We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 116 Cambridge B&Bs / inns

Lantern House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   174 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lantern House to your Saves list
Lantern House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
54%
Ranked #72 of 116 Cambridge B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
lucy b Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
12
11
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good for what it is. Unpretentious and up to a better than normal standard of cleanliness and helpfulness than usual for a Guest House of this type. Very good location and convenient for sightseeing in the old centre of Cambridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my family, we booked 2 attic rooms despite poor reviews by some guests here (I read 3 similar reviews, all from glasgow and looks like are one guest, shame on Tripadvisor to let anyone put many untrue comments), we had very fantastic stay, everything was as advertised and as pictures show on website. Rooms are very bright... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basic accommodation, good overall, helpful staff, have tea coffee and biscuits in room, but no breakfast which was no problem anyway. Bike hire available, useful for getting around and sightseeing, the bikes had baskets which was handy. Very useful location for river and centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall good, not pricey for this location and for Cambridge. Near to shops, easy for museums, colleges. Had bike hire and good free wifi connection. Plenty of pubs around near to this guest house which had good food. Actually the Michelin starred restaurant in Cambridge is just down the road as well, near the river. Nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lantern House was shoddy, smelled of mildew, the stairs to the attic were positively dangerous (you had to keep your feet sideways to avoid half your foot overhanging each step), and the owner was objectionable. However, far worse than that, he was also not averse to taking significant amounts of money from our credit card, over and above what was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Please see the pictures we sent you. Extra night, using extra bed, window, lamp, hair dryer, stained towels, scratched walls all from moving furniture. We didn't charge you for the window yet as we are waiting for insurance. All damages perfectly justified as you well know. NOBODY ELSE IS CHARGED - ONLY YOU - and to try to pretend otherwise... More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lantern House is a convenient location to stay. It is value for money and the location is near the city centre, about 10-15 minutes walk. Owner is helpful and gave us a lot of space and privacy. Even allow us early check in. I would rate this hotel 8.5/10 and would stay in this hotel again if I am back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you comment and custom. The Lantern House staff are very happy to accommodated you. We hope you have a nice time in Cambridge and good journey home. We are looking forward to see you in Cambridge again for your next visit. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Lantern House is disgusting. The stairs are dirty and worn carpet. All surfaces covered in dust. We, a party of four, were assured that we had exclusive use of a bathroom. Two other rooms shared the amenity. That meant 8 people shared this mold ridden shoddy room. The toilet Brush was a health risk. The landlord seems blind to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

First of all I would like to say that our staff are very upset and sorry to accommodate you and your family, the worst guests ever. You booked the rooms, costing 29-32 GBP per person per night for a summer weekend and Cambridge graduation week. That is cheaper than the Youth Hostel dorm, as you got towels, tea-coffee-biscuits, Free WIFI... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Terrible stay. Horrible rooms, far too small, lights didn't work, inch-thick dust under the bed, shared bathroom had a very badly maintained shower, visible wiring, I could go on. Shouting and screaming in the next room was not the fault of the owner but certainly was the 'cherry on top' of a general theme - utterly abysmal. Incidentally we saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

This is the same reply for the same guest who gave us 2 terrible reviews here from 1 booking. First of all I would like to say that our staff are very upset and sorry to accommodate you and your family, the worst guests ever. You booked the rooms, costing 29-32 GBP per person per night for a summer weekend... More

Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Since I like to be fair I will start with the: pluses: clean bed and nice fluffy towels. Minuses: Breakfast - what breakfast !!!! No breakfast provided BUT there is a snack bar 500 metres down the street or a SPAR across the road with unappetizing bread. Service - what service ! manager unfriendly, uncooperative and largely absent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed a few times in the top floor room. The room is fine with a sink, a TV, internet, drawers and hangers. The slanted wall from being under the roof takes some getting used to. The bathroom is nothing special but clean as well, and there is a shared iron on one of the floors. The main drawback is that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8

Been to Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House

Address: 174 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lantern Guest House in Cambridge is a few hundred yards from river Cam.- 10 To 20 mins walk from centre of Cambridge / Grafton Shopping Centre / Colleges, 30 mins walk to Railway station.- Free car park on site (6 spaces) and many free nearby.- Simple decoration- Flat screen TVs with digital service, - Free WIFI internet, - Free Tea-Coffee-Biscuits in room, - Towels and Toiletries in room, etc. There is no meal plan but room prices are lower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lantern House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?