We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 86 Bristol hotels

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Sugar House | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin & Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #8 of 86 hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014
Aiden3 Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (477)
  • Photos (68)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (92)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    150
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
34
274
13
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 28 years of marriage We booked their special Friday night tonic costing £195 inc of dinner. We ended up paying £350 because their drinks are so expensive and we did not expect such a high service charge. But worst than that they only have a few car parking slots and so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your time. Apologies that you were not able to get one of the few hotel parking spaces, however there is the alternative of the NCP across the road where we have a discount. More

Kent
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Hotel Du Vin chain offers great hotels for those weekend get aways. Bristol is no exception. Apart from the limited parking (8 Spaces - there is a NCP across the road a t £15 for the night), the hotel is delightful. Great rooms, lovely staff, great bar and wonderful Breakfast. Worth a punt!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. Please say hello when you next stay as its always nice to get to know our regulars. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Many thanks for an enjoyable weekend. I was slightly hesitant about some of the bad reviews this hotel had, but it was unfounded. We stayed in a front facing room but has triple glazing and didn't hear any traffic. Massive bathroom and piping hot shower. Took advantage of the fixed price menu included in the room rate and was slightly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we will get housekeeping to have a look at the pillows! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stay at this hotel a lot and really like it. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms are fantastic -modern but classic. The baths are great for soaking in. Good in room facilities with nespresso coffee machines which is a nice touch. The suites are really good and worth paying the extra. The restaurant and bar are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. We will make sure our night staff are doing their best to keep the smokers out of the courtyard after 11pm. More

England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a lovely hotel. Our standard room was spacious and comfortable - lovely big bed with feather duvet and pillows and a large bathroom with a roll top bath and walk in shower. All the staff that we came into contact with were polite, attentive and welcoming. The food was lovely and the restaurant and bar had a great atmosphere.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future. More

Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel du vin on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and we upgraded to a suite so it was £299 all in. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and all the staff were lovely, service was second to none. We were in the Dom Perignon suite which was an enormous room with a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We really appreciate your time. Please be aware that we have plenty of large bright rooms on the first and second floor that would maybe suit you better should you thing of returning in the future. More

West Midlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

On arrival, the checking in process was quick and painless; we were then shown to our room which was on the first floor and was nice. Décor was fresh and clean and the bathroom was spacious with a large roll top bath and large walk-in shower which I just about fitted under the rainfall shower head being quite tall. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

THank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed it, especially the food. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The only thing I can recommend here is the food. Other than that, don’t bother. We explored several hotels in Bristol for our wedding – for ourselves and many guests who were staying from the US. In the end we got a great rate from the Marriott Bristol Royal – where we initially stayed and all our guests stayed for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay. We were very concerned about the problems you had and would be delighted to talk to you in more detail should you wish to contact us directly. More

DC971
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Looked at the reviews and booked here for 2 nights. I am struggling to say anything positive - Noisy room,both street noise and other rooms noise, uncomfortable bed, no bottle of water in room (£4.00 for a 750ml bottle), odd bed arrangement very difficult to get in and out of, no blackout curtains so room very light in early morning,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations. I would be very keen to discuss your comments further, so would be delighted in you contacted me directly. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was really excited about coming here due to it's reputation and the things I had read. We were shown into the main restaurant area and it was absolutely boiling with no air conditioning! There was no music and the atmosphere was lacking a bit.We ordered some cocktails which were delicious. I ordered chicken and enquired if it came with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent visit. I would like to apologise for the poor service you received and would like to assure you that your comments will be used in a constructive manner to further compliment our staff training programme. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel du Vin & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol #9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol #14 Business Hotel in Bristol #16 Family Hotel in Bristol
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer