We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lamb Hotel

2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lamb Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    100
    90
    51
    29
See reviews for
41
129
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Lamb for two nights a fortnight go. The room and bathroom were small and somewhat old fashioned but clean. It felt as though they had been renovated on a shoestring. The restaurant is disorganised and many things on the menu were not available and the food, when it arrives, is average. The staff are friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sidcup
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First time at the Lamb and we probably would come again ..waited quite a long time at reception for someone to appear and check us in but when the lady arrived she was friendly and helpful . Our room was lovely , there was a small lounge area and through to the sleeping area with a huge bed which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay that you would return and visit again. I am sorry for the issues you experienced at breakfast, I will speak to the breakfast team to ensure it doesn't happen again. See you soon. Simon and the team at The Lamb More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Sadly this hotel is run on a shoestring. Accommodation was okay but no-one has any idea how to run a restaurant. Customers were walking out without breakfast after waiting an hour to be served. They had run out of all fruit juices and had no cereal bowls left for customers.The evening meals were just as bad, customers were sending back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about your recent experience at The Lamb, we appreciate all of your comments and the issues will be looked into and dealt with to ensure this doesn't happen again. We do hope you will visit us again soon. Simon and the team at The Lamb More 

Travelers are raving about these Ely hotels

cala llonga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a pleasant stay at the hotel. We stayed in room 11 which is very spacious has a four poster bed, large bathroom with separate shower and bath. Only bad point was the full english breakfast but nothing in life is perfect. It would not put us off staying again all the staff are friendly. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, your comments about the breakfast will be passed onto our breakfast chef. We hope to see you again soon. Simon and the team at The Lamb More 

Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I popped into Ely to do errands and thought I would have breakfast at The Lamb. Big mistake. I was shown to a table by staff who informed other staff that I was there for breakfast. I had no menu and no one came, so I went to the air to order. The staff were busy but not friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience with us wasn't a good one, I will use your feedback to ensure that our future guests do not experience the same issues. If you wish to discuss further then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Regards Simon More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My first visit to Ely saw me stay at this fabulous hotel. Conveniently situated near the major attractions - cathedral; Cromwell's house; - it was ideal for a short walk to encounter these. As with the entire town, the staff were immensely helpful & friendly. The rooms were clean & airy, the beds extremely comfortable. Worth noting, there's no lift,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. How lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Lamb, I will share your review with the team who I know will be looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Simon and the team at The Lamb More 

Welford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

what a disappointment. The reception staff on arrival were not particularly welcoming. The restaurant area is tired in appearance. The rooms are grubby, although the bedding is clean, even if the mattress was lumpy. The staff gather on the fire escapes smoking, they also sit outside the main reception from the car park smoking, which is not particularly inviting. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, I will be speaking to the entire team about the issues you have raised to ensure future guests do not experience the same. Regards Simon More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a superior room at £135 on a Saturday night to take part in a triathlon on the Sunday. The good points are the location right in the centre of town and you have immediate access to the pub - the service was great although the food is pretty average. Sadly that's where it stops.The room was tiny, boiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear you enjoyed the service you received, and I will share your review with the team. We are aware that the car park isn't ideal but it is something which is out of our control. We do hope you will visit again. Simon and the team at The Lamb More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wha can I say? This place clearly has a near monopoly on business travellers who need a reasonably priced room in Ely; and as a result pay no attention to what a hotel should be like. Average bar, rough rooms, very basic food and below average service. My advice is to give this place a wide berth - I certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at The Lamb, we do appreciate all feedback and use it to better our offering. We do hope you will try us again. Regards Simon More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very warm and friendly welcome from receptionist, in fact all the female staff were very good. The male staff, all two of them were a pair of scruffy Herbert's and lowered the tone if it is an Hotel then the staff should dress and be groomed appropriately and they were not. The room was large comfortable very nice bathroom, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind words about the majority of the staff. The 2 males who you saw had come to put a delivery away for us and it can be a grubby job, hence the lack of work wear. I will speak to the staff involved to ensure that it is done in a manner which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.2 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
19.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 8 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ely
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Flyer
High Flyer
#28 of 35 in Ely
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#8 of 35 in Ely
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay