We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Chester hotels

Belgrave

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Belgrave to your Saves list
Belgrave
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
42%
Ranked #39 of 44 hotels in Chester
  • Overview
  • Reviews (96)
  • Photos (12)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    17
    8
    33
See reviews for
5
22
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have no idea why there are bad reviews, this place is perfect for a stay in Chester. 30 secs from the station, 15 min from the racecourse. The room was clean, TV, ensuite etc........the staff were very helpful. If you want a more modern place, pay 80quid and go to the travel lodge. The bad reviews on this page... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon More

Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fawlty towers . Just had a weekend here with partner . No sink plug . Shower not working properly . Iron a health risk . Manager attitude was rude , both to staff and clients . No vegetarian option at breakfast even thou was told there would be . Toilet cracked . Would be better off booking into the public... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A real life fawlty towers..no plug in the sink which was next to the bed, poor shower, cracked toilet. The iron was a health hazard as the lead had been repaired in three places with gaffer tape. There were no mattress or pillow protectors. The wardrobe had a previous guests dirty jumper in it. But the worst thing was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here as a young woman on my own in a single room. I booked it because its so close to the train station and I didn't want to struggle too far with my luggage in the evening. Got there and despite my room being on the second floor with no lift there was no offer of help with all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was disgrace, dirty smell, and looks like it had not been updated since the seventies. The shower in the room did not work and the rooms were smelly, (the smell was making my wife gag, while cleaning her teeth) all the furniture was old and tatty, even in the public bar. While having a drink at the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Belgrave is just yards from the railway station which is so convenient for train travellers like me. It's also just around ten minutes' walk from the glorious Chester city centre and its historic Roman walls. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. I couldn't fault anything during my stay here. Breakfasts were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a disgrace well over priced,wires hanging out in the room,dirty and smells!!me and my friend payed on our cards and used chip and pin we didnt feel to happy about paying for the room as it was not worth the money,the day after we got home we had the same money taken out of our accounts from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

When you arrived at the hotel both you and your friend paid separately on credit cards for a Twin Room (2 people). Not once during your stay did you complain about your room. In the morning two gentlemen were confronted on reception and gave your friends name and room number and said that she had told them she had paid... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

arrived teatime, staff was friendly and sorted us a room,and showed us the room before we decided. A double bedroom cost us £65 for the night with breakfast so it wasnt tòo bad. The room was basic, and in need of updating, especially the lamp shade in room 11,but the bedding was clean and the towels were clean,and soap was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Chester and hope to see you again More

Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I'm not quick to judge when it comes to reviews on this website and I was not put off by the bad reviews by other members because I have experienced lovely hotels that were scorned by bad press on TripAdvisor. However, I was genuinely disappointed with this hotel, especially for the price we paid. Me and 2 friends stayed over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

The cost £ 75.00 for a Triple Room, works out to £ 25.00 per person. As to the room being small it is approx 26 sq metres and there are three single beds in the room. Unfortunately a client had burnt the carpet and we had been unable to replace it at short notice. More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Where do I start, there are so many things wrong with this hotel. We made our way up to room 29 and when walking through the door I could tell that part of the hotel was really cold compared to the rest. The central heating wasn't on so we complained to who I think was the owner and asked to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

When you booked into the hotel you were given a Double Room as requested, however your friends were in a Triple Room which we can use as Double or Twin. When you realised this you asked to swap to a bigger room, however we were full and could not accommodate you elsewhere. The windows are left open when the cleaners... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Belgrave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Belgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chester with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer