We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Sark B&Bs / inns

Le Vieux Clos

Save Saved
You added Le Vieux Clos to your Saves list
Rue de Mouline, GY6 0SD
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (21)
  • Photos (9)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • More
Le Vieux Clos
Ranked #5 of 9 Sark B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sark
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An old and sweet place of a time gone by... Rooms were clean and comfy.. the people who run it are lovely :) Breakfast was great and they cooked what ever you like.. for the money its great value.. A nice homely feel....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiancé and I only intended to stay for the day in Sark from Guernsey, but after being charmed by the locals and making friends, we changed our tickets to the next day, then as an after thought tried to find accommodation. What made this particularly difficult was that we had a husky with us. Luckily for us, our new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately, it was not stated that a dog would be present when making a reservation-not good for people with allergies! The room was full of a musty damp smell also not good!and evidence of that showing on the outside wall, ....room unclean, bathroom unclean with a towel that actually had black handprints on .. I will not continue , rather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

'Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review but there are a few points that I must correct. We are a dog friendly establishment, always have been, always will be and this is clearly stated on the Sark website.There is even a pet friendly logo on the site. Towels for the room that you were meant to be... More

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just had a spur of the moment trip to Sark and had a lovely stay at Le Vieux Clos. Sally and Peter are very accomodating and friendly and her full English breakfast is freshly cooked to order and very tasty. We had a nice en-suite at front of house which was spotlessly clean. Ashley the little Jack is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you Angela, it was a pleasure to meet you both! More

London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Le Vieux Clos reminded me of B&Bs from my childhood but despite the rather tired surroundings Sally the owner couldn't have been more welcoming and it was nice to have a good chat about island life. We had an evening meal of well-cooked local sea bass that was very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked literally the whole B&B, as a large group of us (4 families and 3 couples), stayed during the Sark Folk Festival. We were well looked after and well catered for. Breakfast (you can order pretty much anything) every morning, gave us enough fuel to last us until the mid afternoon and the BBQs (first and last night) was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always look forward to your visits as it is always great fun, if a little hectic! See you next year! More

Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We've just spent two nights in Le Vieux Clos on Sark and will definitely go back. We had an upstairs ensuite room at the front of the house, which felt spacious with its high ceiling. It is definitely a B&B, maybe not as modern in style as some of the very expensive hotels on the island, but clean, comfy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

What can I say. This is my 4th stay at Le Vieux Clos and yet again the experience was truly magical. From the breakfast in the morning to the evening meal and the excellent facilities I have felt home from home time and again. Peter and Sally are so accomodating and to my experience can never do enough for me.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our second stay with the Hutchins and we found them just as friendly and accommodating as last year. It was nice to watch the Channel Island TV and catch up with local news. Sally immediately brought more herbal tea bags when I asked for them. Also milk. She is an excellent cook and the full English breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiji
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I hate to leave such a negative review, but unfortunately we were really disappointed at our stay at Le Vieux Clos. It took the shine off an otherwise lovely visit to Sark. We would have moved if we could, but other B&Bs on Sark were full, and the nearby Stocks Hotel was £220/night, so we decided to stay put! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally H, Owner at Le Vieux Clos, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to place a review, we always welcome feedback from guests.I am very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay even though you left such a positive message in our visitor’s book and I remember that you and your family ate an evening meal here and were kind enough to be complimentary about the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Vieux Clos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Vieux Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Clos

Address: Rue de Mouline, GY6 0SD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Clos Sark, Channel Islands

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sark with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Vieux Clos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer