We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I was upgraded and the smile stayed on the whole time. It's perfect from location to comfort, great staff. The room was huge, there was a coffee machine and well chosen minibar. The bed was like floating. It was quiet, elegant, and typical Cambridge . Good breakfast too.

Helpful?
Thank 160lindaa
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely weekend away in Cambridge recently and it was only improved by staying at Hotel du Vin. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the room kept very clean and tidy and the food is also scrumptious. The only reason I didn't award the hotel 5 stars is because the shower head needed descaling and so my wash routine... More 

Helpful?
Thank DKsevenoaks
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear DKsevenoaks Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback following your stay at Hotel Du Vin Cambridge, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure to pass on your comments regarding the staff, the room and the food to all of the relevant people. The shower heads are on a descaling rota but... More 

bishops stortford
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a girls trip to Cambridge for one night. We booked two rooms, one standard and one superior. The hotel was very welcoming and took us straight to our rooms despite us arriving rather early. The rooms were as you would expect in Hotel du Vin - very comfortable beds, lovely sheets, spacious bathrooms... Lovely. The bar was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank squoogle
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Squoogle, Thank you for your feedback, it was great to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Du Vin Cambridge. Fantastic to hear that you had a great welcome and that the team were able to get you roomed nice and early. Sorry to hear service was a bit slow in the Bar, rest assured... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don't know if I expect magic when I pay rates like these because I am out of step with reality but I think that's probably the bottom line. I wasn't thrilled but it was all very clean and cliquey-boutiquey. I wouldn't go to the Bistro again unless I wanted to avoid life beyond the hotel's boundary. Yet still, 4.5... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherryCoombe
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear CherryCoombe, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is much appreciated. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel clean and boutiquey as you would expect. Sorry that on this occasion we did not thrill you, but I know we can in the future. Thanks again Paul. More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is probably the noisiest hotel both inside and out I've ever stayed in. I guess this is because it's a beautiful old building with no soundproofing which during this stay (one of many) has proved to be almost unbearable. That coupled with the freezing temperature in my room has made me a little disappointed and sad as I visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie C
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Katie C, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback following your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that your stay was affected by noise. Our hotel is a beautiful old building and as such there are limitation to what we can do to prevent this, we have fitted secondary glazing to the bedroom windows... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel, and things have gone rapidly downhill. The reception staff are abysmal. The tables in the restaurant are sticky and unclean. We returned our breakfast because it wasn't fully cooked. Our bedroom was cold. Our TV didn't work .... I'm tried of listing negatives. No positives to write tho either. Don't waste your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PoshNosh2011
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear PoshNosh2011, Very Sorry to hear about your experience and would be keen to understand more about your stay, in your review it states that you stay during August last year. Please if you wish send me the details of your stay so that I can look into it fully. paul.muscroft@hotelduvin.com Please again accept our apologies and we look forward... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As the title says, the place is practically perfect, with some of the best rooms I've ever stayed in (I'm a repeat customer). The staff are incredibly helpful and polite, the food is delicious (including the breakfast), and the location great. Only two niggles this time, though. The people in the suite below us were very loud and kept us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben A
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Ben A, Thank you for your amazing feedback On Hotel Du Vin Cambridge, it was great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I am glad that the team did such a great job looking after you and we are sorry about the noisy neighbours. Hope to see you soon, Paul. More 

Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel du Vin for four days from December 23rd to the 27th while we attended the Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols at King's College Chapel. The location is absolutely great, with easy walking to the Colleges and City Center. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, but a little unusual in layout (bathtub in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rdschreiner
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear rdschriener, Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback following your stay at Hotel Du Vin Cambridge. It was great to have you with us at such a special time of year and I am glad that you not only enjoyed our hotel but also Cambridge as a whole. I have already personally thanked Marzia for the way in... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was lovely, spacious with a street view. Hotel in great spot but was a bit miffed that I could not find a bottle of wine on the menu under £28. The food was not great either. Breakfast was good but pricey at around £16 a head. Staff polite and friendly but with Brown's just a few paces up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TimWood0001
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear TimWood0001, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback following your stay, I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet our own high standards. I am glad that you found our location great and that the room was spacious and lovely. I have passed your food comments on to chef, who takes all... More 

London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

I had a wonderful time here. Service was excellent. Staff were always keen to help. For example I forgot some items from my room but they quickly helped it and kept them safe. Breakfast and dinner was excellent. The bedroom was really lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. In addition there are several rooms such as the library which add... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Perpetual J
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Perpetual J, Thank you for your amazing feedback following your stay at Hotel Du Vin Cambridge, I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. It was particularly good to read how helpful the team had been, we all hope to see you again soon. Paul. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay