We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Bristol hotels

The Clifton Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
The Clifton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
34%
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Rob J
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    63
    67
    64
See reviews for
36
76
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel has a very welcoming entrance with very helpful staff. The bar was pleasant. However the room was a let down, for such a beautiful building it was quite apparent that it is long overdue a refurbishment. The carpet was worn, curtains not hanging right, decor dated and furniture dated and worn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
somerset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked 3 Rooms, 1 night. Harriet, receptionist was incredibly friendly, informative and helpful. she is an asset to The Clifton. Rooms Clean but a little dated. Fresh, fruit, lots of beverages brilliant. Downside, Racks bar underneath, I suggest they get Door Safe, the amount of fighting talking (shouting really) abusive language until past 4am was very unsettling. Hotel and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic room, carpets worn, some furniture wonky in places, weak shower but overall quite clean. Room was quite stuffy, managed to prop the window open, with the supplied window propper (aka a bible)! This, after all, is a budget hotel but still, good value for money. Parking can be found in the side streets around the hotel. Excellent location, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter T, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. As a small, independent hotel group reviews are extremely important to us. I am saddened to hear that you felt the room was slightly worn and that the window would not stay open. We do provide fans in our rooms... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff very helpful and friendly upon arrival with no problems at check inn, room was very nice and tidy with a great powerful shower. There are parts of the hotel that need re painting and stains on floor. I was treated with 2 swans on my bed which was very nice and a selection of fruit, tea coffee and biscuits.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. Our Housekeeping Manager will be very happy to hear that you appreciated the swans and complimentary fruit, tea, coffee and biscuits that we provide in our rooms. There is no excuse for the iron that you received to be showing bare... More

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location with parking Very busy hotel over a very busy bar Reception is very manic with nice young girls attending to your needs Rooms are tiny and the ensuites are ridiculously small In the basement is a bar called Racks which is very busy and has outside tables, so when I stayed there it was a warm evening and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles H, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and were disturbed through the night with the noise from Racks Bar & Kitchen. We do endeavor to courtesy call all of our guests arriving that day if we know there will be an event on in Racks on that particular day.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay in August The reception staff are welcoming and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The decor is basic and worn, but that doesn't really worry me. The room was very warm and, as the cafe/bar area is outside, we couldn't keep the window open. The ensuite shower room was clean and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise C, Thank you very much for reviewing The Clifton Hotel, any feedback is of great help to us to improve our services and accommodation to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found the staff to be welcoming and your room to be clean and comfortable. Thank... More

Hockley, Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a budget hotel, this very friendly hotel is in the perfect spot for visiting the sights of Bristol City centre and Bristol Zoo. Rooms are a little small but clean. Decor is quite dated and tired and there could be a little more effort in sprucing them up a little . Carpets are worn for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan B, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us in Bristol. We really value any feedback we receive so thank you for your comments. I am so delighted to hear that you the staff here at The Clifton to be very friendly and efficient, I will certainly... More

Berkshire, uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I booked this hotel for 3 nights commencing Wed 6 August. Upon arrival the reception staff and the girl in the cafe were very friendly and we enjoyed a very good cup of coffee. As we could not check in until 2 pm we left our bags and went into Bristol. The hotel was excellent for being central to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie50Berkshire_uk, Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel in Bristol after your recent stay with us over the balloon Fiesta weekend. I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the room that you were allocated and I can only apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay. We are... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Absolutely filthy room, toilet brush was too dirty for a toxic waste dump, shower had no power to it and no heat! Tiles filthy, plug socket hanging off wall, holes in walls, windows black with mould/ dirt, wood peeling off doors.....shall I go on? Do not stop in this hotel unless yr happy with dirt at a steep price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonia T, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your bedroom. The rooms which you booked for your group are fairly traditional rooms as they are our standard rooms, but we have many plans in the pipeline to improve these through refurbishment. However there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have never knowingly stayed in a 2* hotel before but for a last minute weekend with the girls this ticked all our boxes. Great Clifton location-above Racks and only a ten minute walk to Park St bars and shops. Our double room at the back of the hotel was out of the sun so quite cool. The other room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bristol with
any amenities