We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 86 Bristol hotels

The Washington

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Washington to your Saves list
The Washington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #41 of 86 hotels in Bristol
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Angela N London, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (308)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    108
    78
    46
    37
See reviews for
36
77
63
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room we stayed I for one night was tired and battered. There were large stains on the carpet and the net curtains were grubby. The ensuite was adequate but very small and had seen better days. The car park and back entrance were particularly unwelcoming, with an area near the car park entrance piled high with old mattresses, broken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Washigton for sure had some splandid time... 100 years ago. Mold in toilet Mold on ceiling splashed fuit/tea bag? on a wall Do not vary much from other english b&bs... I guess it's just "english standard"

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Always happy to stay at the Washington as it is very convenient. The receptionist was very kind,friendly and helpful. They have single rooms at the top for a cheaper price - even tho they are very small and do not have their own bathrooms, they are very clean and well equipped with tv,kettle, hairdryer,fruit etc. I don't have breakfast so... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Angela N, Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your most recent stay. All feedback is hugely valueable to us and is discussed with the teams in our monthly presentations. I was particularly pleased to hear that this was not your first visit to the Washington. As you pointed out in your review, we have... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were not guests of The Washington but had walked in to ask directions as we were quite lost and tired. We were so pleasantly surprised by the lengths to which the lovely receptionist went to help us. She gave us directions to where we wanted to go on a little map, and when we realised it was too far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear 695Josephine, Your review brought the broadest smile to my face! I have already been able to pin point who was responsible for the fantastic service you received and they are thrilled that they made a difference to your day. I am extremely fortunate to have such a passionate and friendly team here at the Washington - they really do... More

Somerset, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight to visit Bristol Hippodr0me and chose this Hotel because they took dogs. It was in a very convenient spot quiet, rooms were clean and with tea and coffee facilities. Close to restaurants and bars and staff were very friendly and helpful. Only downside was the parking which was £6 overnight which you would probably need to book as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Jean P, Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you found us to provide good value for money. As you mentioned in your review, we do accept pets at the Washington for a small additional charge. We prefer to get advance warning of this so... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very please with this hotel value for money would recommend , clean , helpful, lovely selection for breakfast. Walking distance to harbour site & town where there is plenty of bars ,restaurants and bristol amphitheatre

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne B, Thank you very much for your kind review of the Washington. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your comments to my teams. As you pointed out, we are very lucky to be in such a lovely area of Bristol with most of the popular sites within easy reach. Feedback... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose this because we needed parking, and the hotel website claimed that onsite parking was available without requiring a reservation. However, upon arrival, parking spaces were indeed reserved for several people. When inquiring about this at the front desk, the attendant said that yes, that is what the website indicates, but that "people kind of know they need to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Shodapp, Thank you for placing a review of the Washington. I'm sorry that there were a couple of issues that marred your stay with us - this is not the kind of feedback that I want to hear at all. Firstly let me apologise that you didn't have a shower curtain in your room. I cannot work out which... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here late night not bad but could do with a little touch of paint in room and a new loo seat , clean bedding, hot water ,which is great for us ,( a lot of places we have stayed in had no hot water took to boiling kettle.) staff friendly , helpful, polite, bed to hard for me didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Lisa P, Thank you for placing a review of the Washington after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you found the basics were done well; clean bedding and hot water are essential in a Guest House - I'm very glad you didn't need to boil the kettle here! We have a constant refurbishment programme at the... More

Kent
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked 2 single rooms for me and a pal, his first visit and he was really impressed with the staff and particularly the full English breakfast. We met some people who were trying to encourage us to try another hotel but we were happy and we will re-book on our next trip to Bristol for a night on the town.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Kev E, Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Washington - feedback like yours is exactly what keeps my team motivated to do so well. I have passed on your comments to the whole team. I am delighted that we will see you again at the Washington. Please do sign up to our loyalty card... More

Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel with excellent service I had the mishap of losing an earring and was so happy when the staff found it and posted it to me. Enjoyed the breakfast and the food in the restaurant round the corner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Emma B, Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Washington - it has made the team smile on a Monday morning! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to reunite you with your earring - it is so frustrating when you lose one! I do hope we will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
46

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer