We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arundel House Hotel

Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Hotel amenities
Arundel House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
filouthompson Worcester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    140
    142
    72
    49
See reviews for
62
149
43
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (442)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having paid for and booked a 'superior' room, I got a room in the Coach House with no view at all, there being a tree growing right up against the window, and no wifi connection. The wall was so thin I could hear every word from next door. At £140 a night this was outrageous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my partner who was on a course in town. The location is excellent, a short stroll across the river to Jesus green and all the bars and restaurants. We had a superior double which was fine but needs updating. The carpet wasn't very clean and the bathroom needs refitting....perfectly adequate though. The hotel is pricey for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are happy that you found the location of the hotel convenient and that it was a good base for you to explore the city. We fully take on board your comments about the decor of the room and we... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed to stay in a hotel for one night in Cambridge and we chose this one, it was a little dated but ok. The bed we found was a little small and not that comfortable, the price was not that cheap even though we had a discount, during the week at their full price i would never stay at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us here at the Arundel House Hotel. While we take on board your comments about the price, we are in line with the other hotels of a similar... More 

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good hotel in a lovely situation. The hotel is clean and the staff welcoming. The only downside is the lack of a lift for elderly or families with children. It is very expensive to stay and compares to london prices but well worth it just for the central location. The rooms are slightly old fashioned in decor but have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff welcoming. Your comments about the lack of lifts in the hotel are, we are sorry to say, a common complaint. Unfortunately we are... More 

London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a great position - overlooking the River Cam by Jesus Lock and just a short stroll from the city centre. I can't understand the comments about the reception staff being 'average' as they were extremely helpful. We arrived early and asked if we could park til check in time as our room wasn't ready, we went outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that you found our reception team helpful and accommodating. We are also pleased that you reported many other aspects of the hotel that you were happy... More 

Uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed only one night as it was convenient for Midsummer House. Reception staff average, Room large but very dated (80s) sleep quality was good. Breakfast was basic and served in a souless basement rather than the much nicer conservatory. Staff average. Given the size and location I am staggered that the hotel is so very dated and I'll say it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three of us stayed here around the Easter Holiday. The front desk staff were quite functionary, nothing special. The room was clean, but situated at the bottom of the stairwell was quite noisy. The Hotel could use a renovation in the near future. It is ideally situated, thus the price. The highlight was the Full English breakfast, with excellent food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our English breakfast. We are also very glad that you thought our service was good. We hope that you will choose to stay... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable hotel. Brilliant location on the river Cam & 5 mins walk into historic Cambridge. Rooms & hotel comfortable but would benefit from modernisation. Had to upgrade to double room as the shower in the single one was a cold dribble & no more singles available. Staff were accommodating though. Breakfast good. Can't comment on evening meal as I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your upgrade was accomplished with a minimal amount of fuss. We are also happy that that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We hope that you will choose to... More 

Washington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first thing one encounters at this old hotel is the front desk staff. Decidedly anal. I arrived early in the morning from an overseas flight with hopes of checking in. No such luck. Despite the hotel being less than full, I was told to return at 3PM to check in, because that is what their rules require. Having lived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry that you feel that you did not get the best service from our reception staff. We would like to assure you that this is not our policy to prevent guests from checking in early, if there is a... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

This hotel is centrally situated in Cambridge, just across a road from the river Cam. The hotel is a conversion from 3-4 town houses and so has several sets of internal stairs, but no lifts. Elderly guests will have difficulty as the stairs are steep. I had to assist an elderly gentleman with his luggage, up three flights of narrow,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We were pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and that you though our staff were helpful and pleasant. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable night’s sleep due to the central heating being... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities