We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Bristol hotels

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saint Paul's Rd., Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
The Clifton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
35%
Ranked #55 of 88 hotels in Bristol
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    55
    64
    55
See reviews for
31
68
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is evident from all my other reviews that I am not a serial moaner BUT this hotel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The shabby fittings, shoebox size rooms,stale smells and general dilapidated air were bad enough. For example we sat down in the reception area and a light bulb fell out of the ceiling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear about your stay at The Clifton and disappointed in the level of care and service provided to you. I am sorry you were given misleading information as to when the music would play until and that you were disturbed by noise from other guests and the bar. I am working to put... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's get the pluses out of the way first: 1) it's in a good location. Now let's explore the minuses: 1) it's filthy. 2) it smells of dead people and sick. 3) it's unbelievably noisy. 4) there isn't room to swing a cat. 5) did I mention that it smells of dead people and sick? Try not to retch the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry and quite upset to hear how little you enjoyed your stay at the Clifton. The smell of the hotel is not an aspect anyone had commented on before and cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on receiving generally high feedback on. I hope that you are never faced with the choice of death or... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night and thought it was really good! The staff were really helpful, made you feel welcome and efficent. The room was fine, no problems and the food was nice and in a great location and good value for money. I couldn't fault it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. As a small and independent business feedback is very important to us. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future. More

UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We required a hotel in Clifton with parking facilities which was provided by the Clifton. Having read other reviews I made sure that our room was located away from the main sources of noise - above the bar. In fact our room was on the 2nd floor and to one side - overlooking Westbourne Place. We arrived early and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us, as a small and independent business feedback is very important to us. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the helpfulness of the staff and that the Clifton provided a comfortable budget location for your overnight stay with all the facilities you needed. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed Saturday 15th March, the hotel is very dated although the room we had had been recently decorated, the bed was so uncomfortable all you could feel were springs poking through ! There was a stag party staying there and the noise was terrible it went on all night , they were shouting and running up and down the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable night sleep with us at the Clifton. Following your comments we will be auditing all beds in the hotel to renew where necessary. I am sorry also that you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel. We have staff present 24 hours a day to... More

west midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last night following a wedding. Very dated hotel and rooms need a makeover. Mattress and pillows hard. The worst thing was the noise caused by a group of men on a stag do. First lot of noise was at 3am. My daughter asked them to hush or go to bar. With much door banging of doors, off they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and the restaurant and so sorry you were disturbed by noise. We staff the hotel 24 hours a day and our night staff are always on hand to help control noise made by returning guests. We try to keep any groups to lower floors and together to avoid noise to... More

Winslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

A mixed review. Stayed for 3 nights on business. Positives: great staff, excellent food, great vibe in the bar/restaurant and coffee bar, good location. A bit "grungy"/bohemian, but it added to the charm. Negatives: small single room, old/dated furnishings, creaky floors, thin walls, old carpets. Would love to rate it higher but it needs a major refurbishment. Personally I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad to hear that you would stay with us gain in the future and enjoyed the vibe, food and staff. You will be pleased to hear that we are running a rolling refurbishment replacing areas most in need on a routine basis so thank you for your feedback to help us with this. More

Mayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have stayed before, so it was a return visit. Travelling with a dog obviously limits our choices, but nevertheless we were impressed enough by our first visit to book again. What we liked about the hotel was that it had an element of individuality that is often missing in city centre establishments. The staff, on both visits were really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us, as a small and independent business feedback is greatly appreciated. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and I’m glad this made a positive impact on your stay. I hope we can welcome you and your dog back again in the future. More

Bethlehem, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The front line staff were great. The manager was less than helpful when we tried to get a problem fixed. We were told that no manager was on duty and then a manager did not call for a week. The manager blamed her own staff for the problems and then did nothing about helping us with our problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that I did not respond to your problem whilst I was away on holiday. I am also sorry that you feel I was blaming my staff for the problems as I was simply trying to explain how the issues had occurred. I am sorry that you were disturbed by another guest in the hotel but... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Noisy ground floor room on a Friday night with noise from above and outside well into early hours. Thin walls and poor lighting in the room meant you had to get dressed in the dark as windows were on street level. Very basic room, clean with essentials. The hallway outside the room inexplicably smelled of raw sewage. Cafe and restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from outside, our central location does mean that we are affected by the nose of people out in the evening. If you are staying again in the future please do request one of our quiet rooms towards the back of the hotel and away from the noise... More

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: Saint Paul's Rd., Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.