We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Cambridge hotels

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Hotel amenities
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin Cambridge to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bro44
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    164
    79
    30
    15
See reviews for
35
260
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Writing this as we are preparing to leave the Hotel du Vin after a most disappointing overnight stay. The Reception staff were most welcoming and helpful. However, the room is awful and I've had the worst sleep ever! The room temperature is impossible to control, but trying to sleep with the window open at this time of year is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear LozzieB1992 First of all thank you for your stay with us and thank you for your comments. It's lovely to see our staff made you feel welcome and were helpful during your stay. However I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the room you stayed in and you did not have a good nights rest, please do... More 

Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
48 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place should stand head and shoulders above other Cambridge hotels but sadly was a little disappointing. Check in was brusk but rescued by a friendly porter who helped with luggage despite the front desks obliviousness to this need. I was shown to the room but given only a cursory introduction to everything. The room (Villa Maria) was a superior... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Bro44 Thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with a few aspects of your stay. I will definitely highlight the issues with our front desk to prevent a re-occurance. Regarding the room, we have kept all of our rooms in the original lay out of... More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a last minute weekend break doing our Christmas shopping. We've stayed before and loved it. I noticed a lot of the recent reviews commented on the service, which, as most pointed out, should be exemplary at the price. We experienced the same; for the most part charming attentive service, but suddenly let down by abrupt comments which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear JPHCMK First of all thank you for your recent visit to Hotel du Vin Cambridge and thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had yet another enjoyable stay with us. Regarding the issues you raised, a plan of action is in place to raise a consistent standard with all our members of staff. Thank you... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Eleven of us stayed at this hotel for a pre christmas weekend away. Our first room had 2 lights not working and we were moved to a new room by a very helpful member of staff - great as it was bigger, brighter and nicer all round! However one of the lights subsequently stopped working in there too so perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Laura M, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It's lovely to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and all was well. We have instructed our maintenance team to look into the technical issues you have raised. We hope we can welcome you soon again. Best wishes Robert Dekkers General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Hotel for lunch with a view to using it as a convenient place to meet up with our son who will be studying round the corner for the next four years. We ordered our meals in the bar and waited and waited for the food to appear. In the meantime, we had to chase my son's drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear mwwestwood, Thank you for writing your review. I am very sorry to hear your visit to us in October was not up to standard at all, my apologies. As you have previously experienced this is not the standard of Hotel du Vin and we have been working very hard to make sure these issue will not happen again. We... More 

Milton Keynes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous hotel and great getaway for the weekend. The room was very indulgent and the cellar type bar with all it's alcoves was quaint and very relaxing for the evenings. Especially suitable for a romantic weekend. Will definitely go back again. Rouji from Milton Keynes

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear MiltonKeynesRed, Thank you very much for writing this lovely review. I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and especially our beautiful cellar bar. We do hope we can welcome you again soon for a lovely romantic weekend. Best wishes Robert Dekkers General Manager More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Hotel du Vin at the weekend for a special occasion - friend's birthday. As usual the staff could not do enough for you, all the while being more than friendly. The food was impeccable - between our group we ordered majority of the menu and each dish was delightful. Wine was lovely and staff again were helpful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Miss A, Thank you for writing this lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening with us for you friend's birthday. Our staff will always do their very best to make sure all is well taken care of during the evening and I am happy to hear this was indeed the case. It's been an absolute... More 

Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location 10 mins walk from historic centre of Cambridge, university colleges, Kings College chapel, river Cam, etc. The hotel has dark decor and no parking (concierge drives away your car). Bedroom (second floor), facing rear, was large, quiet, lovely bed - but there were no complimentary water, biscuits, fruit, etc, which for £260 per night might be expected. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear ski_ant60, Thank you for taking the time in writing your lovely review. I am sorry to hear you were slightly dissapointed with the language skills of some of our staffmembers. Cambridge is a city who hosts many different nationalities, we always try to make sure our staff speak the English language perfectly but sometimes this is an ongoing process.... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is quite unique in that it has a focus on wine and it's benefits in entertaining. The rooms are very comfortable, although in the older part of the hotel, the noisy late night revellers can be a bit of a nuiscence as they tromp along the corridor.. And the soundproofing between floors ( and therefore rooms) doesn't exist,,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Annette K, Thank you for your lovely comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is indeed a mixture of 3 old University buidings with all it's original features. I do hope we can welcome you again for your next visit in Cambridge. Best wishes Robert Dekkers General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm a big fan of this small chain and, certainly in Cambridge, this would still be my hotel of choice. However there are a few niggles of which you (and they) should be aware. Firstly, the dinner, bed and breakfast deal is not what it was. Dinner is from the very restricted (4 choices a course) set menu whereas in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Helenjojo, Thank you again for your visit to Hotel du Vin Cambridge and thank you for writing your review. We will definitely take your comments on board as it is very important to constantly improve on our hotel product in order to offer our guest the best service possible. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay