We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5
St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clifton Hotel
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    82
    72
    78
    74
See reviews for
46
89
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stay in Bristol fairly often and have been really disappointed with the Clifton. The rooms are horribly run down; even for a cheaper hotel, the Clifton still markets itself as nice quality, and I therefore wouldn't expect upholstery stains, threadbare rugs, faded carpets and stained, peeling bathroom floors. The staff is really nice, but unfortunately the hotel needs serious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really lovely staff and rooms were a reasonable size. Well appointed room with powerful shower and a good size bed. We stayed here for a night of peace away from kids and it was just the ticket. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night. It was difficult to find as it does not have a visible sign outside. Staff really friendly but the hotel was lacking. On first inspection of the twin room it looked clean but don't look too deeply. The toilet was not clean, the shower surround was dirty. The shower was useless. The bedding was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear coolcathyCornwall, Thank you very much for your review of The Clifton Hotel. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests to ensure that we are constantly improving. I am very sorry to hear that you found the cleanliness in the bathroom to be lacking and the shower pressure useless. I will be addressing these issues with my... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm sad to say that I had the worst nights sleep I have ever had at this hotel! The hotel is above a popular bar/club, which is extremely noisy. The club closes at about 1am, which then means you get the club goers who are staying at the hotel pouring in, very noisy. One even tried to get into my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lulu_pudpud, Thank you very much for taking the times to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from Racks Bar & Kitchen. We do courtesy call all of our guests prior to arrival to ensure that are aware of any events... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed this weekend for my friends birthday and were immediately struck by the friendly atmosphere of the place. Being new to the area, the Receptionist (blonde lady) was really helpful, letting us know all the best places to go in the city. My twin room was fairly basic but comfortable enough, pretty good for the price and location! Theres... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacky B, Thank you for your lovely review of The Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money. I am so happy to hear that you found the receptionists to be helpful and informative and I will be sure to pass... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly and a reasonable location but the room, especially the bathroom, was grubby and in need of updating. Not suitable if you are a light sleeper or early riser. Our room was on the ground floor and the noise from the bar was horrendous and made sleep impossible (it carried on until the early hours of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear greenday41, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback in extremely important to us as it helps us to improve our product and the service we offer. I am so pleased to hear that you found the front of house team to be friendly and accommodating. Our team works extremely hard to... More 

oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most disappointing hotel experience of recent years. It took 10 or 15 minutes for a receptionist to turn up when we arrived after a long journey. When we got a key to our room we couldn't get it to work in the lock. The receptionist reacted as though we were idiots, but it took him 10 goes and even then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StewyOxford, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found the customer service to be lacking. I am very sorry that you found the bathroom to be less than adequate for... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent location, super staff, good breakfast (£8.50 if not included in room rate). Book direct to get wifi included in room rate, otherwise £2.50 for 1 hour, £4.00 for 1 day or more for longer stay. The baar downstairs is very nice when you're in it but take to ask for a room as far away as possible from it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel_Umsy, Thank you very much for reviewing The Clifton Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the free Wifi when booking directly with us. We do courtesy call all our guests prior to arrival if we know there is going to be an event on in the restaurant downstairs... More 

Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This hotel is good value for money. Excellent location, beautiful big Victorian rooms, near pubs, restaurants, and walking distance from the cathedral. Would always recommend staying here. They have a restaurant downstairs, great grill and good food and drinks. Bad side of this hotel is that they charge you for wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LuisBricksoul, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you would recommend us. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of Bristol only a... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Stayed here for two nights for a work trip. I was a little shocked by how very basic the rooms were for over 65 a night for a single, completely basic. The shower was the merest of dribbles! The staff were lovely though and moved me to a new room when I complained about the noise. I loved the fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oozeworthypayana, Thank you very much for your review of The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry that you found the room to be basic and the shower to be less than satisfactory. We are in the process of refurbishing our more traditional rooms to be the same standard as our executive rooms. I am happy to hear that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question