We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arundel House Hotel

Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Hotel amenities
Arundel House Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
dinahb Guildford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    149
    151
    77
    49
See reviews for
65
160
45
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (469)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a night as were attending an event in central Cambridge. The hotel is very comfortable with friendly helpful staff. About 8 mins walk into centre of Cambridge across a park. Car park available which is unusual for Cambridge where parking can be a nightmare. The only reason I don't give it 5/5 is that the breakfast was rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You have to appreciate that this is a very old building originally several properties joined together. It has lots of uneven stairs and is a bit of a maze to find your room. It does say on the website but be aware there is no lift and no porter so you have to carry your own luggage. We are fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very glad to hear that you found the hotel to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed and that you appreciated our traditional style. We are also happy to hear that you found our location useful for your visit to... More 

Passo Fundo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a nice antique building - but as a three story building, I was chocked to be informed that was no lift (elevators), and nobody offered help with the luggage. Two girls from the front desk (staff) were extremely unfriendly and rude. The hair dryer stopped working after 5 minutes of use. We had to wait to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We were very disappointed to read your review about your stay with us. The reason for us not having a lift is that due to the layout with the six different buildings being converted into one hotel. We are sorry that... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very centrally located with the old town centre, river and commons right in your door step. Unfortunately the hotel itself is nowhere near as pretty as its surroundings. The double room we had was in serious need of updating. The fixtures and fittings had seen better days and the shower reminded me of one I had in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. I was happy to hear that you found both our staff and our location to your satisfaction. I was though very sorry to hear that you did not think our rooms or our food were satisfactory. Here at the Arundel House... More 

Torino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Arundel House Hotel for a night and the room was okay. The restaurant staff is very kind and friendly ( I think that's the best thing in the hotel) but the food is a bit overpriced. What I really didn't like was the staff at the reception, quite rude and unhelpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very glad to hear that you found our rooms to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed our restaurant and its staff. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with reception was not as good. We will be... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival there was a guest was complaining they had waited 15 minutes to be let in his room. We had booked a double on booking.com for 130, but when we arrived was told there was no such room. We were offered the last inferior (sic) family room which was available for 145, however the staff acquiesced and offered it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. I was very disappointed to read your review about your stay with us. We are very sorry about the mix up with your reservation when you arrived but am afraid that as it was a same day booking we had only... More 

Redruth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over the past 20 years, I have stayed at the Arundel a few times. Once, some years ago now, our booking was lost and we were sent elsewhere. Reception is to be endured, but there are many different places to sleep in this hotel, which was converted long ago from a row of regency houses. Cambridge has a long tradition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our restaurant. Here at the Arundel House Chef Mark Sural and his team go to great lengths to serve good quality food that, as you say, is thoughtfully prepared. We are equally glad to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night following day trip. Well located for walk into town. Arrived late afternoon still loads of parking space. Reception friendly. Room was a bit of a pain to find in main house on top floor which would have been tricky if less able although if so you'd ask for lower floor room. Room clean and well presented but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient for your visit to Cambridge and that all of our public areas and facilities were to your liking. We are very happy that you found so many positive features about... More 

Charvil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a short break and needed a hotel close to the centre of Cambridge. After trying city centre hotels with exorbitant prices and charges for parking, we found this one. The hotel is in a very convenient location to get in and out of Cambridge and it is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the City Centre. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear that you found your room to your liking and that you found our location convenient for your visit to Cambridge and that it served you well as a base to explore the city. We are also... More 

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After prvious experiences of hotels in Cambridge, booked Arundel House Hotel and relaxed in the conservatory after a 3 hour car journey. The rooms were not large but very comfortable. Very relaxing bar area. Large car park at the rear of the building. Used the restaurant for continental breakfast which was above average except for the croissants. the hotel should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArundelCambridge, Assistant Hotel Manager at Arundel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed our lounge and conservatory areas. We are also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. As per your comments about the croissants, we will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#18 of 34 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#19 of 34 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Cambridge City Hotel
Cambridge City Hotel
#5 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay