We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Looe hotels

Portbyhan Hotel

The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Portbyhan Hotel to your Saves list
Portbyhan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
92%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Looe
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Darren1066 Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
623 helpful votes 623 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked at last minute. Had a family room that slightly over looked the harbour and out towards the sea. Room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the buffet style breakfast. The reastaurant had floor to ceiling windows that over looked Looe harbour, great to sit there and have a nice relaxing meal watching the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights in September for a shark fishing trip. The hotel looks good from the outside and the staff I have to say are very helpful and welcoming. Firstly the good bits: Breakfast excellent Staff very helpful Good location Good quality beer and bar area Room felt new Now the negatives: Our view was of a 10ft square courtyard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my wife and I first visit to Looe and we booked our hotel through "Laterooms"and what a good choice of hotel we picked, we never take any notice of other peoples reviews but still read them and some of those we read want to stay at home in the future as they do not know what they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Reception and bar staff really helpful and friendly, however, same cannot be said for breakfast staff unfortunately. We were a party of 4, but were told we couldn't sit together as they were expecting a coach trip, and its in their contract... ?? Chap who seated us (eventually) was noticeably annoyed that I had even dared to question this. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm originally from Looe so remember what the Portbyhan used to be like (Fawlty Towers but bright pink!). We came to Looe this evening for a family birthday dinner. I haven't been in the Portbyhan since before the refurbishment, and I was a bit apprehensive at the idea of a family meal there. I was very pleasant surprised. The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening and thank you for taking the time to post about your dining experience with us. I am so happy you chose us for your celebration and that you had a great time. Very much look forward to seeing you again soon. From all of us at The Portbyhan Philip, not Basil! More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here unexpectedly for one night as our original plans had fallen through. After a long drive we walked in to enquire as to availability. We were greeted by Anne on reception who was lovely and made us feel as though we were being welcomed home. She was the perfect person to welcome 2 tired, hungry and weary travellers!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening and my genuine thanks for such a fantastic and constructive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay - it seems with a cream tea on the balcony, evening stroll and great nights sleep you certainly made the most of a room right on the river! Thank you for your complements about breakfast - further to other... More

Northampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff, Location, Room all first class. The Staff need special mention, they were friendly and could not be more accommodating if they tried. We booked 2 nights for our first ever break to Cornwall, there were cheaper options, but we are so pleased that we paid a few pounds extra for this hotel. Incredible value for money. No car park,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your stay here. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our efforts are so warmly appreciated. Very much hope to see you again soon! From all of us at The Portbyhan Philip More

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently had a one night stay here, booked through laterooms.com. Initial impressions weren't great, with cracked tile steps leading to a dated reception area. We has a family room on the third floor and I have to say I was very disappointed. The room was very hot so we had to keep the windows open, but outside the window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry that the first impression was not a good one for you - as I have noted in a recent response, we will be completely refurbishing the Entrance, Reception, Bar and Sun-terrace in January 2015 to the same excellent standard of the... More

Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed an excellent Sunday roast (reasonably priced), in the recently updated and much improved Portbyhan, overlooking the harbour. Although we ate after 7pm in the evening we were still able to order from the carvery and had a choice of beef or gammon, helping ourselves to lots of perfectly freshly cooked vegetables, Yorkshire pudding etc. We would very much like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening - I am extremely pleased to read your review of our Sunday Carvery. Certainly, the extended opening hours have been a real success, and as you point out, the last meal has to be as fresh as the first, so we make a concerted effort to constantly refresh the buffet items, apparently with good effect! Look forward to... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute overnight stay in Looe. We had eaten here back in June and really enjoyed the food so thought we would give the accommodation a go. We had a harbour view room with access to the sun terrace, the room was basic but immaculately clean and perfectly serviceable. The defining factor of this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening - thank you for submitting your review. It is very encouraging for us to learn that thanks to an enjoyable meal, we were your hotel of choice for an overnight stay. As I have stated in many recent reviews, I am lucky to have the team around me, rest assured their efforts are very much appreciated and never... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Portbyhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Portbyhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portbyhan Hotel

Address: The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Portbyhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portbyhan Hotel Looe, Cornwall

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Looe with
any amenities