We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Cambridge hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
79%
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Sue L
  • Reviews (706)
  • Photos (102)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (170)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    291
    105
    27
    22
See reviews for
87
317
50
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent two nights at hotel. Staff were extremely helpful. Everything spotless. Comfortable. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. We ate in one night and food and service was excellent.the only thing that we found fault with was lack of drawer space but as we were only away for short while it was not a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue L Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us and found the hotel to be spotless and my team helpful. Please know that I will be passing on your feedback especially to my F&B team with regards to the quality of food and service. I... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I hadn't been to this hotel for some years and was amazed by the transformation / re-fit upgrade. The reception area is now up to date and very welcoming. I wasn't staying at the hotel, just eating in the Atrium Restaurant, as it had been recommended by a friend. I have to say the food was outstanding and was worthy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melanie N, Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we were delighted to see that you were really impressed with our new Reception and Atrium Restaurant following the refurbishment. We are so happy with the results and the difference this has made to our hotel, now the public areas match the quality of our fabulous bedrooms! Please... More

94022
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I stayed in this Best Western. The location is 5 minutes walk from the center of the old town area. Very conveniently located with many restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is in a old building (like many other businesses in the old town area). Some of the floors many not be even. The public area,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike Y Thank you for your review, we were pleased to see that you had a good stay with us recently and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Cambridge is a great place to explore and see the beautiful historical buildings. We hope that next time you are in town we will have another opportunity to look... More

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is well situated on the edge of Parkers Piece and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the city centre. We found all the staff to be polite and helpful. Our room was clean, with working, if somewhat noisy air conditioning. Would have given it 5. But room a bit small and lacking in storage space for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dougie D Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are so glad that you had a great stay and you found my team to be polite and helpful. Thank you for your comment about the air conditioning system we will certainly get this checked out. To get the best rates its advisable... More

Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read the reviews we thought we would stay at this hotel.The location is good next to the swimming pool which is a bonus, the staff though nice are over friendly and our room was clean but not as nice as we were expecting.The layout was back to front.The breakfast was something resembling school dinners, poor quality and cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deepak c Thank you for your review, I was sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit with us with regards to the style of the room and breakfast. We ensure that the photos on display are a true representative of what you receive, however if this is not to your liking then... More

Anchorage AK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a visit to Cambridge and had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. The hotel is across the street from a large park and is within a ten minute walk from the center of the town. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are about mid size for the price.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GJKAnchorageAK Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we were so pleased to see that you had a great stay with us and found the hotel to be comfortable and my team friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thanks again Kind regards, Christopher Ogston General Manager More

Hasting
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. Our room was fine, but had a very small bath - neither myself nor my husband are tall but we could nor sit comfortably in it. They could have got away with this if there was a shower over the bath, but as there wasn't we were condemned to squashed baths. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandy m Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, this is very much appreciated. I was sorry to learn that you found your bathroom to be on the small side, given the age of the building and character, there is one or two rooms out of 84 that suffer from a slightly smaller bathroom, however I... More

St Leonards on Sea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent a great weekend exploring Cambridge and stayed at the Gonville for two nights. It was a good little hotel. Clean, comfortable, good attentive staff and within easy walking distance of the town centre. Comfortable bar and hearty breakfast... what more could you ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear baillwords, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. It is so important to us to deliver our promise and I am pleased that every aspect of the hotel delivered to make your stay a great one. We hope that next time you explore the beautiful city of Cambridge you will choose to stay with us... More

Recife, PE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were for 2 days at the hotel and everything worked very well, A convenient location and a very profetional and polite staff. Our congratulation to Verónica Galindo, a recepcionist that gave us a very special attention, explaining with patience and knowledge, everything about the hotel and the city. An authentic touristic guide! Oh! She speaks english, spanish, portuguese and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ARussell1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcos S, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. What a wonderful feedback! I was absolutely delighted to read about your fantastic experience at our hotel, and thrilled to learn that our team, especially Veronica, really made your time with us so comfortable. I am pleased that your time with us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cambridge with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge #1 Green Hotel in Cambridge #2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge #4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge #5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run AA 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished bedrooms and Atrium Restaurant.Free high speed Wifi and free car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. Such as the Grande Arcade and Grafton Centre.Children welcome from any age. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer