We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Bristol hotels

Berkeley Square Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Berkeley Square Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Square Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
52%
Ranked #44 of 88 hotels in Bristol
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Tom M lyme regis dorset
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    68
    49
    40
    13
See reviews for
25
59
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lyme regis dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel looks lovely from the outside. Inside its quirky and arty which is brilliant, great character to the hotel. The staff were very friendly, from reception to restaurant. We were very pleased we could buy our zoo tickets through the hotel directly, which was brilliant! The room was good, on the top floor with views over Bristol and some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

That’s the catch-phrase of the hotel group and one we can confirm having spent several nights at The Rodney over recent years and a single overnight at The Berkeley Square Hotel this week. We read some less than complimentary reviews about this hotel and were a little concerned about what we might find, but everything about our stay was positive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wilkos99, Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate our guests' feedback and the team is thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the service you received. I will be checking all our double rooms to ensure that they do have two sherry glasses so thank you for pointing this... More

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is located on the top of a hill on a quiet turning into a Victorian square complete with large communal garden in the middle. There is an emphasis of the club function room which is in the basement of this grand hotel. The entrance is just magnificient and sets the standards high. The room met our needs as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear denise635914, Thank you for your review. It is very helpful for us to hear about what you did and didn't enjoy about your stay. I'm glad to hear that the room met your needs and you enjoyed your sherry. With regards, to the noise and debris left from the party, I am shocked to hear about the mess left... More

London, Bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Both the exterior and interior of the hotel was nice enough. The single room I was in has all the modern amenities such as kettle, flat screen tv, etc. However, the shower had no pressure and I couldn't shower at all, the receptionist had to let me use the shower in the adjoining room that another guest had checked out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Absolutbkk, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We find guest feedback very helpful for improving our service. With regards to the problems you had with the shower, I can assure you that it was reported to our maintenance team and has now been fixed. With regards to the wifi charge, we are currently running an... More

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I am surprised by some of the reviews here. I stayed here on business for one night and had a very pleasant stay. The room was fine, bed comfortable, and sherry welcome. The location close to the University was great for me, and customer service and breakfast fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LJT60, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your positive feedback onto the team as it is always appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to The Berkeley Square again soon. Kind regards, Louise More

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend break in early March. The hotel is located on a very pleasant square which my single room overlooked. Upon arrival I paid the extra £7 for 24 hours reserved car parking in the covered garage at the other side of the square. There was also plenty of available metered parking around the square, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SWilkins, Thank you very much for your review. Myself and the team are thrilled to hear that yourself and your friend enjoyed your stay at the Berkeley Square. We certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Louise More

York, England
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The service was not as friendly as that previously experienced. Having booked a car parking space we were called in our room next morning and asked to move our car because there were not enough spaces. Apparently local businesses have priority and may block you in. The staff on the desk did not apologise for the inconvenience. Of course none... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate J, Thak you for your feedback. I apologies for any issues you have had in our garage and am sorry that you were not given an apology at the time. Some of the spaces in the garage are reserved between 9am-5pm and there are signs in each space. However, as this was not made clear to you I... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked this hotel as a 'mystery' hotel on laterooms and after reading the other reviews on here we were extremely worried about staying at Berkeley Square. When we arrived on the square the hotel car park was immediately visible on the right hand side and the receptionist was surprised when we told her we'd already found it! We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kittybear1809, Thank you for your review. Our team are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our efforts to provide efficient customer service are not going unmissed. You pointed out the mattress and the curtains in rooms four and we will certainly have a look into replacing the mattress and cleaning the curtains. I'm glad... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've now stayed here six times in the last year. Good location, friendly staff. Reasonable value for money, and nice breakfasts. But why, oh why, oh why, is the mini-bar in every room I have ever stayed in, incapable of refrigeration? Very poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TrippoDicko, Thank you for your review. It is especially helpful for us to have the feedback of our regular guests. We have been experiencing some ongoing issues with some of the minibars in our rooms and I can assure you we are doing our best to get these fixed. We hope to welcome you the Berkeley Square soon and... More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I travelled to Bristol as a combination of work and catching up with old friends and chose this hotel as it is next to the block I used to live when I lived in Bristol so it brought back positive memories. The location is ideal of course with buses to both the city centre and the train station which mean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise_Parkin, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smiling890, Thank you very much for your review. I is always great for us to hear customer feedback and I'm glad to hear that overall you were happy with your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. I'm also glad to hear that you were happy with your room and that you enjoyed the fresh coffee. You pointed out that... More

Been to Berkeley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square
Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 88 hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.