We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 85 Bristol hotels

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
The Clifton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Bristol
A recent review
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    65
    70
    67
See reviews for
38
80
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

3 nights for £189 not including breakfast............single room realy really tiny, black mould on windows, loose electrical sockets, bathroom ceiling spotlight hanging in a hole in the plaster, large damp patches on walls and bedroom ceiling. I expected basic but this was a bit extreme and then in the morning no water coming from bath taps but eventually managed a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jmf61519, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will certainly be sure to pass this on to the front of house team. I am really disappointed to hear that you did... More

London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was disappointed in this hotel. It is reasonably priced and not too far to walk from the centre of town (although NB not Temple Meads station). It had 24hr reception and they had a basket of food and drink on sale throughout the night, which was handy. But the rooms and upstairs corridors (that I saw) were very shabby.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BluebirdLondon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are very lucky to be a short walk away from the city centre and to be situated in Clifton. I am however sorry to hear... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usually stay at Berkely Square, but it was unavailable so I went for The Clifton. On entering the Cafe Clifton to find the reception was two tables and a laptop over to one side, I knew this was going to be an experience. Checking in, obtaining the garage code etc. was a pleasant experience and the staff were friendly, welcoming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve W, Thank you so much for your review after staying at The Clifton with us recently. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff to be so friendly and efficient. I am also delighted to hear that you were happy with the complimentary items provided in the room. We are in the... More

derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights - in Bristol for daughter's wedding. All the staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. They booked taxis and provided scissors, replacement batteries and extra milk without any problem. The room was small but clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The fresh fruit and ground coffee were very welcome. It was good to have somewhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DerbyshireGoldenboy Thank you ever so much for reviewing The Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback really is of great help to us to improve our services and accommodation to make sure that every guest leaves feeling satisfied with their stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be helpful, on the ball and friendly which... More

liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Good location. Small rooms. Shabby decor. Failing ceiling. Decent price. Poor Wi-Fi. Free fruit. Lovely coffee. Top housekeeping. Swan-shaped towels ..... We would stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flike32, Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed the coffee, fruit and swan towels in the room and am delighted that you found The Clifton team to be friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass this on to both the front of house... More

toulouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was tiny, the carpet warn, the balcony disgusting, the curtains torn. You need to be small and thin to fit into the bathroom ! For 84£ a night without breakfast, it's the worst value for money I've seen and I travel every week...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel. I am really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your accommodation expectations. As a Grade II listed building our room sizes do vary, but I apologise that you were allocated the smallest... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights at the weekend. Unfortunately our room was right above the Racks bar garden so trying to sleep on a friday and saturday was difficult as the windows didn't do much to quieten the noise. It was uncomfortably warm in our room even though the radiator was off. We couldn't figure out where the heat was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MissHYip, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after staying with us recently. We really do appreciate feedback from our guests to recognise which areas are our strongest and which aspects we need to work on to achieve the highest levels of service and guest satisfaction. I am delighted to hear that... More

Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For our ten year reunion we decided to come to Bristol and as a first timer I made sure we were well informed as to where to stay. Clifon is stunning, much like Bath and the hotel itself grade listed, friendly and vibrant! There was a heating issue but reception were so efficient, there are no complaints to be had.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spyros V, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about The Clifton Hotel, the team will be delighted to hear that you and the rest of your party enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future when you are next visiting Bristol, so please do not hesitate... More

Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, the reception desk is just a desk, and there are worn bits in the decor. If you want somewhere shiny and polished to stay then don't stay here, pick one of the anonymous euro-hotels in Bristol. If you want somewhere with a bit of character, a smile, and - let's face it - cheap I would heartily recommend this.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CornwallListener, Thank you very much for reviewing The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I am so very pleased to hear that you found all of the staff at The Clifton to be welcoming and helpful. The team will be thrilled by... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and really like it. The rooms are basic but with really nice touches like fresh fruit and real coffee. Bedding towels, etc are always spotless and the staff are great. I recommend the veggie breakfast too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate C, Many thanks for your positive comments following your most recent stay with us at The Clifton Hotel and for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased to hear that everything in your room to meets your satisfaction and that you enjoy the fresh fruit and fresh coffee. Thank you also for your feedback about... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay