We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Cambridge hotels

Royal Cambridge Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Cambridge Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    76
    113
    109
    93
See reviews for
42
122
29
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (116)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited for the afternoon tea using a groupon in their restaurant and I was really disappointed. The girl who served us seemed very confused. She didn't seem to understand our request that we have tea with the cake and we weren't offered a choice of tea either. The tea came with a glass of bubbly each. For my niece... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel after reading many negative reviews - yes, it is an older property, but the room was very large and airy, as was the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable, and though my room overlooked a main thoroughfare, I slept soundly at night without traffic keeping me awake, nor did hallway or neighboring room noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in October for only one night on a business trip. I had read lots of negative reviews and was apprehensive, however I can only be positive. I found the staff very pleasant, well mannered and friendly. My single room whilst not being as 'plush' as some hotels, was clean, comfortable with a good sized desk, fast, free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in October 2014 when attending a function at Queens College At the University and was absolutely great value. If I had read some of these reviews first, I might not have booked _ but glad I did. I took advantage of an Internet offer: two nights accommodation, breakfast and dinner on one night and booked 3 rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise M Thank you for your recent post. It is always nice to receive such positive comments especially about the hotel team. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again when you next return to Cambridge. Sincerely Stewart Rushton More

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a really easy going business traveller that stays in hotels weekly. I can seldom be bothered to login and rate somewhere I have stayed, but this place is so bad I just had too. The hotel is totally and utterly rundown. It reminds me of those tired Eastern European hotels of the early 90's. The single business room has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just next to the Fitzwilliam, the hotel is in easy walking distance of all attractions. We paid for an executive room. First one was awful, with a mattress so soft one could feel the wooden slats through it. Second was more spacious and fine. Service on the whole friendly. Breakfast fair. At best this is 3 star. Major renovation and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobertMBE2014 Thank you for your post following your visit to the Royal Cambridge hotel, I am pleased you both enjoyed our location, free WIFI and facilities, I note your other comments and as we continue our improvement works to our fabric in keeping with its Victorian heritage I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back... More

West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel booked for a family party over this weekend. Despite an outwardly grand impression the rooms are dated and poorly maintained. The food served for our set evening meal was poor especially the desert which had not been prepared properly and tasted vile. Most of the junior staff looked bewildered most of the time and the supervisory staff were arrogant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Willothewasp Thank you for your post and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel, I noted your comments regarding the food and beverage aspects however I am assured that your guest of honour did enjoy herself and the organisers of your family gathering were very complimentary prior to leaving the hotel. Throughout the weekend... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to find that half of the car park is being re-developed and there was no parking. We had to park 15 minutes walk away in a public car park, with no re-imbursement of cost. Consequently we were 30 minutes delayed for our meal (with hungry children). We were not told this on booking the meal. We had invited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam W Thank you for your post and I am sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us. With regards to the car park we have been informing all guests about the works as much as possible; I must apologise if this was not the case for you; we do operate on a first come basis though. Specific... More

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel with low expectations after reading the reviews but we were greeted by friendly staff and spent a pleasant evening in this old city centre hotel. Our room was clean and warm and the hotel has a certain old-fashioned charm to it - if you want sterile go to the hotel chains. It is walking distance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David D Thank you for your post following your visit to the Royal Cambridge hotel, I am pleased you both enjoyed your stay and noted your positive comments regarding our food both at dinner and breakfast and our attentive hotel team. As we continue our improvement works to our fabric we look forward to welcoming you back when you... More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read so many scathing reviews about this hotel, I booked in for one night regardless, because I had very little choice, everything I tried in central Cambridge for that night was fully booked! I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised from the moment stepped in to the hotel, yes it was a little tired but it felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol p Thank you for your post and delighted we could accommodate you and for giving us an opportunity to make you feel comfortable and welcomed. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Cambridge. regards Stewart Rushton More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay