We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Newquay hotels

The Pentire Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Pentire Ave, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Pentire Hotel to your Saves list
The Pentire Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
nao2004 Gloucester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (419)
  • Photos (67)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (153)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the hotel was welcoming, clean and well decorated throughout. The staff were polite, attentive and caring. We booked two rooms (a single and a double) for a weekend break in July 2014 and were impressed with the spaciousness of our rooms. Whilst booking this hotel I had requested quiet rooms and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hmm first impression not good even though reception area looked ok and the bar area looked quite modern my fears for the room grew as I walked towards it, The corridors looked shabby as paint work dirty especially the doors between them. The room was quite small with shabby paint work especially the skirting boards. It did look clean nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Never done this before but here we go. Room we were in was disappointing, the bed was ?? uncomfortable at best and the carpets were stained. It just had a tired feel about it. It was clean enough though and the shower was very good.. TV was a bit small but if you are going to moan about a TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

We listen carefully to our guests and thank you for offering feedback. Whilst you found our staff to be excellent, friendly and very helpful, our food ‘very good’ and are location also to be good, we apologise that you were disappointed with aspects of your room. Although it was clean and your shower was very good, we have identified a... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Brought my partner here for the weekend as a treat, big mistake! The rooms are dated, its like goin to stay at my nans house for the weekend. At a cost of £100 per night its priced the same as hotels i have stayed located in city centers all over the country. The staff behind the desk are polite enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that despite our efforts, we did not manage to please you during your stay. We do get things right for our guests, the vast majority of the time. This is supported by comments offered from other reviews and the many guests who return to stay with us throughout the year. Peak summer season rate of £50... More

11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never been on holiday in the UK, despite being from here I have always been reluctant due to weather. So being abroad I will admit I have probably been spoilt by hotels and restaurants in the past. When I walked in to the lobby and saw that hideous old striped carpet I felt a little let down, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you thought our ‘hotel was in a great location’, that you were ‘really pleased with your room’, that ‘the pool or sauna looked nice’, and that your stay with us ‘was good value for money’. We would also like to thank you for your top marks in terms of ‘Sleep Quality’, ‘Cleanliness’ and ‘Service’. With much... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned again this year for our fourth visit. Reception staff as friendly as ever, Toby dog went behind the desk to help! Room ok for a 'dog friendly' room. Food good and enjoyed swimming by myself in the pool. No entertainment this time as there were no coach parties in but have enjoyed some dancing to a duo on other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience about your most recent stay with us. 'Toby' was an absolute delight and made an excellent addition to our reception. We are thrilled that you regularly return to stay with us and will endeavour to ensure we reserve your favourite 1st floor room, overlooking Fistral the next time your visit. Please accept our very... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to Cornwall. Disappointed with public transport. Why does this hotel not have a shuttle service to the town. I am sure residents who are coming by Coach would be willing to pay a little to get into town rather having to get taxis after 2.p.m. each day & there is no public transport at weekends. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear, we hope your early morning start didn’t make you feel grumpy. Whilst our hotel is a little less than a mile from town centre, the real beauty of our position are the glorious views overlooking Fistral beach and exceptionally easy access to Cornwall’s stunning coastline, beaches and the South West Coast Path. It’s our point of difference and... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the first week of June as part of a coach party. Also celebrating our 21st wedding aniversay. We were impressed with all aspects of the hotel The hotel offers alot of services too, hairdresser, yoga, fitness. All staff were very good, pleasant and proffesional, The choice of food and quality of food was very good. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind recommendation. Delighted to read that you were impressed with all aspects of our hotel and enjoyed your 1st Cornish holiday with us. We would love to welcome you back for a return visit to Cornwall. We currently have a special offer promotion '10% Off your 2nd Visit in 2014'. Please accept our warmest regards. More

Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was the third time we have stayed at this hotel, and I was as pleased with it this time as I was the others. There have been some refurbishments since our first visit with the rooms being really improved. But it has always been clean and tidy and that had not changed - with friendly and efficient housekeeping staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for sharing your experience. We love it when we see the familiar and friendly faces of guests returning to stay with us. Pleased that you've noticed the investments and improvements that we are making throughout the hotel. Newquay is buzzing with events and our beaches and coastal paths are so beautiful... More

Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Pentire. It was our first family holiday with our 11 month old baby and the staff were so friendly and welcoming we would definitely return. Very clean and the food was delicious, Colin in the restaurant was so nice, in fact every single staff member we saw had smiles... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and recommendation. You've put big smiles on our faces again. Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your first family holiday away with us. We will pass on your feedback to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Pentire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Ave, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (50)
Room/suite (12)
Pool/beach area (9)
Hotel & grounds (9)
View from room (4)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (2)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (18)
Other (18)


Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay #10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay #15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer