We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clifton Hotel
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    67
    72
    71
See reviews for
41
84
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (320)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you stay in a cheap hotel you might expect it to be a bit scruffy and/or noisy. But this isn't cheap and it's very shabby and dirty. For example, the wall next to my bed was supposed to be white - but was actually a grimy brown colour where so many other people's bodies had rubbed against it -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BristolEagle, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Clifton Hotel, guest feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us improve our product and the service we offer. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am very surprised that... More 

Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night, the room is not the biggest, but it is perfectly adequate for the price we paid. We were up on the top floor which meant noise was a minimum and we had a good look out over bristol. My boyfriend loved that there was a bath and enjoyed spending time in there! I also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear barmy_bex, Thank you very much for you kind review of the Clifton Hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money. I will pass your comments onto our front of house team, they are always thrilled to hear positive feedback and they do... More 

Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a double & single room for ourselves & our daughter but when we arrived we were surprised that our rooms were on different floors. We had a ground floor room above a room used for functions & it was so noisy!!! We were kept awake most of the night. So was our daughter on the floor above. Why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear zeem2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve our product and the service that we offer. I am saddened to hear that you found the rooms to be dirty and shabby. We usually only receive positive comments regarding the cleanliness... More 

Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a nightmare. The worst night in any hotel ever!! Function taking place until 12.30am and the music was so so loud. Then revellers from the function started partying in a room nearby with loud screams and bad language until 2.30am, and then the staff leaving the party chatting loudly outside our ground floor window until 2.40am. Finally some sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the event happening in Racks Bar and Kitchen. We do courtesy call all our guests the day before arrival if we know there is going... More 

Bath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well where do I start! First night I was woken up with water pouring from ceiling, which ruined my phone and charger and went on clothes, the fire alarm then went off. Evacuation procedure was a joke, we were kept in reception! I then asked to move as my room was covered in water! Got moved to an awful room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenna C, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. I apologise that you were unable to speak to me at the time but I do believe my Assistant Manager was on hand to deal with any issues just as adequately... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a single 'executive' room from Booking.com though I can't say the room I got was 'executive'. I double checked and was told it was an executive room. To say the room was tiny is an understatement. I'm relatively short (5ft 4) but I could touch three walls at the same time without actually stretching that much. The onsuite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becky G, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you found the room to be small. As a grade two listed building all our rooms do vary in size and we are more than happy to offer room moves if our guests are unsatisfied. We are in... More 

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a great time there, me and my boyfriend slept very well and the food was awesome...they have a very good customer services and i hope can return soon and have the same experience... I recommend it 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nella F, Thank you very much for your kind review of the Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our team work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests leave the hotel satisfied. It is great to hear that you would like to stay with us... More 

Newquay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decided to stay here as relatives advised Clifton was a lovely place, which it definitely is. Arrived at 1 but couldn't check in until 2 so had a coffee in the pleasant cafe in the reception area. Reception was a desk in the cafe, not sure if that's permanent or temporary due to work going on. On checking into room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark H, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you found the room to be dusty and the smell of paint from recent decorating to be overwhelming. I am pleased to hear that our reception team were concerned and offered for you to move rooms. I... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Cost was our main criteria, and this hotel met our requirements in that regard. The rooms were clean, but could do with updating, which is in progress I believe. Breakfast was very good, but what stopped me rating one mark higher was the very warm room (23) but the radiator was not one. Whilst the window opened, the noise from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ahughf, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Clifton Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you found us to be good value for money. I will pass your kind comment regarding the cleanliness of the room to our Housekeeping Team, they are always thrilled... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I was having a catch up with some old friends and was looking for somewhere to stay in bristol. On a positive, the location is great and is in walking distance of both lively areas of Clifton and bristol city centre. The rooms were on the small side but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was more than satisfactory.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jc1111112014, Thank you very for your kind review of the Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a great location for enjoying local attractions such as Clifton Village, the Suspension Bridge, Bristol Zoo and many more. I am very happy that you found the room to be comfortable... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay