We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chester Recorder House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Chester Recorder House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #13 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rob I Derby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    60
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
193
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B is in a fantastic location for people wanting to explore historic and modern Chester. The front door opens on to the city wall, go one way and it takes you to the Roman amphitheatre and the other takes you to the castle, military museum and the racecourse. The back door provides easy access to the main shopping area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for all your positive comments. Sorry about the floorboards - unfortunately not a lot we can do about this. Hopefully the views and the lovely room more than made up for it. More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on 7th and found the whole experience faultless. Very friendly owners and a fantastic location . Really nice freshly cooked breakfast and spotlessly clean room, although only few minutes from city centre it was as peaceful as you could get. Will definitely be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for this - it is much appreciated and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay More 

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a perfect location for visiting Chester, right on the wall. Room and bathroom were rather small with not much room to store the empty suitcases or all the clothes. Breakfast was good and plenty. Parking was fine. WIFI did not work on Laptop (windows) but OK on IPad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crossford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent the weekend in the Recorder Hotel Chester for the weekend. All I can say is "what a place". Fiona and Adrian the owners were without doubt "mine hosts". The house itself is rather quaint and quirky. Being right on the wall overlooking the river made for a peaceful interesting weekend. We had the executive room with the four... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and myself have just returned home from a lovely weekend in the Recorder house chester bed and breakfast we stayed in the Scorpio room (room5) it was a lovely bright room,the bathroom was on the small side but clean with plenty of hot water and lovely little extras lots of fresh towels ect .The owners were lovely nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We always read reviews before booking so was looking forward to our couple of days in Chester at the Recorder Hotel. However, on arrival first impression was disappointment. The room we were shown was really small and nothing like any of the pictures on the web site. Good points were that it was clean, fabulous location and a nice view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. Our rooms do vary in size as might be expected from a grade 2 listed, quirky, building. We have inherited pictures from the previous owner and in fact there are only 3 rooms shown out of the 9 available, but having decorated several rooms, are hoping to add more photos in... More 

Warrington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

This is a fabulous place to stay in Chester .Centrally located, easy to find, parking available and nice friendly welcome. Room was spotlessly clean with great view overlooking the river. Bed nice and comfy. Bathroom good size. Really good choice for breakfast. It was nice and fresh and cooked to order. Ten out of ten !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for these comments - and the ten out of ten!! More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We have no negatives whatsoever. We searched long and hard to find a lovely B&B for a weekend away and we was not dissopointed !! We arrived several hours before check in (normally at 2pm) and was warmly welcomed by Fiona who gladly showed us straight up to our room... :) We were instantly made to feel very welcome and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments - we hope to see you back again sometime More 

Upminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Hard to know what to start eulogising about first! Small and personal, brilliant location with its front door actually on the walls, a comfortable room, historical connections to the original Recorder steps, interesting features in the rooms. Plus there is its central location, inside the Chester walls, and it does also have some parking. Breakfast was very nice and lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The quirkiness of our rooms is what gives the Recorder House its character and receives a lot of positive comments from guests. Yes you can watch the TV from the bed and there is also a stand you can put it on to swing it out of the cupboard!. Room temperature is a very personal... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Just got back from a short break at the Recorder House in Chester. Situated right on the wall with lovely views of the river from the front rooms and very close to all the shops and resturants. Furnished with beautiful old furniture and lots of original features, it's full of character. We had a large room with a king size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Positive comments like this make it all worthwhile. Thank you and hope to see you again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay