We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Bristol hotels

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
The Clifton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
34%
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kate C Oxford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    64
    69
    65
See reviews for
36
78
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and really like it. The rooms are basic but with really nice touches like fresh fruit and real coffee. Bedding towels, etc are always spotless and the staff are great. I recommend the veggie breakfast too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate C, Many thanks for your positive comments following your most recent stay with us at The Clifton Hotel and for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased to hear that everything in your room to meets your satisfaction and that you enjoy the fresh fruit and fresh coffee. Thank you also for your feedback about... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had stayed there for 2 nights, the room was quiet I had no issues with noise, however the bed sheets were not smelling fresh but of dust, the carpet was unclean, the wardrobe reminded me of some run down student dormitories. The lavatories were out of question, there is a bathtub that was decaying and stained with a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenna B Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton after staying with us recently. I am disappointed to hear that the room was not up to the usual standard of cleanliness that we maintain at the Clifton Hotel. My Housekeeping team does carry out thorough checks before the rooms are ready and clean for guests to... More

Scicli, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I want to tell my experience at Clifton Hotel. I booked 5 days in March with my boyfriend because we needed few days for searching a new home for rent in Bristol. The third day we found a new house so we asked at the reception to cancel the two previuos days but for the hotel policy she said she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear perlina_grigia, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your stay with us back in March. I am terribly sorry that we were unable to speak to you before having to charge you for property damage to one of our brand new bedspreads in the room that you were staying in during your stay in... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was right at the top and felt a bit like a maid's room in Downtown Abbey! The bed was comfortable and it was a smoking room, which as a non-smoker, I wouldn't normally book. However, there was no trace of smoke. The car park was extra, but due to booking online I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BlueDougal, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Bristol. The Front of House team will be delighted with your comments about their friendliness and efficiency. Thank you very so much for taking the time to review The Clifton and we really hope to see you in Bristol again in... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel to Bristol on a weekly basis for work. We chose this hotel as it allows dogs at a really reasonable price £5. My work involves travelling with my dogs and they are used to staying in different locations. We struggled initially to find the hotel, then we struggled to find the parking as this is not signposted well.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara L, Thank you very much for your recent review of The Clifton Hotel. I am ever so disappointed reading this review and hearing that you found the location of your room not suitable for your stay and that your dogs were unsettled with the noise from the restaurant downstairs and the passageway. Thank you for raising this issue,... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last minute booking as a friend had to stay in local hosiptal over night we arrived slighty early and was told our room would be ready shortly, when we got to our room was a smallish double room on ground floor that is very well thought out. The shower room has clearly recently been redone decent pressure and heat to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie p, I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us very recently, thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am really pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will certainly be passing this on to the Front of House team here... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here on numerous occasions during trips to Bristol, but unfortunately it's not what it was. Executive double cramped room and tiny bathroom/shower. Very warm and humid weather, but radiator was on 5 (!) and no fan in cupboard (has been previously). Small window fully open but no air circulation. Could not fault cleanliness and provision of fruits/teas etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona M, Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us last week. Any feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us to rectify any issues and improve the standard of service and accommodation we provide. I am so disappointed to hear that you did enjoy your time in the hotel on this occasion. I have... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a very welcoming entrance with very helpful staff. The bar was pleasant. However the room was a let down, for such a beautiful building it was quite apparent that it is long overdue a refurbishment. The carpet was worn, curtains not hanging right, decor dated and furniture dated and worn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob J, Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you found The Clifton Hotel to be welcoming and pleasant! We are very lucky to have such a beautiful building and in such a desirable part of Bristol city. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our more traditional rooms but as you can... More

somerset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked 3 Rooms, 1 night. Harriet, receptionist was incredibly friendly, informative and helpful. she is an asset to The Clifton. Rooms Clean but a little dated. Fresh, fruit, lots of beverages brilliant. Downside, Racks bar underneath, I suggest they get Door Safe, the amount of fighting talking (shouting really) abusive language until past 4am was very unsettling. Hotel and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SomersetJean, I am pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with us at The Clifton Hotel despite the disruption during the night. Our Front of House team is indeed very friendly and welcoming. I will pass on your kind comments to Harriet, I am positive she will be very happy to hear that you found her particularly helpful and... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Basic room, carpets worn, some furniture wonky in places, weak shower but overall quite clean. Room was quite stuffy, managed to prop the window open, with the supplied window propper (aka a bible)! This, after all, is a budget hotel but still, good value for money. Parking can be found in the side streets around the hotel. Excellent location, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter T, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. As a small, independent hotel group reviews are extremely important to us. I am saddened to hear that you felt the room was slightly worn and that the window would not stay open. We do provide fans in our rooms... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage The Clifton Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay