We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Chester hotels

Crowne Plaza Chester

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Chester to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chester
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
82%
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
birminghamgirl27 Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    323
    100
    27
    21
See reviews for
111
447
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed at this hotel for few days. Very clean and well presented hotel! Breakfast was brilliant and so was the two waitress in the breakfast area! The staff member Ann behind the hot breakfast was amazing for her customer service. Making omlettes for my father for breakfast nice touch to the whole guest experience! Rooms was cleaned well, fresh towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose to stay at Chester en route home after Liverpool and decided on the crown plaza. The hotel is situated two minutes walk from the city centre and five from the hop on hop off bus. Parking is available but again you have to pay£1 o per night which is a bit of a rip off. For business users... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall.I take on board your comments in terms of parking charges, however we are the cheapest hotel car park in Chester & considerably cheaper than any council carpark nearby (for 24hours parking) I am also pleased... More

Heytesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A convenient location for the historic Centre of Chester, but really bleak surroundings-very unattractive concrete sixties buildings. Felt a bit unsafe at night. Bedroom was fine, the bathroom a little tired. Horrible characterless bar - cavernous, dreadful lighting, no atmosphere. As I said nothing really wrong with the hotel, but........ Just OK!

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, Its good to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, and I take on board your comments in relation to the bar area & external surroundings of the hotel. I hope your experience doesnt deter you from staying with us at Crowne Plaza in the future. Kind... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has everything required for a 4 star hotel. What we like best was their location. very convenient to explore central Chester. Parking can be tricky, you will need a scratch card at reception to park in nearby car park when the hotel car park is full. I think the area has a sewer issue, there was a bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, Its pleasing to hear you have enjoyed your stay & I have followed up your feedback in relation to the "smell in the air" There has been an issue recently in the entire city of Chester, from a nearby waste management site. We have been reliably informed... More

Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As a platinum member of the IHG rewards system I have booked this hotel a few months ago for a 3 night stay in September on a bed, breakfast and evening meal stay basis as part of our 30th wedding anniversary. (We are staying in the Birmingham Crowne Plaza as part of our celebration next month also). The cost via... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your future reservation with us. As a valued member of our IHG rewards club, Its disapointing to hear your frustrations with our booking conidtions & rates. With the information you have given, I am under the impression that you have booked an advance purchase rate, as opposed to our flexible rate.... More

uttoxeter
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night at this hotel they staff were great especially a man on reception i think his name was Daniel, he was very helpful. The view from the restaurant was great in the morning you could see for miles. We ate in the restaurant which was very good but it was slightly slow service saying that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, What a wonderful review to read, Thankyou! Its brilliant to hear Daniel made such a positive impact to your stay. I will be sure to congratulate him personally. I appreciate your understanding in terms of the speed of service in the restaurant, however I have passed over... More

Kent
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chester is well worth a visit and this Hotel is perfectly located. The staff were all wonderful and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was wonderful. The bed was comfy, rooms and communal areas, very clean and tidy. We had use of the 'club room' which serves non alcoholic refreshments 24/7 and beer, wine and vodka&tonic with a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester, It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & that you found the staff helpful throughout your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne plaza in the future Kind Regards... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent the w/e at the Crowne Plaza Chester and have to say the service cannot be faulted it was 1st Class the staff could not do enough for you. Especially Chris Loyd on the reception a real gem. The hotel is a funny old shape reception, lounges and exit/entrance all on different floors, thank goodness for the lifts. Its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester, What a fantastic review!! Thankyou! I will be sure to pass over your comments to Chris & the team. I take on board your comments in terms of our bedrooms, and I'm pleased to inform you that we are currently in the planning stages of... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In a city full of olde worlde charm this centrally located new hotel, literally five minutes from the cathedral with parking and swimming pool, extremely comfortable huge double bed, is a very good place to stay. Book early and it is very good value. Staff very friendly. Really liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester, It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay & made use of our fantastic position in the city, along with you taking advantage of advance purchase rates which are excellent value for money. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback, I... More

Formby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on a Saturday night in a club room. I did struggle a bit with he specifics of the 'club' upgrade but eventually established it means your room card can access the club lounge which is available with unlimited refreshments 24hrs a day and from 5pm till 8pm it then includes alcoholic drinks and canapes. Its all self service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester, It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and managed to look around our historic city. I have passed over your comments in relation to the Club Lounge to our reception manager to ensure all of our guests are informed of the benefits of booking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chester with
any amenities