooms down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read your positive comments. We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here on the 15th Nov for one night. For the cost I can't find any fault. I agree with other reviews that the decoration is a little tried but hey ho!! The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was adequate. What more can you ask for!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay. Once again many thanks. More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during summer and this is best place to stay in newquay in terms of location, food and view from hotel. There are excellent restaurants in walking distance from this hotel and there is a parking arrangement nearby. All in all a great place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I will not be coming back here and advise no one to book here I think the customer service was appalling! the breakfast was very bad no wonder they do not have a 5 star on food hygiene, the room was ok but mold on the walls. The only good thing about this hotel is the location as it's 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us. Whilst we know we have improvements to make around the hotel, we really do pride ourselves on our quality of food and hospitality so I was very sorry to learn that the food quality did not meet your expectations on... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour (1 night), so didn't make the choice myself! The hotel wasn't terrible but it was very dated. I was in a twin room which seemed to back onto the kitchen/service area so was noisy until about 23:00 and again early in the morning. The bathroom was nice and modern but the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us. We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent two nights here in September. The view was great overlooking the sea. The hotel is a bit dated, with textured walls in the bedroom and a bsdly worn stair carpet. The room however was clean and comfortable with adecent shower. There was a really irritating street light across the road which was like a spot light shining in through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a booked trip overall the holiday was good. I was disappointed to see the hotel manager smoking in the kitchen. As the restaurant staff was bringing the food out my table could see the hotel manager smoking. And again he was doing it at the reception desk. We saw that it was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us recently. I agree that smoking an electronic cigarette in the kitchen or in reception is clearly not acceptable and I must assure you that the staff member involved has been reprimanded and this will not happen again. I can only offer my sincere and genuine apology for this. Please be... More

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Address: 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffdene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.