We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Lodge Hotel

3.0 of 5 210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    9
    14
    5
See reviews for
7
12
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large carpark on arrival and warm greeting from the receptionist as soon as you press the bell. Had to ask about most of the information like wifi,breakfast and evening meals. The room itself is okay just big enough for one but was very cold, I put the heater up to the max but didn't really get much warmer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wem, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

we stayed in this hotel for one night this was a business trip. The hotel is quite nice as you enter reception but the rooms are old and dated the bed was so old that when you moved on it there was the most awful creaking it kept you awake all night after a day's work this is not good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to here you were disappointed with your stay. The ensuite with TV, shower and spa bath were installed 6 months ago. The room you were in had an antique 4 poster bed with solid oak furniture. We are sorry you did not appreciate this type of quality style. Drinks were being served... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The staff were friendly and informative. There are plenty of comfortable sofa's downstairs and a TV lounge. The bed was comfortable and our room was clean. The hotel's stairs and corridors are dated and dirty. The carpet is especially dirty. Our room was very much on the small side. Ideal for a low cost overnight stay. I wouldn't recommend staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Stayed here recently on business after being fooled into thinking it was a hotel when it is little more than a contractors B&B. Don't get me wrong as it is clean enough but is still pretty basic with paper thin walls that allow next doors telly noise through. The one thing that annoyed me was the advertised free wi fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly and helpful, Room clean and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and cooked what you wanted. Plenty of car park space. Big garden out back to enjoy and sit in. We had 3 double rooms (3 Couples ) all at same standards :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Booked the night before arrived on laterooms. Staff very polite and very helpful. A ten minute walk to town. The room was a nice surprise for the price I paid. (£65) Very clean and modern, and the bathroom was very nice. Perfect for a one night business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed her one night whilst on a course. Admin lady ar work booked me in here. Was dismayed when I walked in. Grubby place with even grubbier staff who at first I mistook for guests. My room was small but clean and bathroom had recently been refurbished so this made it bearable. Corridors and publiuc areas need complete overhaul. Carpets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. Our in depth renovation of the rooms is almost complete. We need to finish the rooms before the hallways can be updated.We are aware that the reception and restaurant now need some general redecorating and this is also in our program. We vacuum the carpets daily and the carpet in the reception bar and lounge... More 

Amersham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Really good value. Not in the best location but not too far from anything you might need. Friendly and attentive staff. Really good size room and bathroom for the money we paid. Plenty of essentials in the room such as tea, coffee, shampoo, towels etc. thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A very dodgy place to stay is all I can say, be careful when you use your bank cards for payment. I had my card debited multiple times for one tranactionfor for a stay over the weekend of 5th July 2014. When I called to ask the customer service team to rectify the situation, I was taken through a merry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your feed back. We again apologise for the admin error. As explained already your booking was unfortunately charged twice because two different rooms were allocated to you.This hotel is not run by unscrupulous persons and security is 100%. When we found the problem you card was credited immediately and a copy of the £68.00 credit slip... More 

racbak
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights in early July for a Wedding. We paid the extra £10.00 for an upgraded room and were glad we did. Room not overly large, but very clean with a comfortable bed, although a bit small! Bathroom was spotless, and power shower a bonus! Staff we met were all super friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Lodge Hotel

Address: 210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Clifton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Lodge Hotel High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay