We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Falmouth Hotel

#13 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Hotel amenities
The Falmouth Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
alxrh Weston, United Kingdom
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    169
    76
    48
    11
See reviews for
120
268
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (557)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (139)
All months
Weston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in this hotel last week- mid April- and were delighted with the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. We got a better nights sleep then we get at home! The situation is ideal, right on the seafront, and, lucky for us, the sun was shining! We love an old hotel with bags of atmosphere and elegance. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paralimni, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a 2 night DBB stay at the Falmouth Hotel. It had to be special as my husband had been away in Sierra Leone for almost 6 months before returning to Falmouth. I arrived mid afternoon on Friday and parked straight away no problems. From the moment I stepped into this wonderful building with all of its old charm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AngieR01752 Thank you for your lovely review and for your fantastic comments. I am so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our beautiful gem of a hotel perfectly positioned on the sea front with fantastic views. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and exceptional dining experience, I have passed on your complements to our... More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely overnight stay which unfortunately ended with a negative. Booked for my birthday. Lovely situated hotel and loved the older style feel to it. Ample parking and well kept grounds. Room was spacious and clean, great sea views. Had a lovely cream tea in the bar area. Prior to our arrival I received an email to advise there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanne O Thank you for your review. Please can you contact me on gm.falmouth@richardsonhotels.co.uk so I am able to get some more feedback on your stay. Kind regards Jude Snook More 

Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Until Easter Monday, we had a lovely 2 day break at this imposing Victorian hotel. We had a room overlooking the sea which was wonderful and the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. All was good until breakfast on Easter Monday.......... In all my time and experience in hotels throughout the UK, Europe and further afield, I have never experienced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stucaz2015 Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a lovely two day break but surprised that one breakfast was able to ruin your stay. We did have problems with this one breakfast due to the sudden increase in sleepers and, with it being a bank holiday weekend, we struggled getting top up deliveries and for this... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think this is at least my 10th or 12th time back. I looked at a few reviews posted previously and noticed some bad reviews. The Falmouth hotel is a true gem of a hotel, a historic, wonderful old Victorian building with incredible views. The rooms are fantastic. The restaurants are great. The reception staff are very friendly and great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TimAll Thank you for your fantastic review. I am so pleased you like our lovely historic hotel, it really is a true gem with fantastic views and thank you for your lovely comments regarding the staff. We are currently looking into sorting out the WIFI for the cottages and we can certainly sort out the recycling for the them... More 

Reading
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have just got back from a 3 night stay at the Falmouth Hotel. Reception staff were pleasant and I liked the fact they called us when we had got to our room to check everything was ok. Nice touch. Our room, 103, was large although a little dated. Lovely view of the bay and Pencennis castle. Quite a nice bathroom,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rixon Thank you for your review and for your kind comments regarding the reception staff. Please can you contact me on gm.falmouth@richardsonhotels.co.uk to discuss your review further. Kind regards Jude Snook More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight and had heard good reviews but were very disappointed with our stay. We travelled by train at the location was great. We had a standard room which was ok and it had a sea view which was lovely. We had a coffee in the lounge on arrival and although the big sofas were comfy the carpet looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kay c Thank you for your review Please can you contact me on gm.falmouth@richardsonhotels.co.uk so we can discuss your stay further Kind regards Jude Snook More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had two meetings to attend on a sunny Saturday at the Falmouth Hotel. The first ran from 10 am to 1 pm; the second from 2 pm to 4 pm. And so, logically enough, we booked a table for lunch. Well - the lunch was fine. Our reserved table was in the bar/lounge, with the sun beaming in through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheLonePoster Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch over looking our stunning views of Castle Beach. I would like to apologise for the issues with the PA system but we have since acquired a new one which will stop these issues happening again We hope you will return to us soon Kind regards Jude... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked a 4 day break with my partner in a (superior suit) with sea view room number 104, basin in bathroom broken and stuck back together with silicone, soft bath robe supplied, was far from soft with a broken tie loop, main room could of done with a good spring clean, IE dusty/dirty, food was very good, excellent evening meals/good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack-russell52 Thank you for your review Please can you contact me directly on gm.falmouth@richardsonhotels.co.uk to discuss your review further Kind regards Jude Snook More 

Camborne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff are as tired as this dreadful hotel. Decor shabby in a horrid mix of 80s leftovers - wind whistles through the windows, carpets grubby, understaffed, terrible service, there are many better places in Falmouth

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JudeSnook, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NonaMichelle Thank you for your review Please can you contact me directly on gm.falmouth@richardsonhotels.co.uk to discuss your stay further Kind regards Jude Snook More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question