We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chester Recorder House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Chester Recorder House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #13 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
benjonesChester chester
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    58
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
189
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
chester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My girlfriend and myself have just returned home from a lovely weekend in the Recorder house chester bed and breakfast we stayed in the Scorpio room (room5) it was a lovely bright room,the bathroom was on the small side but clean with plenty of hot water and lovely little extras lots of fresh towels ect .The owners were lovely nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always read reviews before booking so was looking forward to our couple of days in Chester at the Recorder Hotel. However, on arrival first impression was disappointment. The room we were shown was really small and nothing like any of the pictures on the web site. Good points were that it was clean, fabulous location and a nice view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. Our rooms do vary in size as might be expected from a grade 2 listed, quirky, building. We have inherited pictures from the previous owner and in fact there are only 3 rooms shown out of the 9 available, but having decorated several rooms, are hoping to add more photos in... More 

Warrington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fabulous place to stay in Chester .Centrally located, easy to find, parking available and nice friendly welcome. Room was spotlessly clean with great view overlooking the river. Bed nice and comfy. Bathroom good size. Really good choice for breakfast. It was nice and fresh and cooked to order. Ten out of ten !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for these comments - and the ten out of ten!! More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have no negatives whatsoever. We searched long and hard to find a lovely B&B for a weekend away and we was not dissopointed !! We arrived several hours before check in (normally at 2pm) and was warmly welcomed by Fiona who gladly showed us straight up to our room... :) We were instantly made to feel very welcome and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments - we hope to see you back again sometime More 

Upminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hard to know what to start eulogising about first! Small and personal, brilliant location with its front door actually on the walls, a comfortable room, historical connections to the original Recorder steps, interesting features in the rooms. Plus there is its central location, inside the Chester walls, and it does also have some parking. Breakfast was very nice and lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The quirkiness of our rooms is what gives the Recorder House its character and receives a lot of positive comments from guests. Yes you can watch the TV from the bed and there is also a stand you can put it on to swing it out of the cupboard!. Room temperature is a very personal... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Just got back from a short break at the Recorder House in Chester. Situated right on the wall with lovely views of the river from the front rooms and very close to all the shops and resturants. Furnished with beautiful old furniture and lots of original features, it's full of character. We had a large room with a king size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Positive comments like this make it all worthwhile. Thank you and hope to see you again soon More 

Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Beautiful building located directly on the walls with lots of character and history. Our top floor room had a fabulous river view from the large bay window and was very comfortable. Owners were very friendly and helpful and provided a good breakfast choice. Parking was available and our room was ready even though we arrived early. A great choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I still love the view from that room! Not a lot we can do about the height of the shower, I'm afraid, but I am glad that eberything else made for an enjoyable stay More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

What else can I say. Large comfortable room with fab views. Brilliant location. Old characterful house with loads of original features including slopping floors. Great breakfast - couldn't do it proper justice as too full from evening meal. Would recommend it to anybody and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

A very warm welcome from the owners who took us up to the room that was bright and airy. Very nicely decorated and well laid out with a large en-suite tucked away in the corner. A nice size and lovely comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities and also nice to read a little bit of the history of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for these comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Chester Recorder House did well in some places and not so great in others. In short: - Fab location, slap bang on the Historic Walls. Open the front door and you're right there, in the middle of it all, with a great view of the river. - The B&B had a great historic feel to it, with many original features,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

Thank you for all your positive comments. I am sorry the breakfast wasn't quite to your husband's taste - pity he didn't say something and we would have tried to help, as we have had many very good reviews about our breakfasts. We are aware of poor pressure with the shower at times - a combination of several people using... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question