We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gulls

Hannafore, Looe PL13 2DE, England
The Gulls
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    18
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
74
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice B&B/guest house, good rooms but other aspects pretty average. Unfortunately we had a bad start when we arrived as no one was there to let us in! Once we got hold of Lorraine she apologised (we weren't written in the book!) But her mum came round ASAP to show us in. Glad it wasn't raining after a 45min wait!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to book three nights at the Gulls Hotel two adults and three children firstly nowhere to park a car within half a mile,next so many up and down stairs no good for the over fifty year olds and the younger children,food very poor standard after one breakfast we all cancelled the cooked breakfast for the next morning,if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
looebird, Owner at The Gulls, responded to this review

Dear leeds04 - thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Gulls. Obviously we are very disappointed that you clearly didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am only sorry that we didn't have any indication of this while you were here, as we could have tried to put right what was wrong.... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

My two recent nights in Jellicoe room were delightful, nothing wanting and all in very good condition. Breakfast and tea just as I requested. My partner who was unable to join me was very jealous when she saw the photos of rooms and views. Only the nearby parking caused them to miss a 5* rating. I look forward to another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lerryn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Spent New Year Eve with owner and guests. Superb view of Looe bay and the fireworks. Warm friendly family atmosphere as always. A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing evening - drank far too much bubbly!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

As far as hospitality goes these girls have it! Had to leave early for personal reasons and hate it. The room was decorated beautifully in classic beach style. Everything is clean and well presented. The breakfast was to die for. Cannot wait to try the other breakfasts available. For anybody writing about the cats, there are cats but they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel isn't the easiest for parking but this is more than made up for by the stunning views, excellent service and and quality of the rooms. We stayed in the Jellicoe room for 2 nights and found it clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and freshly made to order. Even the cats were welcoming!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Positives: When we arrived we were treated to a cup of tea and some home made cake. The Gulls is situated high up on a hill and our room had a lovely view over the beach and town. The room and bathroom were bright and spacious with plenty of storage space. I can't overstate how nice the room was! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years back and when trying to find a place to stay for a birthday weekend this was the first place that came to mind, however due to circumstances beyond our control this trip had to be postponed so when better to come than for our honeymoon. Lorraine could not have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
looebird, Owner at The Gulls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - really pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon; it was our pleasure to look after you. See you soon we hope! Lorraine More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

What can i say..had many a visit with my partner (not in the biblical sense)..gets better everytime,faultless,views to die for...breakfasts too..... Only criticism I DO have is that I cant live there... No more to say other than If you are staying in Looe...stay here. Thanks again to Lorraine and Mum...see you again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at The Gulls and we can't wait to go back! The hospitality we received from Lorraine and Elsie was amazing nothing to much trouble. The room was fabulous the food delicious and the views to die for !! This place should not be missed !!!!! We will be back thx Girls :0)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#2 of 6 in Looe
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Looe
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Snooty Fox Country Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Old Bridge House
The Old Bridge House
#13 of 61 in Looe
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaview
Seaview
#15 of 61 in Looe
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities