We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rowton Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Whitchurch Road | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rowton Hall Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rowton Hall Hotel
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    100
    35
    23
    14
See reviews for
96
251
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (536)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My mam and I booked to stay at Rowton Hall through Secret Escapes at the beginning of December to finish off our Christmas shopping at Cheshire Oaks. The little village of Rowton looked very nice, and at the end of the country lane you find this fantastic hotel. Arriving at around 6.30pm, the hotel was all lit up with fairy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just got back from an excellent week end break at this family run hotel. We wanted to chlll -and we did. The rooms were lovely as was the food and the staff were really helpful. There was a christmas party for a works group, most of whom decided to go into dinner 40 minutes later than their booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my wife recently stayed at Rowton Hall for a couple of nights while carrying out our shopping expedition at Cheshire Oaks. We arrived on the Friday evening and booked in at reception. The receptionist was pleasant enough but information regarding facilities, especially the spa, should be given upon arrival....instead of "your room is down the corridor on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely time here and hope it stays this way. It appears to be a privately owned hotel who are making a good go of it, and as such it has a more personal touch than other places and I like that. My concern is that it’s not far away from becoming a bit tired and tatty. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed as I was attending an evening wedding reception. Our bedroom was lovely. Very comfortable and cozy. However there was an ironing board propped up outside our door and an iron left on the floor for the duration of our stay (there the next morning too). When we arrived at 7pm to get to our room we walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you to the Wigginton family, and all the incredible staff, for looking after us at our wedding this weekend, on many occasions they all went above and beyond the call of duty. Fabulous spa, very professional team, who clearly know their stuff, beat Champneys hands down. We could not have asked for anything more wonderful, Charlotte and Laurence a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just spent a few days at Rowton Hall attending a friends Wedding. During which time we felt thoroughly spoilt. From the moment we arrived the combination of excellent service, fabulous food, beautiful rooms and excellent Staff, surpassed our expectations. We indulged in Spa Treatments too... Amazing !! We will be back....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through Secret Escapes from Monday 1st December to Thursday. The staff must have been very busy, as I have never seen so many Christmas trees in one hotel. This created a lovely atmosphere and gave this character country hotel a very welcoming feel. Lucky enough to have been given an upgrade to an executive room called Marmaduke. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rowton Hall Hotel is very pleasant with plenty of character. Staff - friendly and there is a good sized conservatory overlooking walled gardens which during our stay has been quiet and is very welcoming ... nice and quiet. The room we have is clean-ish. A clean bath mat used to clear up a little water over-spilled on the floor from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review and your comments 'Rowton Hall Hotel is very pleasant with plenty of character. Staff - friendly and there is a good sized conservatory overlooking walled gardens which during our stay has been quiet and is very welcoming ... nice and quiet.' More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After travelling 200+ miles we were greeted with a freezing room & told the maintenance staff had gone home! Eventually the duty manager came to tap the radiator & confirm it was not working! After being advised all the other rooms were booked we were offered accommodation at an alternative hotel (not acceptable as we were attending a dinner here)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed that your radiator was actually turned off in your room and we are sorry that you arrived to a cold room. Of course it is the fact that the maintenance team had already left but it was equally true that they were called as a matter of urgency and we did infact inform you that whilst you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester

592 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (475)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Double Room (37)
Viewed
Double Room with Bladachin (32)
Viewed
Fairfax Suite (41)
Viewed
Henrietta Maria Master Suite (56)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Gray (44)
Viewed
Lichfield Suite (40)
Viewed
Lord Byron Master Suite (42)
Viewed
Marmaduke Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay