We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Newquay hotels

Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 - 7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunnyside Newquay to your Saves list
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Richard E London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (239)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    71
    16
    8
    14
See reviews for
15
35
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I paid £45 in advanced for a room and on arrival found that this did not include a towel, soap, tea making or breakfast, all of which were charged extra. Much worse, on arrival at 10.30pm, an additional £30 payment was demanded from me in addition to the room cost. I was assured that this was a refundable "security deposit"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

We apologise on behalf of Robert H to all TripAdvisor users hoping for a candid, unbiased review of our hotel as an accommodation option in Newquay. The accusations contained within the review are of course entirely false; prompted by a long-standing and bizarre personal vendetta against our hotel. There may indeed be some other factors in this case, however, it... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed last weekend as part of a group of 8 blokes. Hotel Sunnyside couldn't have been better suited to our needs- central location (in centre of Newquay town), near the beach, cheap prices, nice bar, good plentiful breakfast, and clean tidy rooms. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Tolerated all the lads' banter and patient with us at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you Richard. We really appreciate your kind comments. In particular, thank you for noticing our night manager, Bob... not many do! It was a pleasure to accommodate you and the guys on your weekend away in Newquay. We hope to see you again very soon. More

Bristol
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is right next to beach so perfect for surfing lessons, with Newquay town just a minutes walk up the road. Really friendly staff and a great breakfast. It also has a great bar area for pre evening drinks!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you Pav. It was fantastic to have you stay with us again. We hope to see you again next summer! From all at Hotel Sunnyside. More

Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here this weekend rather disappointed from the off as staff where very unhelpful and rude and very quick to threaten to kick people out . clean and tidy reception area (just a miserable receptionist ) bar area empty beer bottles and glasses just left on tables room where something and nothing bunk beds , and a shower what was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

We appreciate all feedback about our hotel (well, nearly all!). Whilst we naturally love reading our many positive reviews, negative reviews serve as a reminder that no hotel is perfect- there is always an area we can improve upon. That said, we can't help thinking this particular review is perhaps a little unreasonable.... We have attempted to contact the group... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

absolutely perfect location for a hen weekend, the hotel was clean and tidy. everything you would expect for the price. unfortunately breakfast does not live up to the standard of the room, on our first day we waited an hour then they ran out of food for everyone. overall i would stay here again but i would recommend you go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Nicky Lou, Thank you very much for your comments on our clean accommodation and reasonable prices. I have referred the issue you experienced at breakfast to Sandy, our manager on duty at the time. Something may have been miscommunicated, however, Sandy has confirmed that we didn't actually run out of food. Sandy recalls discussing the matter personally with you,... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on business, stayed in the double budget room which involved bunk-beds, the bottom one being double. The room was clean aside from a weird foisty smell which wasn't great. Obviously, being a budget hotel you had to pay for any extra's, this being towels, soaps, breakfast etc although there was hand wash. The breakfast was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you Grundogandthecog. The issue with breakfast has been addressed. Obviously we do need time to prepare for service but we could have offered you a cup of tea whilst continuing to set up. Thank you for acknowledging our tasty breakfast. We apologise for the inconvenience regarding any odour. We are unsure how this could have been present after the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned from a weekend stag trip to Newquay yesterday, with 7 of us staying in the Hotel Sunnyside. Being a best man is not an easy task when it comes to putting together a full weekend itinerary. Sunnyside really helped with this in regards to the package we had for the group (accommodation, booking for a coasteering activity which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Hi Tom, Thank you very much for your review and, in particular, for your kind words regarding Sandy. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stag weekend in Newquay. Kind regards, All at Hotel Sunnyside More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for a clean, affordable place for a big group that is right in the centre of everything in Newquay this is a great choice. The ideal hotel for people who aren't planning to spend much time there and just want somewhere to sleep. Good facilities on site with pool tables and bar a good place to start... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you Alexjallen1986 for your thoughts on our hotel. Very much appreciated. We hope to see you again very soon. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent the weekend at Hotel Sunnyside and from start to finish it was one of the most enjoyable getaways we have ever experienced. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. On arriving at the Hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome and all our needs were met. The Hotel is situated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Thank you Alexandria A. You were an absolute pleasure to have stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. From all at Hotel Sunnyside. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't speak highly enough about Sunnyside. From the initial booking to the service we received during our stay, everything has been first class. We managed to book a room for my son's birthday - all the arrangements for his party on a nearly beach were covered off by the hotel including zorbing and a surfing lesson, as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Thank you very much for your kind words. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We're also pleased to read your thoughts on the surfing and zorbing. Thank you again More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Address: 5 - 7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style
#4 Best Value Hotel in Newquay #17 Family Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer