We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Washington

11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Washington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Washington
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    130
    107
    59
    44
See reviews for
53
99
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (389)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked The Washington as a group of 10 (hen party) and had an enjoyable stay. Rooms are reasonable size and clean with variety of teas, coffee and fruits available. However some rooms need a makeover as there was paint peeling off and signs of damp in some rooms. Breakfast was lovely...nice choice of fruit juices, cereal, fresh fruits and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Shabby needs doing up. Expensive for what we got. Breakfast room smelt funny. Toast wasnt toast was bread. Sausages were cheap didnt get much. If you wanted more you pay extra. Funiture in room needed skip. Rotting windows. matress dipped in middle. ....best things about this guest house was that it had a good central location, and was clean, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night only for sons graduation. The staff are lovely, the car parking facility is good as was the breakfast, they are the positives! We were on the second floor, the room was tired to say the least, peeling wallpaper, stained carpets and the most ineffectual shower I've ever come across. I've read the replies by management about how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Sally R, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, as a small guesthouse we really appreciate all feedback we receive. Firstly congratulations on your son’s graduation, we have had many people visit for graduation due to the perfect location just a stones throw away from the university, so I hope you had a wonderful day... More 

London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed her during a break in Bristol recently and was somewhat disappointed. The rooms were small the twin beds smaller. The room was however clean and tidy and there was plenty of hot water. I would recommend that the cleaning team have a look outside the window though as there was a lot of rubbish in the stairwell including a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Helen1381, Thank you for reviewing us on Tridadvisor and for giving us feedback on which to improve, we always want to be bettering ourselves as a hotel so your comments are greatly appreciated. I am sad to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our rooms can vary slightly in size due to the nature of being... More 

York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Only complaint room was very hot even with the window open and could do with a lift as stairs are steep .Their bar around the corner offers guests a discount and had a nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Janine H, Thanks for your review – it is always great to receive feedback from our guests! I am really glad you found the staff to be of assistant – I will pass your feedback to the team, who work very hard to deliver the very best customer service to all of our guests. Our breakfast is a great... More 

Friston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This well placed to the lovely City Centre of Bristol was just about all it had going for it I`m afraid. Yes, Bristol was entertaining many many more visitors than usual, but I booked the hotel in April 2015: that part of the experience was easy, with very helpful staff. However, the room we had was small, and packed full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear JazzBirdFriston, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate feedback in order to continually make positive improvements for our guests. I am glad you appreciated our central location it does make a great spot for site seeing, especially with so many exciting summer events currently in Bristol. I am very sorry that you... More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a pleasant stay. Two rooms booked to allow for graduation day. Hotel clean and good value and would definitely use again. Minor observation nets ripped in three places which was a shame as this minor thing was very noticeable. Breakfast was good and service very good with a good range of fresh cooked food. All staff professional and friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Jedi1962, Thank you very much for staying at The Washington and for reviewing us – it’s always helpful to receive feedback. Firstly, I’m really glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you had a great time celebrating graduation day. As we are so conveniently located near to the university buildings, it’s been great seeing so many graduates and their... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice and friendly check in room was clean but at a closer look just a little bit more house work it would get a perfect score. Bathroom was a good size with a small bath and shower the only issue was a low ceil and door frame as I am 6foot2 it would someone about 5foot8 as I banged my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Martin L, Thank you for reviewing us, as a small guesthouse we really appreicate it! I am glad you found our front of house staff friendly and efficient, we do our best to deliver the best customer service to all our guests. I will pass on your feedback to the housekeeping team, although daily inspections are issued to ensure... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here at the weekend. I think all the foundations are there, very friendly staff and a good breakfast. Excellent bedroom accessories including a selection of teas, coffees, shortbread biscuits, fresh fruit, shower gels/conditioner. However, as mentioned in previous posts, the hotel in general both internally and externally along with my room was very very tired and worn looking, whilst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Richard S, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us with such positive feedback :) We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality trays in the room and we have recently updated our shower gels and soap so glad you liked these too! As we are a guesthouse slight wear and tear is to be expected and... More 

Yarm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you walk in the attention to detail is second to none.You could be walking into a really top class hotel. The staff are professional, attentive and very friendly. In the room the facilities are well thought out, lots of different teas, even cocoa and ovaltine. The shampoo and soaps were lovely. The domestic staff were polite and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear leigh j, Thank you so very much for your ever so kind review. Our staff work so hard all year round to give every guest personal service and exceptional customer care. I am so pleased that you got to experience this first hand! I will certainly pass on your comments to them, it'll be a great encouragement. I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#39 of 40 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#37 of 40 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#30 of 40 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#25 of 40 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 40 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay