We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Lodge Hotel

210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Clifton Lodge Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    18
    13
    15
    8
See reviews for
11
14
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived on the 29th.the odour in the room was aweful.the kitchen extractor fan was outside our room.nail clippings on the floor,old finger plaster and a dirty valance sheet.after a very long day we just wanted to sleep.the next morning no staff around.spent the day working and got back again no staff.kept awake by staff chatting in the kitchen then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your second comment Apologies if there was some misunderstanding about your condition. We ensure that our rooms are cleaned to a high standard and were surprised about your comments. The rooms are double checked before a guest arrives. We have already informed you that the extractor was not on. Our staff are always available in the day... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed one night at the August Bank Holiday (Saturday), we were given room 1A, on the ground floor in another building across from the main part of the hotel. First off, we opened the door OK, but spent about 20 mins trying to get the key out of the door, but couldn't get it out. We went back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is a mile or so from the centre of High Wycombe on a main road that is poorly served by public transport. But it does have a large car park. It has an annexe next door which looks like another converted house. It certainly isn't a de-luxe hotel but the price I paid reflected that. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time here.... and last, will definitely not return and I certainly will never recommend this place to anyone. To start, our room was above the kitchen, at midnight we could here the staff banging about chatting and being noisy, they may not realise this so perhaps the management should advise??!! Then we have the awful smell of the kitchens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for written comments We were sorry that you did not enjoy your 4 day stay this rather cold wet bank holiday. We were obviously aware of your wifes heavy pregnant condition and your apparent depressed state and made sure that no extractors were turned on to disturb you. The staff were concerned about your condition and stressed behaviour... More 

Travelers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying for one night and on approach looked ok, entered our room and it's ok, it's not the worst but not the best but ok to get your head down. We went to have some food at there restaurant and I seen rump steak on the menu and was described as 8oz rump with chips, mushrooms and seasonal veg, full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments again. We were pleased that the room was satisfactory for you. We apologise for the overcooked steak. The staff prepared another one for you but that was still not too your liking. Fresh Vegetables available that night were fresh carrots, fresh parsnips and fresh leeks.These could have be ordered instead of peas. Prices of food... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We attended an afternoon party at the hotel recently. The garden and grounds are well maintained and make for a lovely setting for a summer party. All the staff tried hard to make the occasion a success and could not have been more helpful. A great BBQ was served along with some excellent and tasty salads. Mass catering meant that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at a cost of £83 in room 6a. This particular room is poorly thought out - door won't open fully as there is a chair directly behind the door. The huge, deep television means you cannot reach the wardrobe easily. The generally shabby appearance of the room, with very dirty windows, had only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your input. We are are sorry you had some issues with your stay. We will of course ensure the window is cleaned to a higher standard and rearrange the chair and Tv. We were sorry to hear that your breakfast was apparently not to our usual perfection. We were very busy that morning and it was very hot... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Last Sunday a large party of us attended an after christening party at this establishment. Overall it it was rather good. They did run out of plates a number of times, but soon got more. The service was nice and friendly. We were able to sit in the garden after a shower of rain. All in all a nice time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Working for a locally based business in High Wycombe, but living in the North West, means I need some local accommodation. The Clifton is excellent for my needs: good value for money, free Wi-Fi, easy parking, clean rooms, excellent cooked breakfast and an evening meal menu. Friendly staff and management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Very friendly hotel with great service at a great price. Chef even amended choice on menu in short notice. Staff were amenable, rooms were nice and more importantly clean. Plenty of parking space and ideally situated for getting around. Would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#8 of 16 in High Wycombe
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe
Premier Inn High Wycombe
#4 of 16 in High Wycombe
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay