We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Cambridge hotels

Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Cambridge
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Chixdigska Crewe
  • Reviews (1,004)
  • Photos (172)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (234)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    396
    182
    95
    31
See reviews for
205
413
53
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I apologise for the fact that this review is 6 months late. We have stayed here twice and loved it each time. The location is amazing, being a literal stones throw from "the sights". We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival, and happened to mention we were staying to celebrate my birthday, five minutes after entering the room a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is a real plus. Situated right on the Cam River, you can enjoy the Backs, the boats punting by, and the rural feeling, with grazing cows and all. Having stayed at this hotel in the past, we expected more than what it is now. The hotel is not well-maintained. The rugs in the halls were dirty. A room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've been using this hotel on and off for about 45 years, ever since to was the Garden House, and it gets better all the time. The location by the river is wonderful and the new Marco Pierre White restaurant never disappoints.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

when it comes to location this hotel is among the top three,i sat out in the garden which spans the banks of the river Cam and the beginning of the the "Cambridge Backs" where many people come to try their hand at punting. Impersonal is the word,staff seem nonchalant,with very slow service if you stay in the garden,i had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear fitzcongo Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read about the inconsistency in the service you found at the bar during your stay. This is quite unacceptable as every guest should receive the highest level of service from each and every team member. I am positive that on your next visit this will not be an issue. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just been and had afternoon tea for my 30th at the Doubletree in Cambridge. Service was fantastic, food was lovely and fresh and overall was a fantastic experience. We had one veggie person who got her own platter of food and everyone else had a platter to share. There was so much food (and there was 10 of us)! Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Emmag1984 What a lovely feedback. So pleased to know that your 30th was such a fantastic experience and all your guests without exception enjoyed the Afternoon Tea at the DoubleTree Cambridge. Looking forward to celebrating with you your especial days for many birthdays to come! More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although the hotel location is excellent we were very disappointed by the service which was apathetic and disinterested, with the exception of the young concierge who was friendly and efficient. If you are not intending to use the mini-bar be sure not to go anywhere near it to avoid triggering charges. In fact the whole experience was slightly stressful as... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Heather A Thank you for your comments on this website. We take very seriously your opinion to improve the services and products we offer. I have passed on your comments to the departments involved and will take this feedback into account where possible. I am glad that you enjoyed the central location and service from our concierge team member.... More

Cambridgeshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night for my birthday. Being local I knew the location was great and assumed the hotel would he too, particularly at almost £200 for a night in their most basic room. The room is small and was on a corner with a view of the car park. It wasn't awful by any means but I have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that despite overall enjoying the location and the hotel this was marred by the cost of it. While I can only but sympathise with you I really hope that given you are local you will return to the hotel and make the most of our fantastic restaurant and terraced bar... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

£200+ per night and no free wifi, no phone reception and and an understaffed/poorly trained bar. No proper air conditioning in the rooms and sited next to a noisy car park. Appalling value for money. Certainly won't be staying here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Darren M We are all at the DoubleTree Cambridge very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to many reasons. We will certainly address the points that can be resolved and take it upon the providers where relevant. For now, I can only but apologise for your disappointing stay and assure you that... More

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The welcome was good without any fuss. Room was good and spacious with a nice balcony over looking the canal. Lovely setting. Breakfast was good quality, good welcome, well looked after, however the Bacon and the sausages are always room temperature. Been the case for the 4 days I stayed there. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Bernard G Thank you for your review. Overall I was very pleased to know that your stay was a very good experience despite on a business trip. I was sorry however to read the lack of active response from the restaurant team to your comments about the food temperature. This would have indeed been outstanding and the kind of... More

BUDAPEST, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is on the bank of Granta river, beautiful scenery. Staff is polite, food is excellent. But rooms are old-fashioned, old furniture from the seventies etc. The owners don't seem to want any investments to update it - though they charge 5star prices. Anyway a pleasant experience.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Gal O Thank you for your review. I was pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and the beautiful scenery, polite staff and excellent food made up for your stay. I duly take your constructive note about the retro decoration, I will pass it on to the relevant management for future redecoration of the hotel.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge #7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
122

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer