We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 86 Bristol hotels

The Washington

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Washington to your Saves list
The Washington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #44 of 86 hotels in Bristol
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Kristóf R
  • Overview
  • Reviews (314)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (64)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    109
    79
    47
    39
See reviews for
36
81
65
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a few days on a recent trip. It was in convenient spot for my trip and it is certainly a nice area to stay in. The hotel, however, was less than ideal. The room wasn't the nicest, it was very run down and needed a bit of a re-vamp. The shower-head wouldn't point towards me in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear MISSBidders, Thank you for placing a review of The Washington Guest House after your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that there were a couple of issues that marred your stay with us. Firstly, I would like to express how happy I am to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We are all passionate... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay at The Washington with my girlfriend was really nice. The room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly with a smile on their face, no matter what our claims were. The location is really close to the city centre, the breakfast was massive and delicious. The perfect stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Kristof R, Thank you for your kind review of the Washington Guest House. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your comments to my teams. We are all extremely passionate about the Washington and thrive on positive feedback, so it is much appreciated. As you pointed out, we are... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Be very careful, I booked on-line via Booking.com unaware that my partner was booking elsewhere, the hotel refused to refund even though I made them aware of the error within 24 hours. Very rude Reception Manager!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear 400HoneyB, Thank you for taking the time to review The Washington Guest House. I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced but unfortunately, as you took advantage of our non - refundable offer we are unable to issue any refunds. I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the standard of service received. It is very... More

Hull
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly the only positive thing to say about the Washington is that the staff are all very friendly and helpful, Unfortunately if the hotel was a horse it would be put down for its own sake. The Washington is a collection of Victorian style terrace houses knocked into one and therefore has so many passageways it resembles a rabbit warren.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear john_sHull, I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Washington. I have discussed the issues you raised with my House Manager and she has held a meeting with her team to discuss why the stairs outside the window were not cleared of rubbish - I agree with you that such things... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is great for location and price. 15 minutes walk into town in one direction and Clifton Suspension Bridge in the other, good area. At £56 plus £6 parking, it's a real bargain - full English breakfast included too, good quality. A little extra for internet. Very helpful receptionists. The room was fine but no lift with heavy bags.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Colin F, Thank you for reviewing the Washington after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and the standard of service you received. We are indeed located in a desirable area of Bristol which is in a convenient distance to the city centre and the beautiful Clifton Village. We do recommend... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is 10-minute walk from the centre of Bristol and has all the facilities you need for a short city break. Some nice little details such as complimentary fruit, teas and coffees however don't save it from being in frankly speaking shabby conditions - stains, holes, rust... One receptionist was extremely friendly while another one was arrogant beyond imagination.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Traveller V, Thank you for placing a review of the Washington. I'm sorry that there were a couple of issues that marred your stay with us. Firstly, I would like to apologise that you were not fully satisfied with the level of service received. I can sssure you that it is not the feedback we normally get as we... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room we stayed I for one night was tired and battered. There were large stains on the carpet and the net curtains were grubby. The ensuite was adequate but very small and had seen better days. The car park and back entrance were particularly unwelcoming, with an area near the car park entrance piled high with old mattresses, broken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth C, Thank you for taking your time to review the Washington. I am very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We do have an ongoing refurbishment project at the Washington so carpets and curtains etc are being replaced on a regular basis. I am confident that we are addressing the problems... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Washigton for sure had some splandid time... 100 years ago. Mold in toilet Mold on ceiling splashed fuit/tea bag? on a wall Do not vary much from other english b&bs... I guess it's just "english standard"

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Lukasz D, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Washington. Thank you for your feedback. I would like to address some of the comments that you made in your review however. You mentioned that the toilet was mouldy. I can assure you that our housekeeping team cleans the rooms thoroughly on... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always happy to stay at the Washington as it is very convenient. The receptionist was very kind,friendly and helpful. They have single rooms at the top for a cheaper price - even tho they are very small and do not have their own bathrooms, they are very clean and well equipped with tv,kettle, hairdryer,fruit etc. I don't have breakfast so... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Angela N, Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your most recent stay. All feedback is hugely valueable to us and is discussed with the teams in our monthly presentations. I was particularly pleased to hear that this was not your first visit to the Washington. As you pointed out in your review, we have... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were not guests of The Washington but had walked in to ask directions as we were quite lost and tired. We were so pleasantly surprised by the lengths to which the lovely receptionist went to help us. She gave us directions to where we wanted to go on a little map, and when we realised it was too far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear 695Josephine, Your review brought the broadest smile to my face! I have already been able to pin point who was responsible for the fantastic service you received and they are thrilled that they made a difference to your day. I am extremely fortunate to have such a passionate and friendly team here at the Washington - they really do... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
46

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer