We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 85 Bristol hotels

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
The Clifton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
34%
Ranked #57 of 85 hotels in Bristol
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Denise C
  • Overview
  • Reviews (287)
  • Photos (58)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (55)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    64
    60
    66
    65
See reviews for
35
76
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay in August The reception staff are welcoming and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The decor is basic and worn, but that doesn't really worry me. The room was very warm and, as the cafe/bar area is outside, we couldn't keep the window open. The ensuite shower room was clean and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poor customer service. On arrival the hotel was run down looking and dirty. Followed up with Manager of the hotel and have not received any sort of response. Would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick S, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. I did speak to yourself after you contacted me personally via LinkedIn to request a refund for a non-refundable booking that you made for September, so I believe you have not actually stayed with us yet. As I stated in my response to you our non-refunable... More

Hockley, Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a budget hotel, this very friendly hotel is in the perfect spot for visiting the sights of Bristol City centre and Bristol Zoo. Rooms are a little small but clean. Decor is quite dated and tired and there could be a little more effort in sprucing them up a little . Carpets are worn for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan B, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us in Bristol. We really value any feedback we receive so thank you for your comments. I am so delighted to hear that you the staff here at The Clifton to be very friendly and efficient, I will certainly... More

Berkshire, uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for 3 nights commencing Wed 6 August. Upon arrival the reception staff and the girl in the cafe were very friendly and we enjoyed a very good cup of coffee. As we could not check in until 2 pm we left our bags and went into Bristol. The hotel was excellent for being central to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie50Berkshire_uk, Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel in Bristol after your recent stay with us over the balloon Fiesta weekend. I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the room that you were allocated and I can only apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay. We are... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely filthy room, toilet brush was too dirty for a toxic waste dump, shower had no power to it and no heat! Tiles filthy, plug socket hanging off wall, holes in walls, windows black with mould/ dirt, wood peeling off doors.....shall I go on? Do not stop in this hotel unless yr happy with dirt at a steep price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonia T, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your bedroom. The rooms which you booked for your group are fairly traditional rooms as they are our standard rooms, but we have many plans in the pipeline to improve these through refurbishment. However there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have never knowingly stayed in a 2* hotel before but for a last minute weekend with the girls this ticked all our boxes. Great Clifton location-above Racks and only a ten minute walk to Park St bars and shops. Our double room at the back of the hotel was out of the sun so quite cool. The other room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July '14 for work. My room was on the ground floor and the window was right next to the road, so I couldn't open it when I was sleeping despite the room being stiflingly hot. When I left the room one morning I was surprised to find that the window had been propped open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very kind and helpful staff. Spacious room with shabby deco though. Cleanliness not bad but they could have hovered the carpet at least once in five days (it's not too much asking for). Hotel in need of an overall relooking. Could have been better...could have been worse.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as our friends had a wedding reception in Racks restaurant that is underneath the hotel. We didn't use the car park as managed to get park outside the hotel on the street right outside. I must admit on arrival I was a little nervous as the hotel reception is a desk. However the room was a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flytrap55, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the facilities provided. Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the heating, we are looking into ways that we can improve this in summer. Thanks once again for reviewing The Clifton Hotel and... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel although only two star is friendly, has a good secure car par, at 6.50 per day, and has some nice individual touches. The room we had was a twin, clean, with tea facility and fresh fruit on arrival. Towels on beds made into swan shape and looked attractive . Bathroom adequate, a little hot in the room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola633, Thank you for your valued comments in your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Clifton Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the extra touches provided in your room such as the fresh fruit and swan towels. We look forward to seeing you again at The Clifton when you are next in Bristol.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bristol with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
59

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer