We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 89 Bristol B&Bs / inns

Clifton House

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Tyndall's Park Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England
Hotel amenities
Clifton House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clifton House to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 89 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
katie s London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    86
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
81
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for work as it was close to the office. Was pleasantly surprised by the size of the bedroom. A lovely old building with huge windows and high ceilings, so very spacious room. Had its own bathroom, and plenty of storage space. Tea/coffee/hair dryer.etc Receptionist was very friendly and full English was included in price so all in all a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was very large but it seemed a bit basic and with little character. The bathroom looked a little worn. It was fine - but not sure it's worthy of a 4* rating. Unfortunately the hotel was very cold - not ideal when it was minus temperatures outside! On the plus side - free parking was great and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night as we had tickets for a concert at Colston Hall and the combination of parking onsite,a large comfortable room and a decent breakfast for £95 seemed good value. It was and the staff were very friendly and helpful.Only issue was the wifi which was too weak for us to get a stream. Only a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at clifton House for a night away and we had a lovely evening we had a lovely big room with lovely decor, the staff were very kind and helpful and would do anything to help. Breakfast was excellent and there was a lot to choose from with fruit salads , yoghurt and 4 different choices of cereals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just arrived at the hotel, late. I didn't know I had to arrive before 9.30pm (I arrived at 9.50pm) but this was my greeting (and the receptionist blamed the university who made the booking on my behalf for not informing me). Among other things, when I complained about the amount of condensation on the large (rather beautiful) windows,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Clifton House for 2 nights to attend a wedding nearby. The Hotel was very conveniently located for us. We paid extra for a bigger room which seemed comparatively good value for money. Why one star? There is no safe in the room. My wife removed her gold necklace and placed it on the desk so she could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cliftonhouse, General Manager at Clifton House, responded to this review

Dear NMFB. We are very sorry to hear what happened with your wife's gold necklace. We don't have any safes in the rooms however we do have a safe in the reception/office area that you can leave any valuables in, all this information is in the information folders which was in your room, All our rooms have housekeeping as a... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night . Perfect location for Clifton village and Bristol. Friendly welcoming staff. Very comfortable room and delicious breakfast in delightful dining room. What not to like ? Would definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Very well appointed B&B, comfortable and for me the best was the gluten free options at breakfast. Good location, close enough to walk into Bristol City Centre as well as Clifton Village and the suspension bridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

As an ex Bristolian and am often back there and have tried all the different budget options. This venue provides style comfort and secure parking included (where you often get stung by city centre hotels too). This stylish and beautiful location just behind the BBC in Bristol, is ideally placed for Clifton and just a pleasant 10-15 min walk past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We chose Clifton House for an overnight stay in Bristol and it didn't disappoint. Stylish decor and a friendly welcome, we were very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty, our one critisism is that the hot water for tea had gone cold, but we did come down quite late. Great to have parking, and be able to leave our car a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Address: 4 Tyndall's Park Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clifton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Bristol
Tyndalls Park Bristol

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay