We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saddle Inn

21 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Saddle Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just stayed on Saturday night, cheapest and best in the centre of Chester. Friendly staff, cosy room was meant to be a single room but sleeps two, great location within the city walls, great value, full English breakfast included! Worth staying

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The saddle Inn is a pub/inn based in Chester city centre. Staff were really friendly and the executive room I booked was very spacious and clean. They werent doing food on the day I came but we found a lovely place to eat nearby. As its city centre there was no parking, but very close NCP car park charged £12/night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments. We actually offer a reduced rate at the NCP on Pepper Street , our guests pay £10 for a 24 hour stay rather than £12.90. Guests collect a ticket from us on departure. There is off street car parking also which is free between 6pm and 8am as well as other... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly welcome and nice pub. I didn't eat here as I was already booked elsewhere with my son. The room was very comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast was available at an extra cost but I had a wander out instead. It's very central and I will stay again if visiting Chester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. Hopefully you will take the opportunity of trying our freshly cooked breakfast on your next trip. All the best from the Saddle Inn team More 

grimsby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from a 2 night stay in Chester for my birthday. Hotel is very clean and homely and is in an ideal location so close to everything. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast both mornings which was lovely. A lovely stay thank you very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your feedback, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again some time in the future. Best wishes from all the team More 

Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here over the new year,very friendly staff and a warm welcome from them,they had a chat with us and advised us of places to go..recommend a visit here The toilets were very clean as was the rest of the pub,really enjoyed the coffee,my

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your experience at the Saddle Inn. Our goal is always to provide a warm welcome in clean, comfortable surroundings and we hope you will come and visit us again soon More 

Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I are very pleased with the quiet, clean and modern accommodations. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great. Just 5 minutes from the Wall and 10 from downtown. The room has lots of space, as does the bathroom. And did we mention it's above a pub?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback, it is always welcomed when guests acknowledge the work we do to provide a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the future Best wished from everyone at the Saddle Inn More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at the Saddle and it never disappoints. We are always greeted by warm and friendly staff who always show us to our room. This is a rare thing today and the management team as well as the staff go out of their way to ensure our stay is as comfortable as possible.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words it is always a pleasure looking after guests who appreciate the efforts we put in to making them feel welcome. Any words of recognition go a long way to motivating our team and I will pass your comments on to them. We are so pleased you enjoyed the comforts of room 4 and the... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a well needed break in Chester over the weekend.. We chose to stay at The Saddle Inn located pretty near to the centre and all amenities. We arrived rather early and thought this might be an issue when checking in.. This wasn't at all an issue for the staff who made every effort to accommodate us.. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we always aim to give our guests a welcome stay. Our team works hard to give an efficient service and we are pleased we fulfilled this aim on your visit. I have passed your comments to our chef and he is delighted you enjoyed the food especially the breakfast and beef and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Friend and I stayed here on 1St July 2015 for 1 night. Will not be returning. Was quite happy with the room, but the Bathroom needed urgent Cleaning as, a lot of black rot which needed attention. We went out for food on the Evening, and when we ame back at 10 30 we were told the Bar was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your feedback we take our guests comments seriously so as to improve the overall service we offer . If I may deal with the points you highlighted. First of all we would never refuse a guest any drinks. I think the issue is you never declared yourself as a guest staying... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on the races weekend for 2 nights. Hotel very well situated in city centre, if noisy due to the race goers. Paid £120 per night with breakfast which for the quality of the room was a bit high, but for the area & date was understandable. Bathroom was poor though, black mould all over the window ledge &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments we value guest feedback as it can help to improve the service we give. Our standard price on a Saturday is £80 for a double room however on a race day this price goes up to £120. This is common practice in Chester during the race season and all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#29 of 80 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The D Chester
The D Chester
#46 of 80 in Chester
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Devonia Lodge Guest House
#32 of 80 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay