We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Bristol hotels

Berkeley Square Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Hotel amenities
Berkeley Square Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Square Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PeckishPete
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    67
    51
    16
See reviews for
33
70
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I first arrived and saw the size of the room, I was a bit dissapointed, especially when I saw the fire escape plan and realised that mine was the smallest on the map. However, the room proved to be very comfortable over a four night stay. The best things about this hotel are Listed in priority order: Comfy bed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PeckishPete Thank you for your lovely review of the Berkeley Square Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback. My team work really hard to ensure that they are providing the best service possible, and I am sure they will be thrilled to hear your feedback. We hope to hope to welcome you to the Berkeley Square Hotel in the near... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here twice now, for business trips as it is close to the office. The 1st experience was not good, the room was right next to the bar and had a hole in the wall, the toilet for the bar was next door so there were people going past a lot until quite late. Not ideal at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucysinclair14 Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stays at the Berkeley Square Hotel. We operate a rolling refurbishment program, and we will be concentrating on our bathrooms over the next few months. Our Single rooms are smaller in size,... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel,isn't 4 star by any stretch of the imagination. It's Saturaday night and I am in my room on the 2 floor and all I can hear is the band in the club downstairs. If that floats your boat great...but of you what a classy hotel in Clifton this isn't it...the bathroom is dowdy, the hotel,needs a refit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter B I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. I would like to offer you a discount on your stay with us, if you could contact me directly at the Hotel on 0117 925 4000 so that we can discuss this further. Kind regards, Danielle van den Bergh More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sort of hotel where no one cares anymore. Although on a business trip, I was put in a room next to a Xmas disco that went on until 1.30 in the morning. The TV didn't work and the shower was cold. The only friendly face was the French waiter who served me an admittedly delicious, freshly made breakfast. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nickynoocotswolds I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. I would be more than happy to offer you a discount for your accommodation, if you would contact me directly at the hotel. If you could let me know the room that you were staying in so that I can... More 

York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the Berkeley Square with my brother and parents for a family friends wedding. When we called to book the receptionist couldn't manage to book with the correct rate (guests for the wedding got a discount), my mom showed me the confirmation email and this really didn't give enough information about the details of the booking, I think this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael A I am sorry to hear that you had issues with reserving your rooms, group discounts are set up by our Group Reservations Team. This is normally quiet a smooth process as the reception team just need to select the correct name and the rates will come up. I will ensure that I speak to both parties to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4 of us stayed for one night on Wed 3rd December. It was booked at relatively short notice - and they had plenty of rooms available - which should perhaps have warned us. On arriving at reception, we were informed that both the restaurant and bar were closed to residents, due to a Christmas party. Instead, we were pointed towards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, General Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hammythehamster I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. We are a grad 2 listed building and all of our rooms vary in size. If you were interested in staying in a double room, the reception staff would have been more than happy to upgrade you to a double for... More 

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Had very small double room at the front of the hotel so our room was spotlit for most of the night by the external lighting... We'd been pre-warned that a 21st birthday party was taking place but hadn't expected the noise to go on for quite as long as it did... Enjoyed the little touches such as the sherry but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie A I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel, as we are a grad 2 listed building all of our rooms vary in size. We operate a rolling refurbishment programme in order that all rooms get the attention and upgrades that they need. I will personally take a... More 

Helsinki
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Room was smallish yet feasible, but the personnel could not get heating to work. I asked three times explicitly to turn the heating on as I was recovering from cold and needed a warm room. This failed and spent the night without radiator on. Service at reception desk was totally incompetent. In addition, there was a disco downstairs with loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tomtk89 I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square Hotel. We had to have our gas turned off temporarily for maintenance that weekend, and when it came back on there were a few issues. We do offer portable heaters if issues arise, and I will speak to my reception team and... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel externally is stunning and the positioning to Clifton is perfect. The staff are extremely friendly & efficient. Unfortunately like many old hotels the rooms are tired and the shower is grubby and archaic. Won't be staying there again...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 65Bram, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and I will pass on your kind words to the staff. It is unfortunate that you were not impressed by the standard of the room. We are looking to upgrade some of the rooms over then next year and I... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

WARNING. Telephone once you book to confirm your room has been reserved. Then phone again to make absolutely sure!! Arrived to be told they didn't have my booking, but subsequently found it by going onto another system! I was then advised they had no rooms left and that mine was under construction. Really? My colleague booked a week after me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle v, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1CAJ Thank you for your review. I am really sorry to hear that there were issues with your booking. We currently have two booking systems that are not connecting to each other properly and have resulted in the occasional overbooking. To combat this we have upgraded our booking system and this will prevent the issue from reoccurring. I hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Berkeley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay