We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clifton Hotel
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    65
    70
    68
See reviews for
38
81
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was having a catch up with some old friends and was looking for somewhere to stay in bristol. On a positive, the location is great and is in walking distance of both lively areas of Clifton and bristol city centre. The rooms were on the small side but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was more than satisfactory.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked two nights but checked out after one. Absolute dump of a place. I don't know if they have a vacuum cleaner for the 'reception' area but certainly hasn't been used. The smell of the restaurant was hard to describe, apart from unpleasant, whilst the smell from the corridors was on strong disinfectant. Wonder why ? The double room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good ratio between price and quality! Stay for 4 nights, room was clean-up every day. Clean but old! My co worker was in another room more recent but mine was old. Curtains left in my hand when opening, Windows need to be replaced. But for the price in Clifton it's ok!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear El_lapinou, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. Our standard Double Rooms are more traditional than our newly refurbished Executive Rooms. We are in the process of refurbishing more of our rooms but as you can imagine this is a long and time consuming process. I am pleased to hear that you found... More 

Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night while attending a conference in Bristol. Fairly close to the centre of town with not too bad a walk up the hill but very convenient for the University. OK it has to be said this hotel is a bit on the tatty side with worn carpets and furniture that looks a tad battered but, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DrNostromo, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be warm and cozy. I am sorry that you found the room to be tired and the bathroom slightly cramped. We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms but as you can imagine this... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 nights for £189 not including breakfast............single room realy really tiny, black mould on windows, loose electrical sockets, bathroom ceiling spotlight hanging in a hole in the plaster, large damp patches on walls and bedroom ceiling. I expected basic but this was a bit extreme and then in the morning no water coming from bath taps but eventually managed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jmf61519, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will certainly be sure to pass this on to the front of house team. I am really disappointed to hear that you did... More 

London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was disappointed in this hotel. It is reasonably priced and not too far to walk from the centre of town (although NB not Temple Meads station). It had 24hr reception and they had a basket of food and drink on sale throughout the night, which was handy. But the rooms and upstairs corridors (that I saw) were very shabby.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BluebirdLondon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are very lucky to be a short walk away from the city centre and to be situated in Clifton. I am however sorry to hear... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Usually stay at Berkely Square, but it was unavailable so I went for The Clifton. On entering the Cafe Clifton to find the reception was two tables and a laptop over to one side, I knew this was going to be an experience. Checking in, obtaining the garage code etc. was a pleasant experience and the staff were friendly, welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve W, Thank you so much for your review after staying at The Clifton with us recently. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff to be so friendly and efficient. I am also delighted to hear that you were happy with the complimentary items provided in the room. We are in the... More 

derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed two nights - in Bristol for daughter's wedding. All the staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. They booked taxis and provided scissors, replacement batteries and extra milk without any problem. The room was small but clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The fresh fruit and ground coffee were very welcome. It was good to have somewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DerbyshireGoldenboy Thank you ever so much for reviewing The Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback really is of great help to us to improve our services and accommodation to make sure that every guest leaves feeling satisfied with their stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be helpful, on the ball and friendly which... More 

liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Good location. Small rooms. Shabby decor. Failing ceiling. Decent price. Poor Wi-Fi. Free fruit. Lovely coffee. Top housekeeping. Swan-shaped towels ..... We would stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flike32, Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed the coffee, fruit and swan towels in the room and am delighted that you found The Clifton team to be friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass this on to both the front of house... More 

toulouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was tiny, the carpet warn, the balcony disgusting, the curtains torn. You need to be small and thin to fit into the bathroom ! For 84£ a night without breakfast, it's the worst value for money I've seen and I travel every week...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel. I am really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your accommodation expectations. As a Grade II listed building our room sizes do vary, but I apologise that you were allocated the smallest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay