We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   174 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Lantern House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lantern House to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 117 Cambridge B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014
Manit C
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    9
    3
    10
See reviews for
13
12
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Stayed here in September for a few days, first time in Cambridge. Found the staff and owner was really good and helpful. They helped me a lot with everything, explained me where to go, what to see, where all things are, shops, restaurant etc. They call taxi for me free and gave me UK sim for phone. Place looked good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Juba, South Sudan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I've booked the hotel long time before and totaly forgot my arrival time, 9am in the morning. When being so early the owner was very welcoming and showed me my room. Explained how every things works and even issued me a free UK sim card.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Great Shefford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stayed here with my mates, it was quite old house but very clean, rooms were very clean with maid service every day. Nice clean towels, Free parking and wifi that worked brilliantly. I think it's the cheapest one in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

We booked for a weekend stay and having looked at the reviews and proximity to the city centre, booked for 2 nights. On arrival we were met with chaos as a new boiler was being fitted but were shown to the en suite double room. Sadly it looked nothing like the picture. Bed was very low to the floor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Only the fuss here is our fault to let you in just after 10 AM, before everything is ready, perhaps we are too kind and should stop doing it. Our check in time is 5-8 PM, you TURNED UP LATE MORNING without informing us, instead of turning you down we welcome you in, left your belonging in room as you... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lantern guest house about a month ago for a few weeks whilst looking for a place to rent in Cambridge. It was easy to make a booking online, and arrival and check in was simple and efficient. Upon our arrival, we found that the people who worked there were very welcoming, friendly as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much and we have to admitted that we were thrill to read you email first time. We try to do our best and we are so happy that you had a nice stay here with us. We are so lucky that once we had such a lovely husband-wife stay with us. It's very lovely to read... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Very good for what it is. Unpretentious and up to a better than normal standard of cleanliness and helpfulness than usual for a Guest House of this type. Very good location and convenient for sightseeing in the old centre of Cambridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you very fair review. We know we are not the Ritz but we do our best and we are happy that you were happy staying here. Thank you again and we hope to see you for your next visit Cambridge. Lantern House Team More 

Thailand
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here with my family, we booked 2 attic rooms despite poor reviews by some guests here (I read 3 similar reviews, all from glasgow and looks like are one guest, shame on Tripadvisor to let anyone put many untrue comments), we had very fantastic stay, everything was as advertised and as pictures show on website. Rooms are very bright... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you very nice review. You are very kind guests, are so happy to know that you had a good stay with us. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in Cambridge. Lantern House Team More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Basic accommodation, good overall, helpful staff, have tea coffee and biscuits in room, but no breakfast which was no problem anyway. Bike hire available, useful for getting around and sightseeing, the bikes had baskets which was handy. Very useful location for river and centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so lucky to had you here. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in Cambridge. Lantern House Team More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Overall good, not pricey for this location and for Cambridge. Near to shops, easy for museums, colleges. Had bike hire and good free wifi connection. Plenty of pubs around near to this guest house which had good food. Actually the Michelin starred restaurant in Cambridge is just down the road as well, near the river. Nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. After a few nasty and bias reviews from a booking we hardly look at Tripadvisor for a while. Today we looked again and we are so happy, finally the guest that like us still out there. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in Cambridge. Lantern House Team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lantern House was shoddy, smelled of mildew, the stairs to the attic were positively dangerous (you had to keep your feet sideways to avoid half your foot overhanging each step), and the owner was objectionable. However, far worse than that, he was also not averse to taking significant amounts of money from our credit card, over and above what was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lanterncambridge, Lantern House Team at Lantern House, responded to this review

Please see the pictures we sent you. Extra night, using extra bed, window, lamp, hair dryer, stained towels, scratched walls all from moving furniture. We didn't charge you for the window yet as we are waiting for insurance. All damages perfectly justified as you well know. NOBODY ELSE IS CHARGED - ONLY YOU - and to try to pretend otherwise... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House

Address: 174 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Hotel Cambridge

23 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay