We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Chester B&Bs / inns

Ye Olde King's Head

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   48 - 50 Lower Bridge St., Chester CH1 1RS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ye Olde King's Head to your Saves list
Ye Olde King's Head
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #28 of 80 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Gemma M
  • Reviews (89)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely pub homemade food was absolutely fantastic loved it We arrived late and they still served us past 8 for tea! Quirky low beams made it nice and cozy too I would recommend this pub for a relaxing belly filling tea Left feeling all de stressed and stuffed 😄

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful pub, really full of character! The staff are attentive and friendly, food was prompt and well presented, tasted fantastic too! The rooms have the same rustic style as the rest of the building with some stunning four posters. Would definitely recommend to friends for a casual drink/meal and especially as a hotel and function room!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night at the Property in room 1 (four poster) with my wife following a last minute decision to get away and see Chester. From start to finish nothing was too much trouble, Bar service was prompt and the food excellent. Make sure that you get a parking place in the garage at the rear (£10) and go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel over the internet using bookings.com before coming to the UK - paid and received our confirmation, was very keen due to the reputation as being haunted - thought that would be fun, in fact it was the main driver behind coming to chester otherwise might have kept on driving and stayed elsewhere. Anyway - turned up to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Called in with friends on a recent visit to Chester.Fabulous food and really friendly atmosphere at ye olde kings head ..Friendly staff and a great place to sit and chill out. Will definitely come here again when we next visit Chester .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Went with friends and had the most amazing meal in a very warm and friendly atmosphere . The food was absolutely wonderful & The staff were very helpful, nothing too much trouble . We will certainly be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've visited Ye Olde King's Head many times and had lovely freshly cooked food but sadly won't be visiting again as the food quality isn't up to their usual standard. The food wasn't good atall, the description on the menu ' BBQ Chicken Goujons - Hand battered in a secret recipe batter' - sounded great but .. wasn't. There appears... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

It is quite disappointing to think that on the numerous occasions that you have visited us and enjoyed your visit, including the time when you and your partner received a complimentary bottle of wine for your anniversary...you did not think this fitting to add a favourable review on tripadvisor. We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy... More

Stoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We visited the kings head on the 17th of May. Which we should of been staying but unfortunately do to gas leak the accommodation is not open. We still popped in for a drink. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the manager Chris could not do enough for us. Fantastic pub with great history we cannot wait to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your support, we can not apologise enough that you were unable to stay with us on this occasion due to the unexpected gas leak. We are pleased to hear that you stayed for a drink in the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere of the property. We are hopeful that all the work will be complete... More

Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel a month ago & arrived at 9.30 pm May 1st to find it in darkness & all locked up. A notice in the window announced 'CLOSED" with no number to call. I asked at a nearby bar if anyone could help me. The Crosskeys staff were wonderful & told me about another place to stay. Someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

We can only apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. Unfortunately, we had a gas leak and obviously our main concern was for the safety of our staff, customers and guests, therefore the property was closed immediately. The staff then spent hours contacting guests and informing them of the situation. Unfortunately some bookings which were made through booking agents... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a party thrown upstairs in the function room, staff decorated the room how we wanted it, and the saff who were on bar all night were fantastic and friendly all night, would recommened this place for a function, a hotel get away, or even juat a drink in the bar downstairs, we have never been dissapointed with this place!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ye Olde King's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48 - 50 Lower Bridge St., Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer