We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkwood House

172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kirkwood House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    6
    19
    7
    35
See reviews for
3
23
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a good stay at Kirkwood house. The gentleman who was on reception showed us our room in the anex. He was friendly and offered us a map of Cambridge to find our way around. He said if we needed more towels or tea and coffee to let him know. The room was clean and bright. Good quality tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're on a budget, this lodging house will do. No breakfast provided but there are supermarkets and eateries around the area, about 5-10 mins walk. Toilet is incredibly small but is clean and hot water is readily available, condition of the room is also acceptable. There's free Wifi but from my room on the 2nd floor the signal is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Its not only that the room was dirty, small and smelly or that the toilet was incredibly small but I also had the worst experience in my life. They didnt let me sleep my last night in the house and when I came back to pick up my bag the day after they didnt let me take it until I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Sir I will put your pathetic attempt at trying to slander my property down to pure sour grapes, as you seem to have missed out about 90% of the story as to what actually occurred and why you were charged an extra night. You booked 7 nights with us, and you stayed those 7 nights without any problems whatsoever.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Arrived after a horrible trip. Was greeted and my room number was changed on the spot "so I didn't have to walk so far". Room directly across the hall from the reception desk. Didn't even have a door knob, obviously was a store room. No desk/table of any kind except one in the corner with the coffee service. Had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam Your room was changed on the spot, so that you were given a ground floor room, due to the fact that within 30 seconds of you setting through our front door, you had the audacity to complain about the distance we are from the train station, and how tired you were, and vent you anger out on us.... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Although "ok" the room looked "tired" the bathroom was tiny and the shower head was broken and wasn't very good. However the bed was nice and comfy and we slept very well. Our room really needed updating though our co travelers did have a much nicer room which did look like it had been decorated more recently. There is limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. We had booked 2 rooms for a family visit to see our daughter who is a student in Cambridge. Here's my list of what was wrong. 1. Shower was a trickle in one of the rooms. Near impossible to wash hair. 2. Bathroom tiniest in world - could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I feel I should point out a few things regarding your comments however. 1) Shower only a trickle=You would be referring to the one and only room we have that has an electric shower. This shower is a power shower, and had you chosen to notice that... More 

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I was attending an event and stayed just one night. The room was a bit austere but for a single was a good size (though the en suite was extremely small). It was very clean and, on one the coldest nights of the year, nice and warm. My stay was therefore comfortable. Also, the internet connection was excellent. Cambridge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My office booked me here when working in the area, ive had a lot worse for a lot more money. The guest house telephoned me direct to let me know check in finishes at 9pm, I was informed in advance so no problems there. The lady was polite and courteous, the room while small was clean and bed was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was more than slightly nervous about my stay! In actual fact it wasn't that bad-a definite example of you get what you pay for. Yes it was dated and the bathroom ridiculously small but the linen was clean, the bed comfy and it had a plentiful supply of hot water. Perfectly adequate when all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

The owner is slightly officious especially regarding when you were going to arrive, but on the whole it was an easy enough place to stay. I stayed in single rooms and they were adequate, the bathrooms while small were fine and there were no issues with hot water. One significant weakness is that neither of the two rooms I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Cambridge City Hotel
Cambridge City Hotel
#5 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#24 of 34 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#18 of 34 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay