We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    306
    184
    84
    56
See reviews for
71
571
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (955)
  • Mar-May only
    (299)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (236)
All months
Liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

love this hotel . been many times . Only thing that lets it down is thee breakfast experience . The resturant manager is very charming and then forgets about you! We had to ask to order after 45minutes .We were not the only ones who had this experience other guest had to chase his to get his attention. As i... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very pleased with this hotel. Centrally located lovely room with a great coffee making machine. Staff courteous & friendly even the maintenance man came to our room to help check our laptop when the wi fi was playing up then the morning we left he helped take our heavy suitcases to the taxi We would happily stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely stay in Chester to see the Three Queens in Liverpool. It was so nice we never got to Liverpool and explored Chester instead. A fabulous location in the centre the only difficulty was following the sat nav and trying to find the Grosvenor Shopping centre car park. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went the extra mile... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a gem of a find, we are just sorry our stay was only one night but such was the experience we will be planning a return visit. We had been to Manchester for Take That the night before and this was an add on. We visited Cheshire Oaks too. The hotel was so relaxing and friendly. Drinks a bit... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very Noisy outside and the hotel needs a complete renovation. Great staff but the rooms are not very clean and not having things such as shampoo is not good enough. Macdonald hotels are good but not this one.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-trent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay in this hotel was very nice we checked in and was told we had been upgraded to executive suite which was very nice, staff were very polite and helpful. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside was the noise from the Main Street from people coming out of nightclub but it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shrewsbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent location, lovely staff, delicious food, clean room....what more can you ask for! Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were so helpful with any request you had & made you feel that you were very valued & welcome. Thank-you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although the staff were excellent and very helpful, we would advise against the small £17.50 breakfast! The next day we found a small cafe which served a Lite Breakfast for £4.95 which was much larger than the one in the hotel!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JH Thank You for your review of the New Blossoms, I am pleased that my excellent staff looked after you, it was a shame that you did not take advantage of our extensive continental and cooked breakfast. Kind Regards Steve More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Right in the centre of Chester ...good hotel staff very pleasant and breakfast good ...no toasting machine thank goodness ..They bring toast to your table which is much nicer . Hotel is a very old building and rooms are clean and comfortable and modern considering the age of the building

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynda5762, Many Thanks for your kind review of the Historic New Blossoms Hotel, really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope to see you back here real soon. Best Wishes Steve Burley More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked an executive king room, disappointed to pay £190 to find no bath, water pressure was terrible and dribbled out of the shower. Toilet just about flushed. The room was small compared to others we have stayed in. Nespresso machine was not working. 1st floor at the front of the building with a taxi rank just below the window. Basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wils04, Thank You for your review of the New Blossoms, I always appreciate feedback from my Guests and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Could I ask that you contact me on my email gm.blossoms@macdonald-hotels.co.uk so that I can address the issues that you have raised. Kind Regards Steve Burley More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay