We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belgrave

City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belgrave
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Belgrave
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    33
    24
    10
    40
See reviews for
6
29
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a single room here for one night. The hotel is really close to the station. Check in was lovely. I was told I was not to bring anyone back to my room and that aims was the only female booked in. Hint to reception, as a single female that is not a good thing to hear. For the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I will do my best to be objective. We booked two double rooms for Friday 26 June. The prices were virtually doubled from 59.00 to 90.00 per room per night, no breakfast, as it was a race night. Upon arrival we checked in and went to our rooms. Sadly they were unfit for public use. The toilets was filthy, clearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

I would like to point out that Catherine is not the Manager and never once implied that she was. When Mr Graham Joy arrived at the hotel he made it quite clear that as he was in the business he wanted a nice room and that he had already paid. Catherine showed him the authorisation and explained that it was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Myself and 5 friends stayed 23 May 2015:and although the hotel is dated the rooms were clean, linen and towels were also clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Avoid this hotel I'm in the process of making a claim with my credit card company as Mr Sharma took unauthorised payment and when challenged about became rude and aggressive (very easy to do over the phone doubt he would be face to face) I spoke to a very pleasant and helpful lady called Cathy about the problem and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We did explain to you on the telephone that money would be taken if you did not cancel the room. We were not advised of any cancellation so we took payment as this is our policy More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here on the Saturday of the Easter Weekend. We found the staff lovely, so handy for the train station and city centre. We really enjoyed our cooked breakfast in the morning it was lovely and real value for money. We have recommended it to all friends and family and are planning on coming back soon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to seeing you again More 

Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

After reading other reviews on the belgrave in Chester I was in two minds weather I wanted to stay here.im GLAD I DID. I cant believe half of what people have put on here just to be nasty. I arrived at 2 pm on Saturday and was welcomed with a smile from a lovely lady on reception.my room was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and hope to see you again More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Located a couple of hundred metres from the station and with on street parking limited to one hour during the day, your faced with a £6 cost for using one of the station car parks. It is a pleasant walk along the canal and through the wall by the cathedral to get into the city. The staff were very pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

All I can say it was disgusting, bathroom carpet was dirty, walls dirty, rude staff when made a polite complaint got told it was our fault things were wrong with room, couldn't wait to leave, won't be staying there again unless it gets new owners and make over

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I have stayed in many hotels and this has got to be the worst. It was awful, there was no mirror in the room, only in the shower room with no plug sockets near by. The shower room had a mouldy stained carpet and the shower was either scolding hot or freezing cold, when I tried to turn the nob... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

You get what you pay for at this hotel: it's cheap, very close to the station and has a quirky charm. And cheap. The restaurant and foyer are clean and tidy with lots if painted black beams in the walls and character (which I like). The single room I had was 'compact and bijou' but was sufficient, if slightly garish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 46 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#30 of 46 in Chester
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
5.3 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North
Days Hotel Chester North
#31 of 46 in Chester
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay