We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Lodge Hotel

210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    10
    14
    5
See reviews for
9
12
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Working for a locally based business in High Wycombe, but living in the North West, means I need some local accommodation. The Clifton is excellent for my needs: good value for money, free Wi-Fi, easy parking, clean rooms, excellent cooked breakfast and an evening meal menu. Friendly staff and management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Very friendly hotel with great service at a great price. Chef even amended choice on menu in short notice. Staff were amenable, rooms were nice and more importantly clean. Plenty of parking space and ideally situated for getting around. Would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tewantin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I was greeted warmly by the staff for my two night stay. Luckily my younger male cousin was with me as I had been put on the top floor with the narrowest of staircases leading to my attic room and he carried my luggage. I would assume the staff would have helped otherwise. I was very hot the first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I stayed 1 night at this small hotel & was very pleasantly surprised at how good it was for the price. The Receptionist was so friendly and helpful - as were all of the staff - and made me feel immediately welcome. The room was immaculately clean with a newly refurbished bathroom and lovely hot shower. At first I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in room 9, single with ensuite shower. Good size room for a single - bathroom small but totally adequate. On main road but good double glazing. Water took time to heat up but it is a large building so to be expected. Once it arrived was hot and shower powerful. I can only comment on my room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Room and en-suite clean (also warm), Bed comfortable, Breakfast good, easy to find from M40, Staff helpful and approachable, carpark off the road and big enough. For the price could not ask for more for an overnight stay. (A corridor is a corridor with reference to an earlier review).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Not a bad hotel for a limited budget. The management are on the ball and helpful. The facilities are fine, the rooms clean, and the immaculate bathroom even had a TV for you to watch in the bath! My only criticism is that the room was very cold when I arrived and took hours to warm up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
121 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

A large carpark on arrival and warm greeting from the receptionist as soon as you press the bell. Had to ask about most of the information like wifi,breakfast and evening meals. The room itself is okay just big enough for one but was very cold, I put the heater up to the max but didn't really get much warmer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wem, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

we stayed in this hotel for one night this was a business trip. The hotel is quite nice as you enter reception but the rooms are old and dated the bed was so old that when you moved on it there was the most awful creaking it kept you awake all night after a day's work this is not good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to here you were disappointed with your stay. The ensuite with TV, shower and spa bath were installed 6 months ago. The room you were in had an antique 4 poster bed with solid oak furniture. We are sorry you did not appreciate this type of quality style. Drinks were being served... More 

Travelers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The staff were friendly and informative. There are plenty of comfortable sofa's downstairs and a TV lounge. The bed was comfortable and our room was clean. The hotel's stairs and corridors are dated and dirty. The carpet is especially dirty. Our room was very much on the small side. Ideal for a low cost overnight stay. I wouldn't recommend staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities