We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 86 Bristol hotels

Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #11 of 86 hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
plegg04 Yeovil, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (921)
  • Photos (152)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (223)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    370
    109
    48
    20
See reviews for
81
447
79
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for the harbourside festival, rooms good value for money if you get breakfast included in the price, otherwise breakfast is £16.50 each. Our room was spacious and the air con worked perfect,it needed to as it was 26c outside,10 minutes walk from Bristol temple meads railway station, breakfast was buffet style with a choice of continental or full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hawarden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is in a great location. We were a party of eight who stayed for two nights. The hotel shares it's location with an NCP Car Park which is expensive and involves a good walk to get in and out of which is a bit of a pain. There is a 25% discount for staying in the hotel so it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards Iain France - General Manager More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed a saturday night at the Brigstow in a family room which I prebooked on the phone. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast was good and staff organised and helpful so could not fault the hotel. City centre location was excellent with a good selection of nearby restaurants. My one concern was parking after a long drive but there are nearby multistorry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon and remember to always check out the Mercure web site directly for the best rates available and also be elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kind regards, Iain France - General... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A little disappointing. Room very small and expensive. Great location though, although had a few problems finding it. Parking quite expensive. I don't think that I will be visiting this hotel again, sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the size of your bedroom for the price you paid and that you believe the car parking in the city of Bristol is expensive. On a more positive note, I was happy to read that you appreciated our unique location. Should you change your mind... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The whole point of booking a hotel is that you arrive in a place and know you have a bed for the night. Total shambles caused by overbooking. Arrived to the slowest check in guy ever who blithely informs me hotel is overbooked. 40 mins later he's still trying to find a room in a hotel somewhere. How about one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

I was very sorry to learn that we were unable to accommodate your reservation, please accept my sincere apologies. After a full investigation, it appears that our systems encountered a technical error which, resulted in accepting more bookings than rooms available, please be assured that this is certainly an isolated incident and that Mercure does not operate an overbooking policy.... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights at the Brigstow Hotel and we could not fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. The location was perfect and would definitely go back to this hotel next time we visit Bristol

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable and remember to book on the Mercure web site when you want to come back and stay with us again where we offer the best rates available in addition to being elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Iain France - General Manager More

New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had two rooms on the 6th floor. 616 and 618. We had booked the Avon river view. But the the trees were so high and being in the end , you could hardly see the river . Rooms are nice and comfortable. It was very hot and realized later that they had only air cooling and not air conditioning.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager More

Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having taken up a special rate from Secret Escapes we had one night at the Brigstow. We found the staff were very helpful and pleasant and the superior room with river views was perfectly adequate although of course this time of year the trees obliterate any views. We did not have dinner there but thought that the breakfast was excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your second visit with us again. Please remember the next time you stay, always check out the Mercure web site for the best rates guaranteed in addition, you will also be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' We shall look forward to welcoming you back... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bristol #9 Business Hotel in Bristol #11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol #19 Family Hotel in Bristol
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
116

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer