We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Bristol hotels

Berkeley Square Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Hotel amenities
Berkeley Square Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Square Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Katie A Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    80
    64
    50
    16
See reviews for
33
70
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

4 of us stayed for one night on Wed 3rd December. It was booked at relatively short notice - and they had plenty of rooms available - which should perhaps have warned us. On arriving at reception, we were informed that both the restaurant and bar were closed to residents, due to a Christmas party. Instead, we were pointed towards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had very small double room at the front of the hotel so our room was spotlit for most of the night by the external lighting... We'd been pre-warned that a 21st birthday party was taking place but hadn't expected the noise to go on for quite as long as it did... Enjoyed the little touches such as the sherry but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie A I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel, as we are a grad 2 listed building all of our rooms vary in size. We operate a rolling refurbishment programme in order that all rooms get the attention and upgrades that they need. I will personally take a... More 

Helsinki
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was smallish yet feasible, but the personnel could not get heating to work. I asked three times explicitly to turn the heating on as I was recovering from cold and needed a warm room. This failed and spent the night without radiator on. Service at reception desk was totally incompetent. In addition, there was a disco downstairs with loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tomtk89 I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. We had to have our gas turned off temporarily for maintenance that weekend, and when it came back on there were a few issues. We do offer portable heaters if issues arise, and I will speak to my reception team and... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel externally is stunning and the positioning to Clifton is perfect. The staff are extremely friendly & efficient. Unfortunately like many old hotels the rooms are tired and the shower is grubby and archaic. Won't be staying there again...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 65Bram, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and I will pass on your kind words to the staff. It is unfortunate that you were not impressed by the standard of the room. We are looking to upgrade some of the rooms over then next year and I... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WARNING. Telephone once you book to confirm your room has been reserved. Then phone again to make absolutely sure!! Arrived to be told they didn't have my booking, but subsequently found it by going onto another system! I was then advised they had no rooms left and that mine was under construction. Really? My colleague booked a week after me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1CAJ Thank you for your review. I am really sorry to hear that there were issues with your booking. We currently have two booking systems that are not connecting to each other properly and have resulted in the occasional overbooking. To combat this we have upgraded our booking system and this will prevent the issue from reoccurring. I hope... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay away (sadly) 100 plus days a year. This is one of my bottom 2 hotels I can remember. Room 9: Shower drips constantly all night. The shower is dirty. The bathroom needs de-moulding and some tlc The room is above a door that bangs closed 2/3 times a minute from 6am ish No food available (sandwich or anything)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarkHippo I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I was unaware that the shower in Rm9 was constantly dripping, so I will make sure that maintenance are called out to fix this immediately. We are currently working on improving our bathrooms, so I will ensure that Rm9 is tackled this week.... More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time we had stayed. It is in an excellent position - within walking distance of all major attractions. There is a charge for parking but it is a real bonus - undercover with secure roller door. On the downside - there is no way of controlling the temperature in the room other than opening the window.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caveman 1956 I am so happy to hear that you returned to the Berkeley Square Hotel, and enjoyed your second stay with us. I am sorry that you found the rooms to hot, the heating is controlled centrally and not within in the rooms. I will look into getting the heating turned down to ensure that this does not... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great little hotel. Room was lovely and had plenty of nice touches such as fresh milk for tea in the room, a sip of sherry - a great walk in shower. Staff are great, very helpful. Excellent value. The only thing I can find to criticise is the fact the toilet paper was a bit thin!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris D Thank you for reviewing of the Berkeley Square Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked the complimentary sherry and fresh milk provided in the rooms. We are looking into improving the quality of the toilet paper provided in the rooms next year,... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly hotel close to the University of Bristol. Boutique, but not too exclusive. welcoming, friendly staff, well appointed rooms with good, free, wifi in all rooms. The beds are very comfortable, Tvs in each room, adequate bathroom with bath/shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy_Nolan Thank you for your lovely review of the Berkeley Square Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so fortunate to be situated in such a lovely area, close to all amenities, and just a stones throw away from the University of Bristol. I have passed your kind words onto my... More 

Plymouth, England
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small single room but quiet. left early so no time to try the breakfast. they wanted money for broadband so I declined it. Staff very helpful and (paid) parking just down the street was convenient and secure. A good base for a Bristol trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WanderingAcade Thank you for your review of the Berkeley Square Hotel, your feedback is very important to us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Danielle van den Bergh More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Berkeley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay