We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Looe hotels

Fieldhead Hotel

Portuan Rd. | Hannafore, Looe PL13 2DR, England
Hotel amenities
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
36
80
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first visit to the picturesque Looe. We were very impressed with The Fieldhead, and the owners Gillian and Julian couldn't have been more pleasant, nothing was too much trouble, and the food was wholesome and tasty. The views were stunning from our double room on the top floor and it was lovely having a balcony, got some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Grimsby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

we had 1 night there but had already booked 3. however as the weather was so terrible with the town flooded & the forecast terrible we decided to head home. The owner did charge for the full 3 nights £420. even the room rate was extortionate comparing the same room in the other parts of the town that were considerably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FieldheadHotel, Front Office Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Des F Grimsby {“don't prebook”} We are surprised to receive your review, let alone negative but we receive your comments positively and will readdress some you raised at the time and others you have not raised. Firstly you told the Duty Reception when informing them of your early departure, that you were aware of the Terms and Conditions –... More

rugeley
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 day break at the Fieldhead Hotel 27th - 29th December. What a wonderful Hotel, the food, the views the rooms nothing is to much trouble for the owners. Had a fantastic few days (really didn't want to come home) I can strongly recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants a great Holiday in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
FieldheadHotel, General Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicki Pollard, rugeley {GREAT HOTEL } Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay with us in December. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your review; it is wonderful for Staff morale. More

Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the fieldhead hotel very recently and can only say positive comments the room was very comfortable the full English and hospitality was very good,and the view was 2nd to none room 1. We had some very good weather tee shirts for mid October, and it was great to return to looe after 30+ years and see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
FieldheadHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel-Helen E. Chichester, United Kingdom {“A very pleasant stay”} We know this was a very special occasion for you and we are delighted to hear that all YOURS and our efforts went off well. We feel very honoured to be trusted when it comes to guests’ special occasions. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a... More

Rugby
2 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently returned from our first visit to the Fieldhead hotel, hoping it won't be our last! We enjoyed every minute. Decided to have db&b, so glad we did. The food is excellent and service is perfect. Our waitress Ellen served us at breakfast and dinner and she was lovely as are all the staff. The setting is perfect,we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
FieldheadHotel, Restaurant at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SusRugby Rugby {“Wonderful!”} Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of The Fieldhead Hotel in Looe. I have been asked by Management to answer and I would like to say how much Chef and I appreciate your compliments, not only about the food ……….. but about the service. Soooo looking forward to seeing you... More

UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Looked forward so much to a second stay at the Fieldhead. We booked a superior room from our first visit. Quite honestly we did not find anything different from a "cheaper " room. We had a very small balcony and no way could we have both have had dinner on it. Unfortunately our bathroom backed on to another room, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
FieldheadHotel, Restaurant & Reception at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DEVONJOY, UK [“Return visit”] We are very disappointed that you are so disappointed, especially after your visit in April 2013. We greatly value our return Guests as proven by you and many recent Reviewers. We do fail to understand why guests prefer to book on line and get something they do not want when they can be old-fashioned and... More

Nottuln, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

In august we spend 6 nights in this lovely hotel. thanks julian and your staff for this wonderful week. it was like a week in heaven. lovely room (familyroom), wonderful look out of the windows an from our balkony. and the delicios breakfast and food. all was perfect. thank you very much, fieldhead hotel ! i hope we will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
FieldheadHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Oh my goodness!!! This review quite takes our breath away. I take this Review very personally. Dear Ortwin Georg Urban [and Family] Nottuln, Germany “one week in heaven” Ortwin saw us and made Friends with us on FaceBook and subsequently booked - three or four months in advance. We are delighted they enjoyed their stay. They also took a number... More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Thank you to everyone at the Fieldhead Hotel for another lovely stay. So often, places disappoint on a second visit, but not here. We were greeted as friends, which epitomises the feeling of this hotel where all the staff have time to give to visitors. Views from the bedroom unsurpassed and the good size balcony with table, chairs and loungers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
FieldheadHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spagirl186315 Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom And Thank You Spagirl186315 for another lovely review after your second stay at The Fieldhead Hotel. We are so pleased everything was in order for you and there were no disappointments which can be the case, as you say, on a second visit. The doors are always open for you both and we... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fieldhead Hotel for 3 nights. We were pleasantly surprised, The hotel itself was clean and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and approachable at all times, nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in was modern and had matching furniture! The bed was very comfy as were the pillows. We stayed in a sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
FieldheadHotel, Front Office Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DK250307 Bristol, United Kingdom “Great Hotel and Friendly Staff!” Thank you for taking the time and care to write a Review of your stay at The Fieldhead Hotel in Looe on TripAdvisor As you discovered, a balcony room really does make for a great experience and those rooms are always in high demand. The pillows are recently new so... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel was more like a B&B given the rabbit warren style of its design and operation - reception was on first floor and there were stairs everywhere. Our room fronted onto 2 other room extensions and there was no view except the car park. The wi-fi had very poor reception except for one room being the breakfast room. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
FieldheadHotel, Front Office Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnB Melbourne, Australia. [“Very average property for the price.....”] We have been expecting this review. We are surprised this guest was unable to find their way round what they call a Rabbit Warren. No one, until now, has been unable to find their way from the Entrance at Ground Floor to the First Floor up the only flight of... More

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Looe
Fieldhead Hotel Looe, Cornwall
Address: Portuan Rd. | Hannafore, Looe PL13 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fieldhead Hotel is focused on giving guests a high level of quality attentive service beyond its rating.Is focused on giving guests a stay with comfortable ensuite sea view rooms with dishes, freshly prepared from daily changing menus in the Horizons Bar and Restaurant, all of which guests will happily remember forever.We are the ideal centre for visiting Looe and Cornwall’s many attractions; Deep sea and inshore fishing and Coastal Path walking.Perched high above Looe Bay with heated pool, onsite parking and award winning tropical gardens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fieldhead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fieldhead Hotel to your Saves list