We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Newquay hotels

The Pentire Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Pentire Ave, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Short Break deal
Save Saved
You added The Pentire Hotel to your Saves list
The Pentire Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Ranked #17 of 50 hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
barlig Tamworth
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    160
    58
    19
    19
See reviews for
74
187
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel which I visit at least 4 times per year as a break from busiess. There as always been updates to the decor and furnishings which make it very attractive to stayers. The staff are always pleasant, efficient and helpful to their customers. Dining is a pleasure with good standard of food and choices for both breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and such lovely comments. It is rewarding for the whole team to receive feedback like this and we are always delighted to see the friendly faces of guests who return to stay with us. More

Ampthill England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 3 night half board deal cost £250 which we thought was excellent value. The hotel is well located and our room overlooked Fistral beach. (see photo) The room was lovely and very clean. The hotel has a heated indoor pool and sauna which we used. The food was excellent with plenty of choice each night. The bread and butter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 5 nights from 19/3/2014. Food very good, staff pleasant. We were led to believe there would be entertainment but no such luck. The bad bit was the room, more to the point the bed was the worst I have ever NOT slept in and I paid upgrade for sea-view. If it had not been for food and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay and found that our food was very good, and staff pleasant. We are surprised that you were uncomfortable in bed. Had we been aware, our friendly hotel team would have made every effort to rectify this. Our hotel is undergoing much investments and refurbishment to public areas and... More

Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel and each time we have been given a warm welcome. Staff are friendly and a few remembered us from our previous visits to the hotel. Our room was fantastic, large, looked newly refurbished, and overlooking Fistral Beach. Good chose of breakfast and also evening meal and served really quickly. Nothing was too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and your lovely comments. We are always delighted to see the friendly faces of returning guests and look forward to extending a genuinely warm welcome to you both again. We are currently upgrading the hotel Wi-Fi so that it will extend to all rooms in the future. More

Kidlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel.The hotel is well located with a bus service and plenty of parking.Our room was clean and well appointed. The food was of high quality,with a good choice and generous portions.All staff we had contact with were very friendly and helpful.We are already planning our next visit here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. It is wonderful for the whole team to receive feedback like this and delighted to read that you are already planning your next visit. Our kindest regards to you. More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During my stay at this hotel having paid extra for single supplement and sea view. I had an appalling room which was akin to a storage cupboard for broken furniture with no heating on. Other residents had temporary loss of electricity to their rooms. The hotel was otherwise pleasant with nice food and staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that on the whole, our hotel was pleasant, with nice food and friendly staff. As we don’t charge any single supplements for our rooms, we believe that the coach company you booked with may have applied this charge. January’s severe weather conditions presented many challenges to the entire community, and we apologise that a short... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at the Pentire Hotel last week on a five-day coach trip. Our room on the second floor was very clean, bathroom was fresh with clean white towels. The beds were probably the best I have ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Indoor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to read that you enjoyed a 'very good stay' with us and had such a comfortable nights sleep in our beds. Our indoor heated pool is always very popular with guests so we are pleased that you made good use of this during your stay. We hope to welcome you back... More

Aberlour, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable hotel if you request one of the refurbished rooms. We had read previous reviews and, as a result, had booked on the basis of staying in a refurbished room. Despite them agreeing to this in advance, and we paid extra for an up-grade sea-view room, we were offered a very basic room on the 3rd floor which smelt strongly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel last weekend, on a three night bed, breakfast and evening meal offer. The price we paid was very good value. The food was enjoyable, friendly staff and very welcoming, even with our dog who came with us. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Pentire hotel in Newquay on a Travelzoo special offer. We were not expecting what we found at the bargain price we paid! The Pentire is an elegant, slightly tired, but lovely, spotlessly clean place with a genuinely friendly staff who offer excellent service. Our room was large enough, with a double bed and sufficient furniture, all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your really great comments. We will pass on your feedback directly to our team. It is good to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and location above Fistral beach. Do come and visit us again - we would love to welcome you back. More

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Address: 60 Pentire Ave, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pentire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.