We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clifton Hotel
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    79
    69
    74
    73
See reviews for
43
86
42
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Rugby, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a nice building and full of character. Personally I prefer hotels with nooks, crannies and squeeky floorboards like this, rather than the faceless euroboxes and big chain brands. The Clifton is in a great location, with some quite cosmopolitan bars and restaurants on the doorstep. The reception lobby is funky and trendy, with a nice ambiance while the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interested in Bristol?
Get deals, advice and ideas on what to do.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My father visited Bristol recently, and as he booked his flight only a few days before the trip, it was very difficult to find a spare room near my house that didnt scrape our wallets. We paid over £75 per night, for an absolutely tiny, single room. Fair enough, we had left it quite late and that was our fault.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a 2 night stay for my husbands birthday. Sadly, the room was very run down and worst of all there is a party room underneath the room we stayed in and the noise from this was, no kidding, deafening. We complained but we're told the hotel was full, so we lay awake above a thudding speaker stack until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bev084, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your husband’s Birthday was ruined by the noise from the event downstairs in Racks Bar & Kitchen. I am disappointed to hear that you found the room to be run down, our... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel while we were visiting the University in Fall 2013. It seemed ok at first, check-in was nice and easy and parking was explained. I was not expecting a luxury hotel and it was only for one night, but when we got to our room and it was pretty run down. In no circumstances did I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bcb22_12, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am disappointed that you found the room to be run down. We have refurbished a number of our rooms in the last year and have plans to do more this year. I believe that in October 2013 the city was... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a room for one night and didn't want to spend a fortune. I was a bit dubious about this hotel, but having left it a bit late to book at an exceptionally busy time, I didn't end up with much choice without blowing the budget. Lucky me. Next time, this hotel will be top of my list. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen I, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you enjoyed the various complimentary items that we provide in all of our rooms. You are absolutely correct, we... More 

Wedmore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel late afternoon, greeted by the duty manager and a very polite young lady working in the Clifton Caffe. Booked through late rooms in January and wasn't sure what to expect having read some reviews. Our room was described as recently refurbished and was reasonably spacious, good size bathroom and situated on the ground floor. Although we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AKM72, Thank you so much for your kind review of The Clifton Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to the front of house team. Clifton is a great area and we are so lucky to be so close to a variety of bars, restaurants... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was not a cheap hotel, the room was described when booked as "recently refurbished, with furnishing to a superior standard" It wasn't The wallpaper was pealing off the walls, the bathroom stank of bleach, the shower head had fungus growing in it, the whole room was shabby. Location was above the pub and external music played till 10.30, then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GraemeB01, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve our product and the service we offer. I have addressed the issues that you mentioned with my Housekeeping Manager. We usually only receive positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. I am sorry... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy but could have done with a little tlc. Some fittings were slightly loose and the paintwork needed a little 'touch-up'. But generally the room was satisfactory for our needs. Some information regarding the restaurant, breakfast facilities and local area would have been useful in the bedroom as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia C, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We are in the process of updating the information folders for our rooms but our front of house team are available 24... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wasn't expecting much for the price I paid, but from the moment I arrived the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I had arrived before check in but the receptionist was very willing to take my bags for me, and recommend things to do in the area in the mean time. My room, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our front of house team to be friendly and accommodating. I will pass your kind comments onto the team – they are always... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

If you stay in a cheap hotel you might expect it to be a bit scruffy and/or noisy. But this isn't cheap and it's very shabby and dirty. For example, the wall next to my bed was supposed to be white - but was actually a grimy brown colour where so many other people's bodies had rubbed against it -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BristolEagle, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Clifton Hotel, guest feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us improve our product and the service we offer. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am very surprised that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay