We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Chester

4.0 of 5 Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crowne Plaza Chester
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Chester
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    347
    106
    30
    22
See reviews for
124
484
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (882)
  • Mar-May only
    (209)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (283)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (189)
All months
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent just 1 night in Chester at the Crowne Plaza.The hotel was clean,comfortable + staff were friendly,we didn't have breakfast but did try room service which along with the wonderful cocktails made at the hotel bar were both excellent + reasonably priced. We should have been staying with another couple but they weren't well + couldn't make the trip,so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the great comments regarding your hotel experience and I am glad that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We are lucky enough to be situated right in the middle of the city centre - unfortunately this comes with us having to charge a small daily fee for parking, this is however lower than any... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night in November 2014. On arrival at the hotel, the check in process was quick and simple, the reception area was spotless and the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms were the usual clean standard and well presented. When booking this hotel I had requested a room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this positive, kind feedback. I am glad to hear that you have felt genuinely welcomed all throughout the hotel as our aim is to make our guests feel at home away from home. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next anniversary! Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have stayed here before. Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms and spa. However we had a few housekeeping issues in the room. Our iron was broken and the bathroom bin had not been changed and had a used sanitary towel in it. Not pleasant!( room 338).

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester, Its pleasing to hear you made use of our good location & you found the team here friendly. I was however very disapointed to hear your comments in relation to the housekeeping team. Please be assured this is certainly not to the high standard we... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great quality hotel at reasonable prices. Very friendly service. The beds are huge and very comfortable. Clean and modern. Only 2 mins walk to the Chester city centre. We will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest I very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Chester. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Staffs, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here Saturday night in December on our visit to Chester Christmas Markets. We were very pleased with the hotel. Lovely room, great location. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice. We also had lunch here which was also very good and we ordered room service in the evening. The spa was fabulous and the massage was one of the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Chester Christmas Markets with us at Crowne Plaza Hotel. I was also pleased that we met your expectations in terms of the room we allocated you and the service and amenities we provided you with. I have passed on your kind words to the team here... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A well situated hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable.Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. We did dine in the restaurant and it was okay have had better.If we were to return to Chester we would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I will share your kind comments with my team and we are looking forward to see you again on your next stay in Chester. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a champagne night for £134 , this included breakfast and room upgrade to an executive room ( subject to availability ) You are best booking via the hotel itself as they guaranteed the room upgrade at time of booking. Parking at the hotel is priced at £7.50 with access to the hotel from the car park Breakfast was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and I am happy no note that you were satisfied with the facilities and the service provided. We are looking forward to see you again soon. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

checked in the above hotel for new years eve with our 2 year old daughter my main meal was not forthcoming my wife went looking for a waiter when it arrived it was cold my 2 year old daughters dessert did not arrive to which i made a formal complaint at the reception and was given a refund for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our New Years Eve Gala Dinner. I am sorry that you felt that you did not receive the same quality service that the hundreds of our other party night guests during the festive season experienced, however I am glad that eventually we managed to come to a... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for one night, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean and warm. Free WiFi and the location couldn't be bettered, it was a 200 yard walk into the main shopping area. We used the leisure facilities which were good. We had a lovely breakfast, well cooked and plenty of choice. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass on your compliments to my staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can imagine this was a stylish hotel a few years ago. it's very central, is reasonably well priced, is clean and offer complimentary wifi (or did on one of my 3 visits). breakfast is okay though the decor is dated, especially in the rooms. Hardly one to write home about but a passable place to put your head down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing our hotel, My staff and I appreciate feedback from our guests. We hope we can welcome you back for any future stays in Chester Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay