We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliffdene Hotel

12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffdene Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cliffdene Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    53
    37
    23
    10
See reviews for
18
62
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Yes, its old and shabby in places but it is a great classic seaside hotel. Clean, good sized rooms. GREAT views (pay the extra for a sea view, it is so worth it). Great breakfast. At the end of the main street so far enough out of the way that you don't hear the noise of the bars but close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

colchester UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from an 8day stay at this hotel. I was with a coach party and overall I was pleased with this hotel. The food was good the staff were excellent room good apart from the building site view {no 20} would stay here again if I could find a different itinery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Partner and I booked a double room with seaviews for 5 nights and paid a deposit. This hotel is located on a busy road overlooking the sea and town beaches. Upon arrival the hotel appeared to be very rundown with paint peeling on the outside. Were greeted by a stern receptionist who asked for payment in full. We declined and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Poole, Dorset.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 2 night stay & the Cliffdene made our stay perfect. 8 ladies..all well behaved but none the less a Hen party. The hotel was great, local, friendly, helpful, clean. Will recommend this establishment as they were courteous, they were there & no rip off prices. Huge thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my Fiance stayed for one night so we could visit Padstow and Newquay. The location was fantastic, a nice easy walk to Newquay from the hotel with many options for food and drink along the way. Some of the rooms were quite old fashioned but clean enough. The staff were very friendly, making conversation and were very helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel, part of the Grand UK Group, from the 25th May to the 29th. The Hotel hopefully has seen better days!? From the outside it appeared to me a bit rundown and to a certain extent that was replicated inside. Our evening meal, on the 25th, resulted in my wife being given cold soup and for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Newton Poppleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Based on one night stay, we feel the hotel needed urgent upgrading and modernisation. Our room was dark and claustophic although clean (we stayed in a twin but size of the room more suited a single). On the whole a poor ambience. There was inadequate parking spaces available although at the point of booking enquiry we were told parking would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend visited the hotel on the May bank holiday weekend with another couple and we booked the hotel as it was cheap for the area. When we arrived we were greeted by Ernie, who was very friendly and accommodating throughout our stay, who gave us our keys and directed us to our rooms. Our room was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We only stayed one night. Everything was fine except the bed was pretty uncomfortable. The location was great and we even managed to score a park out the front which was lucky as there was only a few. The breakfast was great and the staff were really friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Came to celebrate a friends hen do! Very kind and friendly staff. All very accommodating! Ernest very friendly and entertaining! A lovely place to stay! Very clean and delicious breakfast!! Fabulous stay!! Would recommend to all!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay