We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Sark B&Bs / inns

Le Vieux Clos

Rue de Mouline, GY6 0SD
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (16)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • More
Le Vieux Clos
Ranked #4 of 9 Sark B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sark
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked literally the whole B&B, as a large group of us (4 families and 3 couples), stayed during the Sark Folk Festival. We were well looked after and well catered for. Breakfast (you can order pretty much anything) every morning, gave us enough fuel to last us until the mid afternoon and the BBQs (first and last night) was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We've just spent two nights in Le Vieux Clos on Sark and will definitely go back. We had an upstairs ensuite room at the front of the house, which felt spacious with its high ceiling. It is definitely a B&B, maybe not as modern in style as some of the very expensive hotels on the island, but clean, comfy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

What can I say. This is my 4th stay at Le Vieux Clos and yet again the experience was truly magical. From the breakfast in the morning to the evening meal and the excellent facilities I have felt home from home time and again. Peter and Sally are so accomodating and to my experience can never do enough for me.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our second stay with the Hutchins and we found them just as friendly and accommodating as last year. It was nice to watch the Channel Island TV and catch up with local news. Sally immediately brought more herbal tea bags when I asked for them. Also milk. She is an excellent cook and the full English breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiji
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I hate to leave such a negative review, but unfortunately we were really disappointed at our stay at Le Vieux Clos. It took the shine off an otherwise lovely visit to Sark. We would have moved if we could, but other B&Bs on Sark were full, and the nearby Stocks Hotel was £220/night, so we decided to stay put! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to place a review, we always welcome feedback from guests.I am very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay even though you left such a positive message in our visitor’s book and I remember that you and your family ate an evening meal here and were kind enough to be complimentary about the... More

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took over the whole of the Guest house for my Hen Weekend. We had warm welcome, easy going atmosphere, and great breakfast. Another great trip had in Sark. A Big thank you to the Hutchins for a great stay the Sarkie way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thanks Sophie! It was a great weekend and we really enjoyed having you all! Regards, Sally Hutchins More

Westport, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The good points. Breakfast. Nicely cooked and the lady took time to chat. The bad points. It was a bit cold and depressing. The rooms were a bit tired. The husband didn't even smile.......Sorry but the other reviews were so positive that this was added for balance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which you say you have added for balance.I am sorry that you didn’t wholly enjoy your stay. You waited a long time to place this review infact, I notice that you reviewed nine places at the same time. I can’t really remember whether the weather was good or bad but July in sark is usually... More

Southampton
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice bed and breakfast in the heart of Sark. Excellent large room with a nice view over the front garden. Breakfast was very nice and the Hutchings are very accommodating. Would definitely recommend as a great place to stay on the island as some of the hotels are a little expensive!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my wife in September. Excellent comfotable room, great breakfasts. We also had two evening meals, really good local fresh food. Wonderful night skies, unbelievably dark at night on this wonderful island. We took the recommended boat trip around the island on the Saturday morning, which was superb.We'll be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Le Vieux Clos is a gem of a place - if you're going to Sark, look no further. We had 5 nights there and it's not long before you slip into the Sark pace of life. On arrival our room keys were out on a table in the conservatory for us, our cases had been carted up Harbour Hill and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Vieux Clos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Vieux Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Clos

Address: Rue de Mouline, GY6 0SD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Clos Sark, Channel Islands

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Known locally as "The Old Doctor's House", Le Vieux Clos is a Georgian style house situated in the middle of the magical island of Sark. Our rooms are elegant and comfortable and we have a beautiful sheltered garden where guest can soak up the peaceful Sark atmosphere. Come and experience the unique way of life, the fresh seafood or take a trip around the island with George, whose knowledge of the coast is phenomenal! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Le Vieux Clos to your Saves list