We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

#18 of 43 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR72PQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol following a Black Tie Dinner Event. The hotel was great value for money, with a nice spacious room and large bathroom. The facilities were great with old traditional service values thrown in.

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Best Western Hotel Bristol on arrival given room key made our way through freezing corridors to our room only to find a dank , dated room stuck in the 70s with wood chip wallpaper 1 power point a small tv and inadequate lighting and heating. We cranked up the heating but it took the entire weekend to get the... More 

Helpful?
Thank michael J
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review

On reading your review my heart sank. How could we make it any worse? It was obviously human error on our part to allocate your room near that function room for which I am very sorry. It didn't help that we have a number of rooms out of service due to our refurbishment. I'm also disapointed that the room was... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very dated and tired. Considering its a best Western hotel I was very disappointed upon arrival. The rooms decor is like stepping back in time to the 1960s. Some serious funds needs to be considered to update the whole hotel. The location is very good being situated on the seafront. The staff were very accommodating and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank smk_045
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review

It is disappointing to learn that you did not like the room you were allocated. I am having difficulty in agreeing with your description of the decor. The furniture is solid wood from a reputable hotel manufacturer and this design is still one of their available ranges. I'm sorry you also did not notice the new bed and other recently... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated on the seafront the hotel is wonderfully located. I was only staying one night, but I was most impressed with the room size, it was more like a suite. The TV was rather small but the WiFi was very efficient. I ordered a "special" from the bar which was an overcooked lasagna which was very disappointing. However the Cornish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haydn D
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that you meal in the bar was not to your satisfaction - I have already spoken to our Chef. It was good to hear that you thought the Breakfast was excellent. I am pleased that you will consider visiting us again as on your return you will... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed in the Hotel Bristol on a work trip and was really pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Although some of the decor was a little dated everything worked and my room was clean, spacious, quiet and warm. I actually really like art deco so the original features of the building were a positive for me. I arrived back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike_SC2014
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review

Thanks very much for posting a review of your recent stay. I am please you enjoyed your stay and our Art Deco features. We are begininng the process of refurbishing some bedrooms and public areas whilst trying to be respectful of our 1920's heritage. More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Although it was for one night and a Christmas party everything was good. The room was quite large and had great sea views and was very clean and warm. The Christmas meal sw god an served as silver service which was a pleasant change from helping yourselves and trying to be polite!

Helpful?
Thank mptpacific
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Walking through the front door was like stepping back in time, not quite Downton abbey but the finest 70's decor. The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment with the ageing decor and facilities struggling to meet the needs of a modern traveller. However, the rooms were very clean, warm and comfortable. High quality bedding and basic tea/ coffee making... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

We have been to the Bristol for many years now and each year we see an improvement. Really friendly staff and service. The food in the restaurant has been superb. We stay in a disabled access room and this year with the upgrading of the heater system made our stay perfect. There is only one fault, the disabled room is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patterry37
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Great night out for the price. Food was great, beef melted in your mouth!! Food was all piping hot and when you are serving so many (about 200) at the same time - that is really good going. Yes the decor is a bit dated but the rooms are clean and spotless. Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

We visited the hotel for a works Christmas party. The hotel is quite dated. There were a lot of staff and the food was served promptly and was hot. However, as a Christmas menu it was dull. The starter was tasteless (Camembert in filo pastry) the main course meat looked processed, all square shaped and 2 slices, plain carrots, Brussels,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jo2802
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#21 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#16 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#10 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay