We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

#19 of 49 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
5 - 7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    87
    20
    10
    21
See reviews for
23
43
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (317)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

hotel sunny side was extremely basic but for the amount of time we was in it it did the job fine. We was issued rooms of four bunk beds, the beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The room was clean, however the bathroom did tend to get a bit steamy as there was little ventilation. there was plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First let me start by saying, yes, it is very basic, but that is exactly as advertised. They tell you they are a no frills hotel and it is made very clear from the outset that if you want towels, tea making facilities, toiletries, a maid service etc you pay extra. The prices for the extras are reasonable, not extortionate,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Pinkbell, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The views out from your room are lovely - looking out across Towan Beach. Our concept of a good clean basic room at a great price has suited what you needed. So pleased. Ron More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we visited the sunnyside again for several reasons this august, mainly based on the past good experience of many visits, and to include our youngests 8th birthday on this years newquay family holiday, we had high spirits and was very excited. upon arrival, it was clear it is under new management, and possible ownership, and i'm afraid it could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Petrolheadsh, We again wish to express our sincere disappointment in respect of a family having booked a room with bunk beds at Hotel Sunnyside. We are never happy when a guest does not have a great time with us. As a team that care so much about every guests’ stay, it really is a huge blow to read such... More 

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you Hotel Sunnyside for a really pleasant three night break. Three girlfriends and I stayed in a dormitory room for four with it's own bathroom. The room was lovely and clean although a view would have been nice.  We all commented how nice the staff in the coffee shop and at reception were.  Very nice girls and a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you had a good time with us in Newquay. It looks like you have enjoyed so much of what is great about West Cornwall. I will make sure this is passed on to the team (including the bloke in glasses - me!) Ron More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

this was booked through booking.com bunk beds no towels no soap staff was rude not helpful at all when we said we were going to complain they said feel free too no bar open. if you want to feel like your in prison book if you have kids don't I cannot understand tripadviosr giving 4 **** this is the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Again we are really sorry that you did not get the break you were expecting. We are never happy when that happens. We try hard to be transparent in our advertising. Booking.com shows pictures of the bunks on the booking page. We send out a Booking Guide which shows pictures of bunk beds! I understand and appreciate that bunk beds... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I start? After a 6 and a half hour drive from Liverpool, myself and my young family arrived in Newquay. my wife being pregnant was very tired and my children aged 2 and 6 who were restless couldn't park at the hotel as there were security bars blocking the spaces after driving around the tricky one way system... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ssh57, Owner at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

We are all truly sorry that Mr Rigby and his family did not enjoy a pleasurable experience with us. We apologise profusely for the cleanliness issue that Mr Rigby mentions. We understood this to be in respect of behind the toilet cistern. This should have been noticed and addressed before occupancy. We will supervise this more rigorously going forward. Mr... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Hotel Sunnyside, with a group of friends. The hotel has everything you need and is located just outside the town, in a beautiful spot overlooking the beach. When leaving the hotel on Saturday, (during the recent Boardmasters event), none of the local taxi firms had any taxis available. I was flying back to the Northwest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thanks Chris, Hope the wedding went well! Although our accommodation is basic we do try to provide top level customer service. Glad you had a good stay. Ron More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently returned from a great stay in Newquay Cornwall. Stayed with a group of friends. Our choice of hotel was the Sunnyside. We couldn't not have asked for more. Clean rooms, comfy beds, attentive and friendly staff, and a location in the centre of the town. The hotel overlooks the beach and is near the clubs so perfect for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Paul, So glad you enjoyed your time with us! It is such a great location - right in the middle of anything you could want to do. See you again I hope Ron More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was basic 2 bunk beds and a chest of drawers, it was what it was somewhere to put our heads. The staff were very friendly and helpful had to pay £5 per night to park car on fore court but cheaper than car park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay Lindsay! You've exactly grasped what we are about - a decent room at a decent price with no frills. Situated right in the centre of Newquay for the beaches, the bars and the clubs. I will pass on your praise to the team! Ron More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a twin room here after a recommendation from a colleague. Upon arrival, I had to rent a towel for £1 (what's that all about?). To park on their forecourt cost an additional £5. They also said that they were not doing food because they weren't busy enough. The room itself was tiny - I thought it must be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Aron, Sorry you didn't have the best of stays. The gulls are crazy noisy at this time of year - even David Cameron is wanting to sort them out! It's a pity you didn't draw our attention to the other issues while you were here. I would have personally sorted the bathroom out for you. just to comment on... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very clean(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Bunk bed(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#20 of 49 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#15 of 49 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 49 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay