We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland Apartments

30-36 Upper York Street, Bristol BS2 8QN, England
You added Portland Apartments to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I can't speak highly enough of Portland Brown. Both Archfield and Hotwells apartments were top draw and the reservation staff were always helpful. The accommodation is of high quality and a joy to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Archfield Apartments on a visit to Bristol late Feb this year and thoroughly enjoyed the experience . Friendly , helpful service and nothing was a problem The Apartment we stayed in was spacious , clean , well appointed and just a really nice place to stay jane & Tom

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked Portland Apartments through booking.com after Christmas for a weekend in February. I received confirmation of the booking which was Portland Apartments in Archfield Road, Bristol, which were adjacent to my sisters accommodation who i was paying a surprise birthday visit. The week in which I was travelling I received an email looking for my billing address - I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki B, General Manager at Portland Apartments, responded to this review

I have just read your comments and I am extremely sorry that your experience with Portland Apartments has been less than satisfactory. Despite everything you mention, customer satisfaction is of paramount importance to us. I apologise we have only just seen your comments but unfortunately due to the nature of the majority of our bookings being corporate, Tripadvisor is not... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recommended the Archfield Road apartments to my sister and her young family for a weekend celebration as I live very close. 4 days before they arrived, they called to find out what the checking in process was and were promptly told they had been moved to Hotwells. When asking when they were going to be told about this change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nikki B, General Manager at Portland Apartments, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry that your weekend celebration was hampered by moving you to an alternative apartment. I am equally sorry that you found out by contacting us and you were left feeling disappointed and frustrated. I have noted that there are a few cases of this having been reported now which is simply unacceptable. We have taken measures to... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have stayed in these apartments once out of 4 times of booking. The first stay was pleasant. However, each subsequent booking has fallen through thanks to Portland Apartments failure to honour my reservation! The first time was due to a broken boiler, the second a leaking roof, the third a customer extending... there was always a reason of course,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

First of all, this is an apartment more than a hotel.There is no lobby or concierge onsite. After a bit of a rocky start when I arrived I realised the owner was very anxious to make good on an overlooked/ignored request and she has bent over backwards to make my stay a nice one. You are welcomed with a bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We never actually stayed in these apartments. I booked a month before for the Archfield Road apartments. I contacted Portland Apartments 2 weeks prior to our arrival to check on the booking as I had not heard anything. I was told we would receive an email a few days before our stay. We received the email on the Tuesday before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.