We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Kirkwood House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kirkwood House to your Saves list
Ranked #95 of 117 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    15
    7
    32
See reviews for
3
20
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was attending an event and stayed just one night. The room was a bit austere but for a single was a good size (though the en suite was extremely small). It was very clean and, on one the coldest nights of the year, nice and warm. My stay was therefore comfortable. Also, the internet connection was excellent. Cambridge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My office booked me here when working in the area, ive had a lot worse for a lot more money. The guest house telephoned me direct to let me know check in finishes at 9pm, I was informed in advance so no problems there. The lady was polite and courteous, the room while small was clean and bed was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was more than slightly nervous about my stay! In actual fact it wasn't that bad-a definite example of you get what you pay for. Yes it was dated and the bathroom ridiculously small but the linen was clean, the bed comfy and it had a plentiful supply of hot water. Perfectly adequate when all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

The owner is slightly officious especially regarding when you were going to arrive, but on the whole it was an easy enough place to stay. I stayed in single rooms and they were adequate, the bathrooms while small were fine and there were no issues with hot water. One significant weakness is that neither of the two rooms I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This place is terrible. Just plain grubby and rundown. With grumpy staff. No breakfast and no tea faciltiies. I really cannot think of anything positive to say about it. I cannot believ that places like this manage to survive. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kirkwood2014, Manager at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your insightful and detailed review of our property. I would just like to point out a couple of things to start with; that being that firstly, if you wished to have breakfast at your chosen accommodation, I am at a loss as to why you booked somewhere where it is clearly stated, operates on a... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Rude and unhelpful staff, they cancelled my reservation (at least they said they'd refund me) and told me to go elsewhere after i complained about the fact that I was not allowed to leave my bag with them after 2 pm, or the fact that you had to specify the EXACT time of arrival (which you cannot know when are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam First and foremost, your second reservation with us for one night was cancelled, because you took it upon yourself to think that you would simply be able to leave your bags with us until around 8pm after you had checked out, and, subsequently, when you were told that on this particular day that you could only leave them... More 

Cremona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in room n. 4 - clean and quiet, on the first floor overlooking the backyard oy Kirkwood House. The owner wa super-friendly and did his best to make us feel at home. Shortcomings: a very small bathroom, no cloyhs-closet...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed in a twin room in the annexe. It was so narrow that there was no room for one of the beds to have a bedside table. Plus the bed was placed next to a door. You had to walk very close past the sleeping person in other bed to the bathroom which was absolutely tiny and smelt badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do feel though that seeing as you are clearly on a mission to write as many negative reviews as possible about us, with one being written by you, another by your friend whom stayed with you, and then a third one on expedia with whom... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in the annexe at Kirkwood in a twin room. Low ceilings, a small window and very narrow room with outdated heavily patterned (and none too clean) carpet made for a room that we were happy to leave behind. There was a damp smell from the bathroom when we stayed and the shower did not drain properly. Tea bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam Seeing as you were the second guest with your friend, and this is the second review but for the same stay as you have decided to write one each, please see my response above to your friend106freeasabird for a detailed, honest and true response. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I normally try to see the positives, however, having had to stay here for a couple of weeks due to an inability to find a reasonably priced B&B elsewhere in Cambridge during a busy period, I had the misfortune to have to stay here. If I'd have known what awaited me, I would've paid to stay in London and commute!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

This is the one and only response I have ever written for a TripAdvisor review, and it is due to the seriousness and untruthfulness of your comments, and to what can only be described as both professional and personal slander on your part. After figuring out whom you actually are, my response is the following. Firstly, you mention a number... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirkwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood House

Address: 172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kirkwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Hotel Cambridge

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay