We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Vieux Clos

Rue de Mouline, GY6 0SD
Le Vieux Clos
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Guernsey, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying at Le Vieux Clos is like staying with friends. Sally and her family make you feel welcome right from the start and nothing is too much trouble for them. We've stayed several years in a row in a large group with lots of small children and Sally has catered for all our needs every time, despite the chaos we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a fun weekend and we really enjoyed seeing you all again. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our very favourite place to stay in Sark. Sally, Peter and their family have become friends and I now regard this as a home from home. Sally's cooking is wonderful. Breakfasts feature the Bailiwick's finest sausages. The garden is enchanting and a great place for lunch or a cool refreshing drink in the sunshine. A wide variety of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you Jenny. It was lovely to see you and William again! More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We regularly lunch at this delightful property when on Sark. The food is all homegrown and homemade. Simplicity and quality are the keynote words. The quiche is gorgeous. Lobster and Crab are simply prepared and delicious. Good food needs nothing or taking away. The company of a suitably tatty and friendly dog was much appreciated. The garden was alum with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed the food.The garden has been looking particularly pretty this year and it is very good to see that the bees are back in force. The tatty dog sends his regards! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Had to write a review on this beautiful bed and breakfast! It's delightful and friendly hospitality was abundant!! My 5year old daughter and I stayed in room 3 with modern en suite. Our room was clean, comfortable and very quiet. We enjoyed delicious homemade breakfast with local sausage and bacon and traditional homemade wholesome foods for dinner with locally sourced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We really enjoyed meeting you both. More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I am part of a band and live in Guernsey. 5 of us headed to Sark for a gig on Saturday and we spent the night at Le Vieux Clos. Comfortable, cosy, homely place - complete with lovely proprietors. It felt as though we had stepped back in time....charming place. Clean rooms, great views and a lovely full breakfast. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We did not stay here as we were only day trippers, but we found it ideal to stop off for a late lunch. The place certainly has character and lots of folk might be put off entering the garden! We had home made chouder and it really hit the spot! Sark is a delightful place to visit. So tranquil, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My fiancé and I only intended to stay for the day in Sark from Guernsey, but after being charmed by the locals and making friends, we changed our tickets to the next day, then as an after thought tried to find accommodation. What made this particularly difficult was that we had a husky with us. Luckily for us, our new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Unfortunately, it was not stated that a dog would be present when making a reservation-not good for people with allergies! The room was full of a musty damp smell also not good!and evidence of that showing on the outside wall, ....room unclean, bathroom unclean with a towel that actually had black handprints on .. I will not continue , rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

'Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review but there are a few points that I must correct. We are a dog friendly establishment, always have been, always will be and this is clearly stated on the Sark website.There is even a pet friendly logo on the site. Towels for the room that you were meant to be... More 

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have just had a spur of the moment trip to Sark and had a lovely stay at Le Vieux Clos. Sally and Peter are very accomodating and friendly and her full English breakfast is freshly cooked to order and very tasty. We had a nice en-suite at front of house which was spotlessly clean. Ashley the little Jack is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you Angela, it was a pleasure to meet you both! More 

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Le Vieux Clos reminded me of B&Bs from my childhood but despite the rather tired surroundings Sally the owner couldn't have been more welcoming and it was nice to have a good chat about island life. We had an evening meal of well-cooked local sea bass that was very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
9.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sark
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel
St. Pierre Park Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Fregate Hotel
La Fregate Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities