We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Falmouth B&Bs / inns

The Red House

24 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Red House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Red House to your Saves list
89%
Ranked #32 of 78 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David U Cardiff, United Kingdom
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
13
49
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very surprised to hear previous reviews claiming rude service. I have stayed here a couple of times, very friendly welcome, comfy and spacious room with everything you could need and a lovely breakfast in the morning. All at a very reasonable price. Location is also excellent being a very short walk to Gylly beach and a pretty short walk from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hove
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

God! So many things to talk about here!!! Please read!!! My boyfriend and I decided to have a few days off in Cornwall in Sept 2014. We stayed there for 3 nights, arriving at The Red House around 7pm on a Monday. Before we arrived there, we received a call saying that there will not be anyone at the premises... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, I want to say to you that I have never written a review on a site like Tripadvisor before. I'm not a serial complainer just someone who is that mad about the way he was spoken to. I feel the need to stop more people going to this B&B. I wanted to have a short break away in Cornwall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

When you booked the accommodation there is a button to select what time you will be arriving this was selected at 16.30, as we knew we would not be available at this time we arranged and paid for someone to be at the guest house between 16.00 and 18.00 hrs as per the terms and conditions, You would have had... More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I was amazed to read a review from a previous visitor re rude host poor. Car park and room 3mentioned I have stayed in that very room yes it does look out to the car park but also towards penndennis castle if you care to look to the left,if available I will always take this room it's spacious and has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Great stay in the 'home' of Karen & Nick. The good use of their front garden provides car parking which at other guest houses in the area is non-existant. This stay was our fifth at the Red House and again we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic for the beach in front and the harbour and town behind. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I stay at the Red House at least four times a year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Before I found the Red House 3 years ago I would stay at the Falmouth,the Duchy, St Michaels or the Falmouth Beach (since raised to the ground!) on the seafront as I have been visiting my aunt who lives in Falmouth for over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is my first bad review on a hotel for trip advisor. The hostess, Karen, was rude to me from the start. I was a bit god smacked. She showed me our room which overlooks her tiny car park area. On her site with booking.com, it lists that free private parking is available on site so I expected a spot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

My partner & I stayed here for several days for the Falmouth Tall Ships regatta. Very attractive building in a superb location & in immaculate order inside & out. Run by pleasant, helpful people who are full of sensible local advice if asked. Very nice room & good breakfasts, too. Car parking is potentially tight ish but didn't seem to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wépion
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Pretty bed and breakfast located 500 meters from the marina. Very warm welcome from Nick, the owner. Breakfasts are good but do not expect buffets encountered on the Continent.Beware if you are a smoker. The hostess will look at the evil eye.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Friendly hosts - breakfasts were plentiful and a variety of choice. Central to a short stroll into town or a short walk to the beach. House and rooms were clean and well laid out. Home made jams were a highlight of breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Address: 24 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Falmouth, Cornwall

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay