We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Chester B&Bs / inns

The Coach House

Save Saved
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (168)
  • Photos (33)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
The Coach House
Ranked #20 of 80 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    48
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
85
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booied this directnand I asked for a large room we got number 5 it is magnificent giant bed bigscreen tv shower was perfect . Breakfast was great on one morning but leftba lot to be desired the next day . My only complant really was the noise it was very warm there and we had to have the small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in on the off-chance of a meal, with my sister and 2 children. Enquired if children were allowed in for a meal as it was almost 6pm and were not only told that they were, but they would also eat for free as us adults were having a meal too. We had a two course meal at just under... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first thought on the coach house was how perfect it was regards the location. Our room was huge and very pretty. Tea & Coffee was in our room but no milk at hand. Breakfast was very nice and the service was average. The only real down fall was.....don't expect any sleep throughout the night and early hours was terrible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Coach House for 2 nights while visiting Chester. Our room was quite large, very modern, welcoming and spotless. The bathroom had a huge shower and was spotless as well. Check-in can be a little awkward as we had to roll our luggage through the pub looking for the check-in counter....small inconvenience in the scheme of things.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place to stay, right in the heart of the city. Ideal for sightseeing, relaxing. We chose a superior room (which was lush! ) so the street noise was a little less, but the you are in the middle of a city, so that didn't really bother us. All the staff were fab, especially Keely & Sammy. We only ate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for business for two nights and the quality of furnishings and facilities, food and beer were excellent. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was good value and very good quality. Unfortunately the wall between my room and next door was as much use as a shower curtain, the first night I had an elderly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you ever so much for this review. I would like to apologise about the noise you had to put with, We do get very few complaints of such but it is being looked into. If you do ever come back to Chester please do stay with us again and we will try to achieve 4.5 for sure!... More

manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Popped in for a breakfast and so glad we did , it was absolutely delicious we were able to sit outside in the sunshine aswell that made it even better, bacon sausage egg beans black pudding tomato and toast £7.95 including tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hello Miss Boovier! Thank you very much for the review and for the brilliant picture collage you made! I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us. Please come again soon! The Coach House Team More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were welcomed by staff upon arrival, explained free tea/coffee available throughout our stay. Shown to our room which was very clean and spacious. Lovely views to cathedral and square. Food excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff very professional, always smiling. Would thoroughly recommend to friends and family, definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hello Rosie! Thanks so much for this review, you have highlighted many positives which shall all be passed onto our staff. We would love to have you stay with us again! Thank you once more, The Coach House Team More

Allensmore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome, and were shown to our lovely clean room. Tea and coffee was free to guests, and we sat and relaxed in the lounge. I stayed with a friend, and neither of us has a big appetite, so later when ordering food in the evening, the staff very happily split a meal between two plates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hi there. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave this review, it is very much appreciated! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope Leann's advice on what to do in Chester was good! I'm sure it was! Thanks again, The Coach House Inn Team More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

13 of us stayed at the hotel for the weekend and the hotel/pub staff handled us perfectly! The location is amazing --- opposite the cathedral and in a perfect central location. The food --- WOW!! All of us were over the moon with our food and it was extremely well priced! The Welsh lamb sharer dish was particularly fabulous! Hats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hello!! Thank you so much for the review! It really was our pleasure having all 13 of you stay with us! All of our staff said how great you all were to look after. This review has been passed onto them all. It would be great to have you stay with us again. Thanks once more, The Coach House Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chester with
any amenities

Amenities

Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach House provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The nine bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer