We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambridge City Hotel

Hotel website
20 Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DT, England
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cambridge City Hotel
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    417
    196
    87
    41
See reviews for
209
344
50
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1065)
  • Mar-May only
    (294)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (280)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (260)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (231)
All months
Cumbria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Based here for two nights while on a business trip. The hotel is a little characterless but the rooms are reasonably furnished and everything worked - nice to have a large TV for once. Staff were all very friendly. There's an excellent breakfast. Overall a good central location for Cambridge, if rather expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here for one night at the start of the easter holiday, a friday. Perfect from the moment we walked in, easy to find (if you are quite familiar with cambridge) pulled up outside and our car was taken straight away to the carpark which is £18 per night, an extra £5 to stay until 2pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Molly - Thank you for your kind feedback, we really appreciate your comments.. We are delighted to hear that your stay in Cambridge was a great one for your celebration. Kind regards Darryl Holdnall More 

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel for the location and it is extremely central - just a few minutes walk to the college where I studied. I expected to be paying more for the premium location and we were there over Valentine's day but even so I thought the rate charged was very expensive, for the quality of the hotel. It isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent visit. I am sorry that you had to wait for our valet parking because it was so busy and that you were inconvenienced by the detour to your room due to the refurbishment of our meeting room. The team and I will discuss your comments and continue to work hard to... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here over Easter. Like a lot of hotels in the UK in a good location, you get the feeling that they take for granted the custom, although I have to say, value for money wise it was a good choice. We had a pleasant room with two large beds which was great, very clean and comfortable. Nothing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of Cambridge City Hotel. We are pleased that you would come back and I can only apologise for the small amount of drilling that took place last week. Please accept our sincere apologies. All of the main work has already been completed but we had to remove some tiles in our meeting room area... More 

London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a couple of days here over Easter and it was perfect from beginning to end. We checked in on Easter Sunday and reception staff presented us with two Easter eggs for the kids which they loved. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable but we were out and about for the most part. The hotel is very central to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Dev - Glad you enjoyed the stay and delighted that you would choose to stay with us again. Kind regards Darryl Holdnall. More 

hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here recently and was not at all impressed. Due to it's city position - it is a nightmare to find and even worse to queue to drive onto the small forecourt whilst blocking the traffic - to unload your car. Once that is done - albeit very rushed - your car is taken away and you go in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Allypal - I was sorry to learn of the difficulties encountered by your mother during your stay with us. My team should have identified your needs on arrival and made appropriate changes to room allocations. Your feedback will be shared with the reception team and will help to support a wider understanding on the potential needs of our older guests.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff at the reception is quite rude and the manager could be better. On the 3rd April 2015 at 23:40 approximately we tried to book into Cambridge City Hotel after missing our train back to London. Staff refused to book us in just because we didn't have a photo ID. My friend "who was paying for the room" found one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Eddie - I am sorry to read that your experience was not a positive one on this visit. I have reviewed your comments and spoken with my Night Manager and her reception staff. As you did not have a booking and arrived very late at night after missing your train on a night out, we took the sensible precaution of... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a short Easter Break here and I was very impressed with this hotel from the minute we arrived and would definitely recommend it. The concierge parked our car on arriving and check in was quick and efficient. The room was spotless and well equipped with a large flat screen TV and nice quality furniture. Breakfast in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Pudding- Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cambridge City Hotel in the future. Kind regards Darryl Holdnall More 

karachi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed staying at this hotel despite a few hitches such as ongoing construction work. The rooms were small but fully equipped and very clean. the room had no view which was a pity but the amenities and general facilities compensated for that. The hotel is in the centre of town so good location and they have a decent buffet breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apologies for the title of this review, I couldn't resist it! A really good weekend was spent at the Cambridge city hotel. My husband, mother and I got a last-minute deal on Secret escapes which included a bottle of Prosecco. Rooms have been refurbished and are really clean and well appointed. I asked for quiet rooms and they gave me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl H, General Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review

Lyzzie - Thank you for your great feedback - we are 'Eggstreamly' pleased to read you had a great stay this Easter. Catherine our Head Housekeeper has a selection of new pillows on order so our guests will have a wider choice and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards Darryl Holdnall More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question