We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saddle Inn

21 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Saddle Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    29
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I have just returned from a two night break at the saddle inn. Our room was fabulous. We were given room 8 at the top of the building which was packed with period features as you may imagine with the attic beams crossing the ceiling. Room 8 is very spacious with a lovely bathroom overlooking the roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Warm welcoming from the hosts :-) Bar staff very friendly & helpful, the room was very clean & spacious.bed very comfy & quality linen, nice attention to detail , great power in the shower 🚿 & made use of the complimentary toiletries The poached eggs & bacon on toast is a must do 😜

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really welcoming, room clean comfy and food good. First time for us in Chester & made to feel welcome plus good advice on where to go and look at things shops, places of interest , would recommend & stay again 😃 good location close to city centre too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was actually quite nice, however the double bed was a bit small. Also, I fancied a relaxing bath after a week of travelling around wales, unfortunately we found 3 different coloured hairs in the bathtub....we were too tired to complain and just went to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are disappointed your visit wasn't up to expectation. Cleanliness is very important to us if you had alerted us when you discovered the hairs in the bath we would have cleaned it for you. You don't say when you stayed or which room you were in, again this information is important so we can... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Loved this old building, lots of character. Great location. Cant think of anything negative about our visit, would love to go back when we have more time. Good service and helpful, only thing that could be added to website would be directions to the NCP car park with whom there is an agreement for parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will take on board your comments about the parking information. We hope you will visit us again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked here for 3 days with my wife room one there was a free bottle of wine and chocolates on the table waiting for us due to my anniversary nice clean room tesco close by no faults with this place and friendly staff will be back booking here soon big thank you the Coulstons family :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us at the Saddle Inn and for leaving us your lovely letter and kind words. It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes from all the team More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to both the city centre and River Dee, this hotel is in an ideal location. The hotel is recently refurbished. Check in is at 3pm, but our room was ready early. We were shown to the room by the manager, and we were given Room 4, which is one of the larger rooms available. One word of warning is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes from all the team More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the saddle inn form the 8th to the 11th of August.what a very warm welcome.the staff made you feel very welcome and were very friendly.food was very good breakfast brill nothing too much trouble

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for booking a return visit next year. Your custom is greatly appreciated we enjoyed making you feel welcome. Best wishes from all the team More 

County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

THE SADDLE INN Arrived in Chester at 5pm on an early monday evening, Paid £130.00 for a two night stay with breakfast. The Saddle Inn is an old pub with some 15 - 20 rooms, on arrival the pub was empty but expected this early on a monday evening though the bar was clean & tidy, the staff were pleasent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I would like to pick up on your points. The hard facts that you have quoted namely 1. You were here for two nights , a Monday and Tuesday staying in May ....I have looked back all the way to January and cannot trace any reservation for those nights paying £130.00. Indeed £130.00 is not... More 

Flintshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner & I stayed in Chester at the end of July for a four night BB break. In the past we have stayed in hotels near the railway station and paid chain hotel prices. Time for a change. We are so pleased we found the Saddle Inn, which is a £4 taxi ride from the station. Its a black... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. You were the perfect guests and so appreciative of everything we did for you and it was a delight to welcome you to our establishment. It is so nice when guests immerse themselves into our facilities popping down in the day to enjoy drinks in the relaxing bar making... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The D Chester
The D Chester
#44 of 80 in Chester
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Devonia Lodge Guest House
#32 of 80 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#30 of 80 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay