We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Chester hotels

Belgrave

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Belgrave to your Saves list
Belgrave
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
44%
Ranked #37 of 45 hotels in Chester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014
Loubird123 Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (13)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (14)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    15
    8
    28
See reviews for
5
20
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I paid for the room up front at reception before I was handed the keys, this was my second mistake, usually I check this site before I book any accommodation, this was last minute and I failed to do so at my cost, room 23 I stayed in £59 , double room, green bathroom, no shower, room a 70's throw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry that you weren't happy with your room which was a Triple Room when you only paid for a Double Room. The only complaint we received was on your departure, if you had told us you were not happy with a bath we could have accommodated you in another room with a shower. If at any time during... More

Cheshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the staff seem friendly enough. Bedroom was ok but smelt damp, but the most surprising thing and uncomfortable thing was the men/man drinking in the bar, he seems to be a residence of the hotel, he was very loud and quiet disrespectful of his family and staff. At this point I wanted to leave the hotel, but as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel was pretty much as expected given how little I paid! Having worked in Chester I used to walk past this hotel daily so I knew it wasn't going to be anything special, however I just wanted a cheap bed after a night out which I would barely be spending any time there so this fitted the bill. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here New Year's Eve. The staff were lovely but as for our room its was terrible. The room was outdated and had a musky smell. The room was so cold we was shivering. I asked the staff when the heating would come on and was told it would be on later. The Heating then came on for one hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, however your friend has been here on several occasions and she has never complained before, and didn't make any complaint over the New Year period. The price you paid was for a double room with two people sharing. The hotel was full on New Years Eve and we had no other... More

Caersws, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Spent one night in room 20 which I thought was very small even for a single. Sheets were clean, towels were clean but oh dear me I must have had THE most uncomfortable, creaky mattress in all of Chester! I'm sure springs went out when I was a child. On the plus side it was very handy for the train... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable, if we had known sooner we could have changed it for you. Hope to see you again More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Plus points: Friendly staff, proximity to the city and station. Negatives: Got the last room on a Saturday night and it showed. Tiny garret attic room with a rickety camp bed that wobbled and felt like it would collapse any minute. Well worn carpet, old sheets, malfunctioning TV, terribly dim lighting ( there was even an old lamp standard dumped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your room. All the rooms are cleaned on a regular basis and laundry is sent out to a laundry service. The bed in the room is a solid pine bed. There is a standard size shower cubicle en suite. We have had no complaints in the past about the windows not closing... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked a room with 'Booking.com' on 4/11/13. The room was Stinking Dirty, I wouldn't let my dog stay there, as soon as I arrived the next room was playing loud music, I tried to move rooms and was told none left? They said they would knock and tell them to turn the Rave Music down? I said I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We were unaware of the loud noise coming from that room until we were informed and once we were aware, the situation was dealt with. All our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and the laundry is sent out to a laundry service. If you had given us the chance we would have moved you to another room More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stopped here on a Saturday night, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, letting us into the room before out check in time so we could make a full day of the Chester Experience. Would recommend to all my friends, lovely place to sleep and all the amenities were to hand. Breakfast was scrummy :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here under the council, we've found its dirty unclean and that bath had stains and fag burns on it the toilet blocks up there's many on going problems with the heating so we were freezing at night due to that problem no bath or shower facility's were available, me and my partner sleep in a way that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

The rooms are cleaned each day and the cleaners knock the door and call out before entering all rooms. All residents are asked to leave the hotel at 11 am so that all rooms can be cleaned. The first room you were allocated had a shower but because of your situation were moved to a room with a bath. There... More

Bexhill
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a small male cycle club (5 only) and each year we spend 3 days cycling around different parts of the country. This is our 16th year so have stayed in Hotels/B&B of all shapes and sizes. Our normal spend is £35.00 - £40.00 max per night so we where looking forward to something special for the £50.00 requested... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Belgrave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Belgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave

Also Known As:
Belgrave Hotel
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotelsclick.com Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
34

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.