We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Cambridge B&Bs / inns

Kirkwood House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Kirkwood House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kirkwood House to your Saves list
Ranked #97 of 117 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    11
    7
    32
See reviews for
3
20
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This place is terrible. Just plain grubby and rundown. With grumpy staff. No breakfast and no tea faciltiies. I really cannot think of anything positive to say about it. I cannot believ that places like this manage to survive. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kirkwood2014, Manager at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your insightful and detailed review of our property. I would just like to point out a couple of things to start with; that being that firstly, if you wished to have breakfast at your chosen accommodation, I am at a loss as to why you booked somewhere where it is clearly stated, operates on a... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Rude and unhelpful staff, they cancelled my reservation (at least they said they'd refund me) and told me to go elsewhere after i complained about the fact that I was not allowed to leave my bag with them after 2 pm, or the fact that you had to specify the EXACT time of arrival (which you cannot know when are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam First and foremost, your second reservation with us for one night was cancelled, because you took it upon yourself to think that you would simply be able to leave your bags with us until around 8pm after you had checked out, and, subsequently, when you were told that on this particular day that you could only leave them... More

Cremona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in room n. 4 - clean and quiet, on the first floor overlooking the backyard oy Kirkwood House. The owner wa super-friendly and did his best to make us feel at home. Shortcomings: a very small bathroom, no cloyhs-closet...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed in a twin room in the annexe. It was so narrow that there was no room for one of the beds to have a bedside table. Plus the bed was placed next to a door. You had to walk very close past the sleeping person in other bed to the bathroom which was absolutely tiny and smelt badly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do feel though that seeing as you are clearly on a mission to write as many negative reviews as possible about us, with one being written by you, another by your friend whom stayed with you, and then a third one on expedia with whom... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in the annexe at Kirkwood in a twin room. Low ceilings, a small window and very narrow room with outdated heavily patterned (and none too clean) carpet made for a room that we were happy to leave behind. There was a damp smell from the bathroom when we stayed and the shower did not drain properly. Tea bags... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam Seeing as you were the second guest with your friend, and this is the second review but for the same stay as you have decided to write one each, please see my response above to your friend106freeasabird for a detailed, honest and true response. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I normally try to see the positives, however, having had to stay here for a couple of weeks due to an inability to find a reasonably priced B&B elsewhere in Cambridge during a busy period, I had the misfortune to have to stay here. If I'd have known what awaited me, I would've paid to stay in London and commute!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

This is the one and only response I have ever written for a TripAdvisor review, and it is due to the seriousness and untruthfulness of your comments, and to what can only be described as both professional and personal slander on your part. After figuring out whom you actually are, my response is the following. Firstly, you mention a number... More

Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I marked the cleanliness excellent because the housekeeping had the room perfect. BUT whoever is in charge of maintenance needs to become a little more motivated. The mold on the ceiling of the bathroom is pure laziness. I'm sure it was from water on the bathroom floor upstairs, but it only takes 45 minutes at most to put some white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was there twice and stayed in two different rooms on both ocassions. Both rooms were small, but the comfort level depends upon which room you occupy. The room at the top floor was the least comfortable for three reasons: 1. The shower and toilet room door was very noisy when pulling open or shut, 2. The room was too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend & I just needed a cheap bed & parking space for a night out in Cambridge & this was one of the cheapest we could find so it suited our purpose but I wouldn't recommend this for a short break. They have crammed 2 very slim single beds into a room & have tried to make the decorations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cold and a smell of mould and dust as I walked into the house to be greeted, eventually by a woman who gave me a hard time about not arriving at 3pm!!! My double room was very small, I could only walk around the bed sideways on and it was a business trip but working at the small, desk was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirkwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood House

Address: 172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kirkwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Hotel Cambridge

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay