We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Narrow Quay, Bristol BS1 4QA, England
Hotel amenities
YHA Bristol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Bristol to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
steve d Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
5
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed here many times. The hostel is situated in a great spot on the waterfront. There are many bars and eating places nearby and it's very handy for The Arnolfini, The Hippodrome and Colston Hall. The building is a converted warehouse on 5 floors. There's a lift to the 4th floor and stairs to the 5th. The staff are... More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No complaints at all. very clean, great communal areas, rooms well equipped with a large shower room and separate toilet within the room so we didn't have to share with strangers, terrific value and the best thing was the location - right next to many nice bars and restaurants, with a lovely view across the harbor. outstanding value for money.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHABristol, Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi there, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and its location! If we are particularly busy you may have to change rooms, but we always do our best to try to avoid these situations. We hope to see you again some time soon! Thanks YHA Bristol More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My 6 year old son and I had a lovely stay. The hostel is in a great central location, staff were helpful and friendly, it was well equipped. Only slight issue was the shower room needed a bit of attention but fine. We loved bristol and hope to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHABristol, Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi Chrissy! Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a great stay. We will also be looking into doing a bit of maintenance in the showers. Hopefully we shall see you again. Thanks, YHA Bristol More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times in the last 2 months, not once has everything been open/working. Either the lift, the cafe, the self serve restaurant or the wi-fi has been broken on each visit. The staff also all seem new, and as if they are still in training. The rooms are very good, and comfortable, warm and some even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHABristol, Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your comments. This past month we have been dealing with a lot of maintenance issues and have been refurbishing a lot of the hostel. We had been having troubles with our lift for quite sometime; this was mainly due to the weight limit often being exceeded. We have now put up many more signs, making... More

Turin, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Great position! In the heart of old city and close to nightlife. Small dorms, and if you want use WiFi you have to pay a 5£ a day fee. Carpet in dorms and hallway (not really hygienical). Batroom and showers quite clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHABristol, Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments. We are happy to hear that you felt we are in a good location for visiting Bristol. Our carpets get vacuumed at least once a day, but as you mentioned you did not feel they were clean enough; we will do our best to check the carpets are tidy throughout the day. Other guests have... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I've stayed in a few hostels now and this is genuine value for money. Its a converted grain store located on part of the redeveloped quay. Its well located to the centre of Bristol. The interior is modern, and each floor requires you to swipe your access card, as well as your room door. Toilet and shower, while separate cubicles,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHABristol, Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt that your items were safe. As for the showers; we will be looking into putting in new shower hooks as you suggested. Hope to see you again soon, YHA Bristol. More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

You can walk down from the national express bus stop and is right on the water. It's near all the bars and clubs (walkable) and is the budgeter choice. Really clean and neat dorm rooms, very cheap and breakfast is included. Not the best eggs but you know you don't have to eat them. All and all, really good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night in a private twin room. While the room wasn't spacious it was enough for our brief stay, especially considering we didn't spend much time in it as it was easy to go into the centre of Bristol from the hostel. Their was a sink in the room which was useful and very convenient, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The good: -Unbeatable location for the price. -The breakfast (although it was a little steep at five pounds, there's a good selection). The bad: -My bed hadn't been made up since the last person had slept in it. They had left Revels in the bed. I didn't notice and woke up with chocolate on my PJs. Grim. -Loo roll in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a 4 bed single sex room with a friend, two other girls also in the room. Room was fine, nothing fancy but did the job happily. The toilet and shower were separate which is good. The shower room was a bit challenging in that there was limited apace to put clothes where they wouldn't get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bristol

Address: 14 Narrow Quay, Bristol BS1 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay