We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Cambridge B&Bs / inns

The Portland Arms

129 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3BA, England
Hotel amenities
The Portland Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Portland Arms to your Saves list
Ranked #74 of 117 Cambridge B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
5lui
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
6
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

.......................Food = good. Noise = too much. Dirtyness = room and shower. Final = bad. Dont want to come back in this hotel. Pub is cool and beers are fresh. 10 MN WALK FROM SCHOOLS.................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at The Portland Arms, responded to this review

Hi Nicolas We are very sorry that you had a bad stay with us. Could you let us know what date you stayed and in which room and a description of the problems you discovered so we can take action? Thanks Steve More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went in this pub for a live music The 3 of november. I like i t because here there is a lot of a good beer , one room only for live music and The people that work is Very confidential I think that i come back here in this week for tasting Also The food..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I heard on Wednesdays you could buy fish from the fish van that parks every Wednesday next to the pub and then get the fresh fish cooked and eat it on the pub. The opportunity of having fresh fish that you pick yourself, at a pub, at regular pub price, is something not to be missed. We chose trout and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went to see the Bootleg Boss gig here, not for an overnight stay. Had a few drinks and a meal before the gig. The food was great value for money. The staff were very friendly. The venue was perfect size for a small gig. Has a nice bit out the back you can have a drink on a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Well, it has been chosen because of no other relatively non-expensive hotels were available at the moment I made a booking. It`s quite far from the railway station (nearly an hour of energetic walk), and, as there is no luggage room at the station, I had to find out the local buses schedule to pick up the luggage from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ScAtMaN_UK, Manager at The Portland Arms, responded to this review

Hi NataliaR Sorry for the delay in replying and sorry you felt you did not enjoy your stay. As we are in the north part of the city and the train station in the south we recommend hailing a cab to get to us. We do state that in our booking and travel directions. As a pub rather than a... More

London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights, and on both nights there was very loud music (what appeared to be a gig) downstairs. The music admittedly stopped at 11pm, but was really an inconvenience. The walls are pretty slim too so could hear neighbours talk late into the night. Room was clean but not particularly well insulated from the cold. Shared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Portland arms yesterday the place was very clean and the staff were very polite and made my stay welcome. I had a nice room that was enough for me as I was alone and the location of the pub was within walking distance of the towns center I would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

A weekend trip to visit my daughter at university with my friend. Met by friendly staff and a lovely refurbished outside space. Exellent value for money for Cambridge,television and beverage available in room

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night, as part of a cycling holiday weekend. Didn't want much so basic pub BnB was adequate. Seems to be just three rooms which share a shower room (with toilet) and another toilet. Rooms were clean - perhaps they have cleaned up their act after previous criticisms. Pub is on main road it is a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

"Family" room extremely cramped. Hotel located at road junction so very noisy all night with traffic after late night noise of music and constant banging of doors from pub below. Worst of all floors and windows of room dirty, bedlinen and towels not fresh, communal shower area grimy with loads of hair and old toothpaste in plugholes and very strong,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Portland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Arms

Address: 129 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Portland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland Arms Hotel Cambridge

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay