We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Cambridge hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Michael P Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (684)
  • Photos (92)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (162)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    283
    102
    26
    22
See reviews for
83
307
50
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Gonville is very well located, just off Parker's Piece, a communal parkland area close to the centre of Cambridge. We found the hotel well presented, clean and with very helpful staff. At £175 a night for a double room B&B it wasn't cheap but free parking for the 2 days of our stay was a bonus. This was our... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael P Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are delighted that you gave us 5 stars! We were so pleased to see that your recent stay with us was good and that you were able to take advantage of our great location and parking. When we set our rates we look to ensure... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I really can't speak highly enough about my recent stay at The Gonville Hotel, Cambridge. I was travelling on business, from the US, staying in Cambridge for just under a week. From start to finish every aspect of my stay was flawless. The hotel is modern, clean and staff extremely friendly and capable. Food at breakfast and dinner was superb.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mick E Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are delighted to see these this morning. We are so pleased to see that your stay with us for a week was flawless, and you found the hotel and staff to be of a great standard. It is such a pleasure working with a team that loves... More

Canturbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean, quite, fairly close to Station and in a good position for buses and centre of Cambridge. Perfect for my needs as Addenbrooke's Hospital is 15 mins by bus. I recommend a tour of Cambridge on the open top bus which passes the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your 5 star review, we were delighted to see this, I hope that your Hospital appointment went well and pleased to see that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect. Being in the centre of the city is ideal for things such as sight seeing and also great for those shopping trips!... More

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was the staff who made our weekend away great, they are all very attentive, professional and caring, the hotel was very nice, clean, the food was just too rich the chef is a genius the whole experience was really very good indeed and we would definitely recommend this hotel for a short or long stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna R Thank you so much for your 5 star review, it was really pleasing to see this, and I am also happy to say that our new Head Chef Jay was delighted to see your comments. Nothing gives us more pleasure to know that you had a great stay with us and everything about the hotel made your... More

Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just off the main street, walking distance from the train station. Nicely appointed, clean rooms with friendly staff and free wifi. Hotel was in the process of having the lobby remodeled, but they made do the best they could. Room service food was fairly good, though a bit overpriced. Would recommend as one of the more economical rooms in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear saltykitty Thank you for taking the time to review us, we were really pleased to read your comments and feedback. I am pleased to say that our Reception refurb is now complete and looking fabulous. This really connects our refurbished bedrooms to our public areas. I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the... More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is set back from the A603 on the South-East side of Parker's Piece close to the centre of Cambridge. It has a big car park. It has recently been refurbished throughout, including an unexpected automatic door into Reception. The rooms are spacious and reasonably well equipped. The restaurant serves excellent food in generous portions and is not too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IanGH, Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and found the hotel to be of a high standard both in service and quality. We do ensure that our prices are competitive and when you take into consideration our free... More

Newcastle upon TYne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night over the recent graduation weekend. The hotel has been refurbished with a good blend of contemporary styling with the traditional aspects of the hotel building. It has a good site, being close to the city centre and the train station. My room was large, comfortable and recently decorated, so it was nice, clean and modern.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew_B1410 Thank you for your comments, I was pleased to see that you liked our recent refurbishment and this added to your stay. I am sorry that you felt lunch and breakfast was just OK, please note that I will be taking this up with our Head Chef to ensure that it is better in future. Graduation is one... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid more than £200 a night for this hotel in Cambridge. The room was small and dark with one tiny window looking over the roof. The shower was very odd and flooded the bathroom every time it was used. We were supplied with one small bar of soap for two ladies for four nights. There were soap dispensers in... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor M Thank you for your review, I am sorry you felt we were over priced. We ensure that our prices are set competitively with other hotels in the city and when you take into consideration that this includes free high speed wifi, parking and others don’t this really makes good value. However saying that the best way to... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this place multiple times during 2013. Having tried various hotels in cambridge and finally settled on this one . Rooms are well done, cosy and fully equipped. Breakfast served..excellent. What I missed was a gym or pool but to be honest couldnt complain much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher O, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear foxthree3 Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We were delighted to see that you found us to be excellent, this is something we strive to be in everything we do and are so happy when we deliver this and it is noticed and appreciated by our guests. We take guest feedback extremely seriously which has meant... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge #2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge #2 Business Hotel in Cambridge #4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge #5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run AA 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished bedrooms and Atrium Restaurant.Free high speed Wifi and free car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. Such as the Grande Arcade and Grafton Centre.Children welcome from any age. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer