We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bristol Hotel

4.0 of 5 The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Bristol Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bristol Hotel
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    658
    193
    67
    30
See reviews for
167
1,049
76
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1928)
  • Mar-May only
    (485)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (595)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (527)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (321)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Bristol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently with my husband and we loved it. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I'v ever slept in. The only thing tha went wrong was I placed an order for breakfast on the outside of our door to have breakfast delivered in the morning and it went missing. Once we realised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon_coote, Thank you for your review, We are glad you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. If back in the Bristol area our best rates are available on our direct website, Sincerely Mark Payne General Manager The Bristol Hotel More

Enfield England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel, deluxe room but a little disappointed with the hotel The staff were brilliant every one very friendly and most eager to help. The position of the hotel was perfect really easy to get around Bristol. Public transport at your finger tips. However the bathroom was inadequate, not enough draw space... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avrilgirl, Thank you for your review, Overall we are glad you had a good stay and we appreciate the kind comments regarding our team. I would accept your comments on some of our Bathrooms; however I also believe that for our offering we deliver very good value when compared with our city competitors. I have also passed on your... More

North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are of a good standard, if a bit compact. Breakfast was excellent. It's right on the river which is an advantage in terms of location although the disadvantage being there is some noise, if you like to sleep with your windows open. All in all, really good value. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rebecca B, Thank you for your positive review, We are glad you enjoyed our central location. You are correct in that it may be noisy if one wants to sleep with the window open, however all our waterfront rooms are fully equipped with air conditioning units and triple glazing to give all our gusts an excellent chance of having... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and on this visit we stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday and had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the harbour - it was fantastic. Without exception, all of the staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We had an evening meal in the River Grille restaurant which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tats22, Thank you for the excellent review, Remember if returning our best rates are available on our direct website, Sincerely Mark Payne General Manager The Bristol Hotel More

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a very comfortable night at The Bristol again whilst staying over in Bristol on 2/4/2013. Clean decent sized room, with view of marina. Quiet yet close the city centre. Delightful simple breakfast and pleasant staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan G, Thank you for the great review. If a regular guest it may be worth asking our team about signing you up to our GHA membership programme which offers excellent benefits to our guests, We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future, Sincerely Mark Payne General Manager The Bristol Hotel More

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I got a special deal for a two night stay in a deluxe room which turned out to be pretty small and with a tiny bathroom. Worst though was the view. Our room faced into a central well so our predominant view was the strange, container-like rooms on the other side of the well. Luckily we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TimS2715, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, We are disappointed the hotel did not live up to your expectations but overall glad you enjoyed the city and all it has to offer. Sincerely, Mark Payne General Manager The Bristol Hotel More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just had a girls 2 night stay, had great deluxe rooms ideal location by the harbour lovely bars restaurants, stalls and Hippodrome just up the road. Wonderful breakfast, piano man playing as we walked in the restaurant friendly staff really lovely hotel. Great location, train station 5 mins away by taxi. Would like to return at xmas time if they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gembenhol, Thank you for the great review, It is great to see you enjoyed our deluxe rooms and resident pianist on Sunday morning. We hope to open for Christmas packages so keep an eye on the website for some great deals, Sincerely Mark Payne General Manager The Bristol Hotel More

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We planned to stay here for 1 night on a Saturday. On arrival the staff were friendly and polite but once we got to the 'superior' room we were surprised at how small it was. The room was also very hot with no option to control the radiator heat for the room. We were on the 2nd floor on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T1987_13, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, obviously we are very disappointed you did not have a great stay and we appreciate the feedback to make us aware of the issues. I believe Raphael has been in touch with you regarding the stay and I hope at this point it is resolved, If further... More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights this week, Great Location right by the water,service was excellent, breakfast was brill, room was the best we have had for a very long time, the bathrobe and slippers was a very nice touch Would we stay here again....you bet

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Les T, Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. It is great to read such good feedback I’m our endeavour to make every guest experience unique and luxurious. We hope to see you back at the Bristol hotel in the near future, Sincerely, Mark Payne General Manager The Bristol Hotel More

st helens, england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked this hotel as a midweek 2 night break bed breakfast and evening meal on first night. On Check-in staff are friendly and helpful very smooth and quick check-in. We was on 6th floor very clean and spacious room, complementary Wi-Fi too. Booked the evening meal for 8pm the restuarant staff are very professional, friendly and you do not feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear June40, We are glad you enjoyed your two day break with us and in particular our sixth floor rooms and free wifi, We have some excellent packages on our website, our most recent one being the bubbles and berries package which is going down very well and at a very reasonable rate for a two night stay. We hope... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Address: The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Jurys Doyle, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
2:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay