We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portbyhan Hotel

#2 of 6 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Portbyhan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    119
    50
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My girlfriend and I booked a little getaway for the last weekend in August in Cornwall, and having been many times before, I wanted for her to experience all the wonders of the area. Given that we are both rather picky about where we stay, the Portbyhan was absolutely perfect. We both agree that it is like a small 5-star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. Last minute booking- very friendly staff. Loved the roof top area to sit with a drink & watch the world go by in Looe harbour. However, no parking facilities meant parking over on the Millpool car park for 24 hour parking. £5:50. Our room was on the front, facing the harbour- beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were not staying at the hotel but had a meal in the new Bistro. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The service was very good considering it was really busy and the staff had to bring the food up to the upper terrace. The new balcony area is brilliant with outside heaters and a lovely view over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meal on the terrace, I will pass your comments on to the Brasserie and Kitchen team as its always nice to receive good comments about the food and service. If you are looking at coming down to stay with us and certain days are booked up on line give our reception team a ring and we... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went with the misses for a week and was brill! Really friendly staff, lovely rooms, amazing food and just generally felt comfortable here. We didn't get a room with a balcony due to late booking, bet next time we go, I'm paying the extra for one, you get a really good view of the harbour and East Looe. Can't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear you had a good time whilst staying with us. Next time you book please give our reception team a ring and we can talk you through our room rates for the balcony rooms. Hope to see you soon. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

travelled with a large group of 74 people first room offered was atrocious 203 it was no more than a box room at the back with view of black wall and large extractor tube immediately asked to move only alternative was 301 which was identical except for lighter decor.so be wary see room first we were part of alarge party... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we would like to apologise if you thought your room wasn't sufficient. There is one chimney that goes up at the rear of the hotel and you can see this from a couple of the rooms, this doesn't effect the quality of the stay in the room and doesn't create any problems with... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a meal there on our last night. Lovely place inside very modern in a central location. Quite reasonably priced for the presentation very creative. However I ordered apple crumble with custard which the first attempt was just apple slices and no spoon. The second attempt was with crumble but again bought with no spoon. It seems that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments regarding your visit to our Brasserie, we agree that the food is reasonably priced and we are glad that you like the look of the hotel. We do apologise if the spoon didn't come out with the dessert and all comments are taken on board and used for on going training with in the restaurant... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really didn't expect it to look so up market from when we booked it, everything looked so good and it had such a clean feeling to it all. The view from all of the restaurants and bars were just fantastic. Only able to give 4 star as it felt like all of the money had been spent on the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the restaurant and bars, it has taken two years to transform the hotel and we know it takes time to get all areas correct. We do have different graded rooms but all have the basics of flat screen TV's new carpets, new bathrooms, and our superior rooms have balconies over looking Looe river.... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Port Bayan some years ago and again last week. The renovation work that has been done there is phenomenal. I didn't recognize the place. The bar provided the best pint of beer that I had throughout my stay in this delightful gem of the south west. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Vicky Graham came over to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing comments. The hotel has changed quite a lot over the last two years and its wonderful when customers think the change is positive. As for being a credit to our town its something that we hold in high regard as we strive to make sure that our guests and the local community are happy with... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just stayed at the Portbyhan for four nights. It was fine but only after we were upgraded to a twin room ( not what we wanted but all they had) from what I am afraid was the worst hotel room I have ever seen. It was 101 and I believe others were as bad but this has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and you felt that the staff were nice. The bedrooms are priced according to size and where they are in the hotel, we do apologise if you felt your room was small but as stated we do have different grades and being an old hotel... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for a weekend away with friends. The staff could not have been more accommodating than how they were with us, from start to finish we were made to feel extremely welcome and it proved to have been an excellent choice of location. We ate two times in two days in the hotel restaurant and the second time was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatthewRobinson1989, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding the food, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
0.6 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Looe
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Snooty Fox Country Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay