We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 86 Bristol hotels

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
The Clifton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
35%
Ranked #55 of 86 hotels in Bristol
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
KEC123
  • Overview
  • Reviews (279)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (54)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    58
    66
    62
See reviews for
34
74
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have never knowingly stayed in a 2* hotel before but for a last minute weekend with the girls this ticked all our boxes. Great Clifton location-above Racks and only a ten minute walk to Park St bars and shops. Our double room at the back of the hotel was out of the sun so quite cool. The other room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights in July '14 for work. My room was on the ground floor and the window was right next to the road, so I couldn't open it when I was sleeping despite the room being stiflingly hot. When I left the room one morning I was surprised to find that the window had been propped open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very kind and helpful staff. Spacious room with shabby deco though. Cleanliness not bad but they could have hovered the carpet at least once in five days (it's not too much asking for). Hotel in need of an overall relooking. Could have been better...could have been worse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as our friends had a wedding reception in Racks restaurant that is underneath the hotel. We didn't use the car park as managed to get park outside the hotel on the street right outside. I must admit on arrival I was a little nervous as the hotel reception is a desk. However the room was a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel although only two star is friendly, has a good secure car par, at 6.50 per day, and has some nice individual touches. The room we had was a twin, clean, with tea facility and fresh fruit on arrival. Towels on beds made into swan shape and looked attractive . Bathroom adequate, a little hot in the room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The quality of the furnishings in the tiny single room I had was very poor - reminiscent of a backpackers hostel rather than an £80/night hotel. The water pressure in the shower was terrible, and both the bathroom and the bedroom didn't seem to have been cleaned very well. The one saving grace was the staff working at the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beware... I booked a single room in this "cheap" hotel (in quality maybe, but not in cost) thinking that at least I'd get a couple decent nights of rest, based on the pictures of the place. The room was absolutely NOTHING like the pictures! I suppose they took a bunch of shots of one of the "executive" rooms, and craftily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed two nights the last week of June 2014 because I attended a conference at the university. So I chose this place mainly for the location, that it was good for my needs. The room was small but adequate for a single room but very very hot even in the night! The carpet was stained and old. The mattress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurettatta Thank you for your constructive feedback. We value all comments in order to better the service that we provide for guests. I am really disappointed to hear that there were cleaning issues with your bathroom and have addressed these problems with my house-keeping team to make sure that this does not happen again in the future. I am... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shower dirty had hair in tray, Cigarette end on floor,,, first room got locked in bolt on door stuck,,, complained lots time was told they refunded me bck on my card what a jokeeeee this is I checked with my bank no refund at all, every time I mailed I was told the manger was alway on hoilday god I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angiebae, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel, we really do appreciate all constructive comments to be able to improve the services and standards we provide as a hotel. I would like to reiterate my commitment, as mentioned in my previous correspondence, in addressing the various points you have raised. With regards to the refund,... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I booked a night at this hotel because of how easy it is to get to the university from here (literally around the corner). We'd read a few reviews but were honestly surprised at how good it was. We had room 33 on the first floor and, although small, it was perfect for the night. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alysha D, Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel and for all of your comments. We are very lucky to be situated in the heart of Clifton, close to the University, shops and quick walk to the city centre. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in room 33 too... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
59

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer