We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkwood House

172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Kirkwood House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    17
    7
    34
See reviews for
3
21
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived after a horrible trip. Was greeted and my room number was changed on the spot "so I didn't have to walk so far". Room directly across the hall from the reception desk. Didn't even have a door knob, obviously was a store room. No desk/table of any kind except one in the corner with the coffee service. Had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam Your room was changed on the spot, so that you were given a ground floor room, due to the fact that within 30 seconds of you setting through our front door, you had the audacity to complain about the distance we are from the train station, and how tired you were, and vent you anger out on us.... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Although "ok" the room looked "tired" the bathroom was tiny and the shower head was broken and wasn't very good. However the bed was nice and comfy and we slept very well. Our room really needed updating though our co travelers did have a much nicer room which did look like it had been decorated more recently. There is limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. We had booked 2 rooms for a family visit to see our daughter who is a student in Cambridge. Here's my list of what was wrong. 1. Shower was a trickle in one of the rooms. Near impossible to wash hair. 2. Bathroom tiniest in world - could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I feel I should point out a few things regarding your comments however. 1) Shower only a trickle=You would be referring to the one and only room we have that has an electric shower. This shower is a power shower, and had you chosen to notice that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I was attending an event and stayed just one night. The room was a bit austere but for a single was a good size (though the en suite was extremely small). It was very clean and, on one the coldest nights of the year, nice and warm. My stay was therefore comfortable. Also, the internet connection was excellent. Cambridge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My office booked me here when working in the area, ive had a lot worse for a lot more money. The guest house telephoned me direct to let me know check in finishes at 9pm, I was informed in advance so no problems there. The lady was polite and courteous, the room while small was clean and bed was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was more than slightly nervous about my stay! In actual fact it wasn't that bad-a definite example of you get what you pay for. Yes it was dated and the bathroom ridiculously small but the linen was clean, the bed comfy and it had a plentiful supply of hot water. Perfectly adequate when all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

The owner is slightly officious especially regarding when you were going to arrive, but on the whole it was an easy enough place to stay. I stayed in single rooms and they were adequate, the bathrooms while small were fine and there were no issues with hot water. One significant weakness is that neither of the two rooms I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This place is terrible. Just plain grubby and rundown. With grumpy staff. No breakfast and no tea faciltiies. I really cannot think of anything positive to say about it. I cannot believ that places like this manage to survive. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kirkwood2014, Manager at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your insightful and detailed review of our property. I would just like to point out a couple of things to start with; that being that firstly, if you wished to have breakfast at your chosen accommodation, I am at a loss as to why you booked somewhere where it is clearly stated, operates on a... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Rude and unhelpful staff, they cancelled my reservation (at least they said they'd refund me) and told me to go elsewhere after i complained about the fact that I was not allowed to leave my bag with them after 2 pm, or the fact that you had to specify the EXACT time of arrival (which you cannot know when are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam First and foremost, your second reservation with us for one night was cancelled, because you took it upon yourself to think that you would simply be able to leave your bags with us until around 8pm after you had checked out, and, subsequently, when you were told that on this particular day that you could only leave them... More 

Cremona, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in room n. 4 - clean and quiet, on the first floor overlooking the backyard oy Kirkwood House. The owner wa super-friendly and did his best to make us feel at home. Shortcomings: a very small bathroom, no cloyhs-closet...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities