We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gonville Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gonville Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Am currently staying here. Great location and pretty standard room but clean etc. Breakfast.... Don't be in a hurry, very few folks down when we went so no excuse, gave order for cooked, 20 + mins later as if they knew how long it was likely to be, it looked as if they had forgotten to pass the order through... More 

Helpful?
Thank oct0910
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oct0910 Thank you for leaving your recent review, I must apologise for your delay at breakfast. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of service, after speaking with the team there were some issues that day which have now been addressed. I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed when attending a meeting at The University as it was recommended by them.The hotel is on a busy road which was noisy at times, particularly at night with the local youths.Basic amenities were good in the room as was the shower though the bathroom was small.Good choices for breakfast, coffee and service could be better.

Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass2016
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yorkshirelass2016, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent visit and you felt that we were just average. You can be assured that being average isn’t what we want or strive for. We are always looking for ways in which we can improve our... More 

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a mixture of extremely good and very disappointing for me. On arrival, we had a very pleasant greeting from reception, alongside a brief introduction to the hotel facilities. Our room was very chilly when we entered at around half 5, late afternoon. A bad start, but shortly afterwards a receptionist rang to ask if everything was OK,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KillerQueen59
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KillerQueen59, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was disappointed to see that you didn’t have a very good stay with us due to being cold. If we had known that the additional blanket wasn’t good enough we would have provided a larger blanket for you. This can also be requested via our in room... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well located for both sights and shops. The room was clean, comfortable and had a view of Parkers Piece. The bathroom and shower were great and the bed very comfortable. All praise to the staff who were friendly and helpful when needed. A welcoming smile whenever we saw them. Breakfast had a wide choice of both... More 

Helpful?
Thank DianePC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel since our last visit a couple of years ago has been remodelled, almost completed, but very much in the background, this would not affect your stay. The view across Parkers Piece shows the once grand University Arms being partially demolished, The Gonville is well placed for the visitor. The new look is fresh and airy throughout , our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gossy-abroad
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had stayed at the Gonville some years previously and it was good then. It is even better now. Reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. My room was large, decorated in neutral colours with good quality furnishings and bedding and a spacious bathroom. Free in-room wifi. There is a large comfortable bar/lounge and the dining area is in an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry B
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harry B Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are always delighted to get these! We were really pleased to see that the hotel has improved since your last visit, we are always looking for ways in which we can improve and be the best. I hope that it won’t be years until your next visit... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel and can honestly say the helpful, friendly staff made it a very pleasurable experience right from checking in through to checking out. The location is very convenient for the city centre and is pleasant with views over Parker's Piece. The hotel was clean and nicely maintained throughout. We booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlisonF986
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison F Thank you so much for your recent review, we are delighted to see that you had a great stay with us and found it to be a very pleasurable experience. This is why the team and I do the jobs we do as nothing gives us more satisfaction to know our guests have had an enjoyable and... More 

Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter is going to the local uni so we went to visit. Spent two nights. Thought it was a Best Western, but I think they changed owners. The hotel is great. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was lovely and bed was super. Assets: Parking available, location excellent Liability: The water is incredibly hot....I mean really... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLKunciw
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JLKunciw, Thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted to receive this. You are right, we used to be part of Best Western, however are now part of Classic British Hotels and I’m pleased to say still the same owners! I am pleased that you found the team to be pleasant and helpful, I will certainly pass... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a large standard room and it was specious with a reasonably sized bathroom with bath and great shower. The staff are what really makes this hotel. At ease, helpful and thoughtful. I checked in early and my bag had been taken to the room. The room was a little cold ,a heater and a blanket arrived moments later.Couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKB50
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SKB50 Thank you so much for your recent review, and for rating us 5/5 this is always appreciated! I was pleased to see that you like the size of our specious bedrooms and found the shower facilities to be great. A lot of time went into the attention to detail in getting these right prior to carrying out our... More 

York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Convenient location between the station and city centre. Very comfortable room and nice lounge bar. Great service as we arrived too early to check in but luggage was not just stored but waiting for us in our room when we came back. Only down side was lack of plug sockets in convenient places in room.

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan W Thank you so much for your recent 5 star review, we are very happy to get this. We are pleased that you found our central location to be convenient and that the service was great, nothing gives us more pleasure than to ensure our guests have a great stay. I will pass on your feedback with regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#11 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay