We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Ely hotels

Lamb Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lamb Hotel to your Saves list
Lamb Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
44%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ely
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
RobinWhippet Lando, South Carolina
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    74
    65
    36
    22
See reviews for
27
90
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Lando, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Lamb was clean. The staff was helpful. There is no lift and all the rooms are upstairs, but they did carry up our heavy suitcases. The room was very hot and we had to ask the staff to come unlock the windows to open them. Room cooled off quickly after that. Was a bit noisy from outside traffic. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

bad dining experience sat night. my starter was cold and was retuned to me re-heated. my partners main course of steak was not medium to well done but touching on raw. we had eaten here twice before and the food was satisfactory but wont be going again. The waitress who collected our plates was however very polite regarding our issues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I hesitated before booking this hotel as it had such mixed reviews. So when we arrived and received a warm welcome we started to feel a lot happier. It is an old building and the standard of accomodation reflects this but our room was very clean comfortable and we had all we we needed. You are going to get traffic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is incredibly close to Ely Cathedral (one of the most beautiful Norman Cathedrals I have visited in the UK & I'm originally from Durham....that takes some 'conquering'). The Staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and customer focused............from check-in, to a great pub style lunch and bar service, to check out the following morning. Our room was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a Superior room for a long weekend to celebrate a special anniversary. Room was directly on the car park, opening the door to find a car not 2 feet away and the noise of coming and going in the night as "customers" left in the early hours. Bathroom was very good, newly decorated. Bedroom well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There can be no better base to stay in Ely than The Lamb. Our stay has double aspect, a short walk to the best restaurant in town and an even shorter one to the cathedral. be prepared for less than excellent service from the waiting staff - who seem to be either easily distracted or overworked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I have only eaten here, so we cant reveiw the rooms but can only imagine they are as appauling as the following. Anyway, firstly the food.. If I wanted a childs meal I would have ordered one! The chef seems to scimp out on portions wherever possible, picture a ceaser salad consisting of five pieces of lettuce... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Management of this hotel is appalling ... The staff are so friendly but they are run off their feet... Breakfast is disgusting I complained about my poached eggs being underdone and the response I got from the manager was "oh they are normally overdone" ... The bacon is boiled the sausage is undercooked and the rest is cold ... U... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We at the Lamb are sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We are working hard to try and make sure we offer the correct high standard of service Old English Inns are well known for. We hope this has not put you off either the Lamb or Old... More

Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Lamb has a fantastic setting right beside the cathedral. On arrival the small car park was full and the less than helpful gent on reception shrugged and told us to park in one of the town's public car parks. Luckily someone left and we were able to park. There was no wifi throughout our stay - we were told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lamb and hope to see you again soon. We are sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied, but please be assured we are all working hard to try and make sure we offer the correct high standard of service Old English Inns are well known for.... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here over two weekends in July, a time when the hotel was very busy and seemed constantly fully booked. Our first stay was enjoyable except that the service at breakfast was poor, a particular problem was that coffee was served by bringing a pot round and staff only appeared infreqently. The manager apologised at checkout saying he had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Do you own or manage Lamb Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Hotel

Address: 2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb Hotel Ely

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Lamb Hotel