We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belgrave

Hotel website
City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belgrave
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Belgrave
Share an Experience

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    23
    10
    36
See reviews for
5
24
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get what you pay for at this hotel: it's cheap, very close to the station and has a quirky charm. And cheap. The restaurant and foyer are clean and tidy with lots if painted black beams in the walls and character (which I like). The single room I had was 'compact and bijou' but was sufficient, if slightly garish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penrith
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

The reviews of this Hotel really upset me. They show no understanding of that very true saying 'you get what you pay for'. I found the hotel to be somewhat better than I expected given the price. I have paid only £2s less for a hostel before! The rating is based on the price and , in terms of value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. Hope everything went well. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Complete utter disgrace! I would love to no how the local council is allowin this place to trade?? Oh and i will be contacting them. Not going to go in full detail has i am so stressed after the weekend there. The smell was unbelivable. staff!! Well they got a JOB! In a complete hole!! Please dont waste ur hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ireland / Christchurch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

This is the dirtiest place I ever stayed in, in gods name how can this place be passed as a hotel.i was scared to have a shower and had difficulty trying to squeeze in to the area of the toilet bowl. floor boards creeking,. no bedside lamp .we left this place feeling dirty.never again.The only good thing was it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This hotel is terrible it was the start of November and they had We payed £85 for this room which was terrible I wouldnt pay £20 for it and theres no way im staying here again. There was no double glazing so it was freezing all night and you could hear all the traffic all night. The covers were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with. Our heating is on a timer system, which is on in the mornings and evenings. If you had informed us of any problems you were experiencing, we would have done our best to resolve them for you. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We stayed here after a night out for a friends birthday. It did the job as a bed for the night, the room was cosy. The decor is a little dated but the room was clean which was the main thing. The guy was friendly enough. Location was excellent for the train station and city centre. We opted to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again if you are ever in Chester. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I stayed at Belgravia froo 3 nights. After reading some reviews I was rather cautious, but I did not need to be. OK The hotel does need a makeover but my room (room 4 also reviewed by someone else) was fine and clean. The breakfast was excelent, especially the coffee. I have paid about £2. for a coffee much worse,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Reception at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Belgrave and hope that if you are in Chester again you will choose to stay with us once more. More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

As apart of the 20 man stag do in September I confirm the statue killer is still at large and the murder weapon still lost so the question remains where's wally. I have to say seriously how can you blame us when there were local druggies and prostitutes being housed there also how can the manager be so bossy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I picked this hotel for location and price. The only good thing about this hotel was its convenient location, soft fluffy towels and the staff were very nice. Otherwise a tired dingy hotel with wallpaper peeling off the walls and ceilings and shabby carpets and bed furnishings. The bathroom seemed clean but was desperately in need of refurbishment. The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

The Belgrave Murder We stayed for one night last Saturday and became unknowingly implicated in a ‘murder investigation’. Turned out that a group of around 20 lads had booked a lot of rooms and were on a stag-do. After a more than slight hefty night out, one of the men had allegedly ‘brutally murdered’ a statue resembling the Goddess Aphrodite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
sancastle, Reception at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can only apologise for the incident that occurred with the large group whilst you were staying at the hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question