We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

#17 of 51 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
5 - 7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    175
    85
    20
    9
    18
See reviews for
20
43
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (166)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were lovely, very warm and welcoming. The room was basic with no extras, not even a hand towel in the bathroom to dry your hands! We had a TV but it didn't work! The shower was freezing, we complained to the staff and they sent the maintenance guy to look at it the following day. Our shower went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Alice, Glad you enjoyed the view from your window - it is always beautiful. Sorry our Hens and Stags disturbed you. They do get a bit rowdy! We do try and give a warm welcome to all our guests. Things do go wrong - like your shower - but we try to get it fixed as quickly as possible.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my boyfriend as a quick getaway and it couldn't have been more perfect. Being 21 and not being able to afford much, we felt as if we'd hit a jackpot! Considering it says 'budget rooms'. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were nice and helpful. It's situation was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your time in Newquay! We do our very best to make you welcome and, as you say, with comfortable rooms and a great location - what more could you want! Ron More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel sunnyside in Newquay has a great character. The staff is welcoming and the location is brilliant. You just have to get out of the door to find a beach infront of you and a shopping street to the right. Our room was clean and big enough for two people. What we have to criticize is that you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you so much Maria! I think you have caught the spirit of the hotel - a simple hotel in a great location with staff who really care. Sorry about the noise - there are always those who don't think of others and have the telly on too loud. If you are here again, give our night staff a call... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as a group booking for my mates stag do and have to say I would have rather stayed in a tent on the beach. Don't be fooled by the well lit colourful photographs of the rooms that are on the website, ours was a dirty bleak dim grey feeling room that felt more like a prison cell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Jimbo, I hope you still had a good weekend even if we didn't meet up to your expectations. We are never happy if our guests are displeased with what we offer. I take on board your comments and work on improving what we offer our guests. Our honest aim is to provide a great customer experience at a budget... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice basic hotel. The rooms on the front are the ones you want to book, the ones on the back are no good. We had to pay £1 for a towel. There's no bathroom condiments. The walls are paper thin and you can here everything. The bar is good but closes on a sat night at 8pm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Fantastic views from the front of the hotel out across Towan Beach. As you say we look to provide a great place to stay for people who don't want to pay top dollar! Ron More 

birmingham england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't fault the service standards at this well sited budget hotel. I worked for Hilton for 34 years and the staff here certainly know their stuff when it comes to looking after you, friendly and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you Brumpodge, Always nice to hear good things about my team - especially from someone in the trade! Although we are a budget hotel we do our best to give top quality service. I will make sure they see the review. Ron More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect for stag do's. Clean. Simple.good breakfast. Pleasant staff. Good position. It's not for families or couples. If you want a chocolate left on your pillow you will probably be disappointed but it's in no way nasty, just cheap and really quite cheerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thanks Antony, Perhaps a chocolate on the pillow is an extra we should offer - not sure how many guests would want it though! We aim to provide quality budget accommodation and we are proud of our hotel. Just to echo what you say - we're not really the right place for families at the weekend - in fact I'm... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on a stag do and was impressed. Very well located, the hotel is clean and well run. The rooms we stayed in were quite small but it served a purpose and was a good hotel for a group of friends looking for somewhere on a budget. I would recommend to other groups who want to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thanks JT, Glad you enjoyed your stay here in the centre of Newquay. The night life is great, the surfing is great, Newquay is great! Our aim is to provide that budget base to allow you to enjoy all the above! Ron More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just got back from 2 nights for a stag Doo of 17. Really nice hotel decent rooms and modern styling. Very basic but for us it was a place to sleep and get changed that's all. The downstairs there is a bar and restaurant. I didn't have breakfast but was told it was nice. The staff were all really nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thanks Alex, Glad you had a great weekend. As you say we are the right place if you want somewhere simple but clean and comfy - with all the fun stuff right on the door! Ron More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends in June. I found that we had an amazing time. There was a great atmosphere each day. The hotels location is amazing, situated within walking distance from everywhere. The staff were always available and very friendly, great customer service. I would very much recommend this hotel. I will be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thanks Wardie, Glad you enjoyed your time with us. I have got to say It's not just the hotel team that make the atmosphere but our wonderful guests as well. Sometimes it can get noisy but there is always a sense of party at the hotel. See you again I hope. Ron More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very clean(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Bunk bed(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#22 of 51 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 51 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 51 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay