We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Chester

#11 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Chester
Add Photo Write a Review

1,004 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    444
    382
    120
    34
    24
See reviews for
138
556
20
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1004)
  • Mar-May only
    (287)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (308)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (208)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Crown Plaza is decent place to stay in the centre of town with friendly staff, clean good sized rooms, and a decent breakfast buffet. I would say the dinner is overpriced for what it is, but there are plenty of restaurants near by to go to. The gym and pool look good, but I've not yet tried them out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your helpful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to see you again soon in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Crowne Plaza, Chester is a modern, formulaic hotel, with a rather ugly entrance if arriving by cab. The rooms are rather tight for space, even on the executive floor. However what makes the hotel are the genuinely brilliant staff. They could not be more friendly and helpful even on a busy Race Day. My wife was feeling unwell one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am delighted that your stay was so enjoyable, and I will make sure I convey your kind comments to our team, especially Amy, they will greatly appreciate being recognised and praised. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on the next Race meeting... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited for family birthday, service was excellent , staff friendly, rooms were clean, biggest bed I've ever seen . Had two year old in our party, were given a room in the 'quiet zone' without having to ask. Really good Tapas , and great selection of breakfasts. Perfect location, parking at hotel limited but public car park literally next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review, thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor. It's lovely to see you had such a nice Birthday celebration weekend, our staff was attentive, and that you enjoyed our tasty food in our Stables Bar and Grill. I certainly hope you'll be back soon! Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel about 1.45pm and the room was ready. The room is quite small but well maintained and clean. The room was very warm but cooled with the Air con. The room walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. The view from the room was rubbish but the hotel is in a great location for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your review. I am delighted to see that our team has once again delivered what we are aiming for: friendly, seamless service, so that happy customers like yourselves choose to come back. Looking forward to see you again soon, Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Yorkshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a last minute trip to see Chester and choose this hotel as it was good value for money compared to other similar hotels in the city. We had no problems finding a car park space when we arrived. Our room was pre paid but we did go along with offering our credit card number over again in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to see you have enjoyed your short break with us, our hotel indeed offers great value right in the heart of the city. I hope you will return to us in the near future again. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the crown plaza on Friday 19th June 2015. I booked through booking.com and put my card details in to secure the booking although no payment was being taken as payment was to be taken on check out. When we arrived at the hotel they asked if we wanted them to take card details so we could charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you have had a problem upon checkout with your payment. I will hand your enquiry over to our Front Office Manager, Christopher, to do a thorough investigation. If you wish to further discuss it please contact him on receptionmanager.cpchester@valorhospitalityeurope.com Once again I apologise and I hope this will... More 

Yamba, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyable overnight stay in May. We found the check in fast and pleasant. Staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel is not new and modern but we found the room spacious,clean and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal and wine. Breakfast was good with a choice of eggs to order. The hotel has parking available (enter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting a review here. My team and I are delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and found the location convenient and the service friendly and attentive. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked a executive room at £184 per night and although the room was clean the bathroom was something from the sixties. very poor shower no pressure,dirty net curtains,badly in need of updating,there was a fridge but no ice bucket,breakfast had a good selection but the cooked food was cold(buffet style) ,the reception staff were very helpful when we explained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad to see that our team was responsive and helpful, however we always appreciate constructive feedback and I will address the problems you have described to the relevant departmental managers. I hope you will consider staying with us again next time you return to Chester. Kind... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyable stay from start to finish. Great location, parking on site and a few minutes walk and you are in the centre. Room had excellent facilities including complimentary tea/coffee, bottled water, toiletries, robes and slippers. Staff on reception couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was everything you could want including being able to order poached eggs etc. Pool and leisure facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is such a delight to see an amazing review like yours, thank you for sharing this with your fellow travellers. I am pleased that your stay was perfect from start to finish, you can be sure we are going to live up to your expectations next time again when you return. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a weekend stay 19/21June, very attentive staff, really good breakfast, clean large rooms and the city centre a short walk away. New is the dinner for two £39.99, stater and main plus a glass of wine, quite good value. Very well recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for you feedback on your recent stay. I am really pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant and that my staff had a positive impact on your time with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (144)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay