We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belgrave

City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    33
    25
    13
    40
See reviews for
7
30
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on Saturday 15th of August as party of a small stag do party. My immediate impression upon arriving was how dated everything looked. Lady on reception was pleasant and helpful. I made my way to the room and was greeted by the smell of damp as I walked in. There were visible signs of damp on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel as a solo traveller on my first visit to Chester. I was not impressed...my room was at the very top of the hotel with a single bed which was sagging on one side. The cleanliness of the room was very suspicious with marks in the toilet and on the bed covers. I had booked Bed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my son stayed here for 1 night and have to say were quite pleased with it. As we have no car it is a convenient base if on public transport as stones throw from train station & a bus takes you to city centre, drops off same stop as sight seeing tour bus. Yes, it is basic &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and helpful. A good location and pleasant communal rooms. Breakfast simple but good value. The poor grading is due to the very old furnishing in our twin room. Bed cover was worn and dirty, blanket had hairs on it and air vent over toilet spewed out soot. There was no bedside light.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I booked a single room here for one night. The hotel is really close to the station. Check in was lovely. I was told I was not to bring anyone back to my room and that aims was the only female booked in. Hint to reception, as a single female that is not a good thing to hear. For the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

I will do my best to be objective. We booked two double rooms for Friday 26 June. The prices were virtually doubled from 59.00 to 90.00 per room per night, no breakfast, as it was a race night. Upon arrival we checked in and went to our rooms. Sadly they were unfit for public use. The toilets was filthy, clearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

I would like to point out that Catherine is not the Manager and never once implied that she was. When Mr Graham Joy arrived at the hotel he made it quite clear that as he was in the business he wanted a nice room and that he had already paid. Catherine showed him the authorisation and explained that it was... More 

wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Myself and 5 friends stayed 23 May 2015:and although the hotel is dated the rooms were clean, linen and towels were also clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Avoid this hotel I'm in the process of making a claim with my credit card company as Mr Sharma took unauthorised payment and when challenged about became rude and aggressive (very easy to do over the phone doubt he would be face to face) I spoke to a very pleasant and helpful lady called Cathy about the problem and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We did explain to you on the telephone that money would be taken if you did not cancel the room. We were not advised of any cancellation so we took payment as this is our policy More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here on the Saturday of the Easter Weekend. We found the staff lovely, so handy for the train station and city centre. We really enjoyed our cooked breakfast in the morning it was lovely and real value for money. We have recommended it to all friends and family and are planning on coming back soon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to seeing you again More 

Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

After reading other reviews on the belgrave in Chester I was in two minds weather I wanted to stay here.im GLAD I DID. I cant believe half of what people have put on here just to be nasty. I arrived at 2 pm on Saturday and was welcomed with a smile from a lovely lady on reception.my room was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and hope to see you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North
Days Hotel Chester North
#31 of 46 in Chester
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#12 of 46 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#4 of 46 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay