We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    15
    11
    12
    28
See reviews for
1
12
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

From reading reviews on here, I was genuinely terrified of staying at The Full Moon last weekend. In reality, I shouldn't have been worried. It was easy to find, the staff were friendly, it was only £17.50 for a bed on a Saturday night (which is by far the cheapest place you'll find to stay in Bristol on a weekend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We booked an eight person dorm for my friends party weekend. First impressions were pretty good, staff were friendly, place seemed to have a bit of personality and the room was not too bad by hostel standards. However this good impression came to an abrupt end when we tried to use the hostel for what I assume it was intended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The hostel is very well decorated and beds are very big. Toilets are tidy but showers would need some more cleaning. I got there on Friday so it was very noisy and I could not sleep. And when people are walking even outside a room the bed was shaking. Overall, it is a great place for partying and meet new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

Well to be honest it was poor at best. People who go there, seem awesome enough, however the service, really poor quailty breakfast options, if it ever turns up at all and warm. And coffe off below par. Wellllllll below par. Honestly, the only saving grace this place has, is that it serves alcohol. That way people can get so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for staying with us and sorry you had a disagreeable time! It seems some sort of mistake has been made as we do not include breakfast here at The Full Moon Backpackers, only free Tea and Coffee along with Self-Catering Kitchen facilities for all guests to cook their own meals! Perhaps you have us confused with a... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

I have been in this hostel around 3 times already but i have never writen any review about them but this is the moment, the location is just great less than 5 minutes from the bus station, they have a good bar with a good enviroment to meet people and feel like a local,the only thing i saw was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting a friend in Bristol. We were not looking for anything plush or romantic, just a stopover after a night out drinking. The Full Moon backpackers hostel was a bargain, the staff were friendly and it served us for what we required, which was essentially a bed for the night. The place was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Only stayed here one night with my partner and really enjoyed the hostel. We didn't use the kitchen and common room so can't comment on them. We stayed in the twin room with em suit... Brilliant room! Wasn't noisy as expected (it's right next to the courtyard). Maybe at the weekends it's noisy. The en suit was massive and shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Very poorly run hostel with little to no security at all. All three members of our party had to swap beds every night, with no warning from the hostel. They would return to the hostel and find someone else in their bed and their personal belongs unpacked and strewn across the floor of the bedroom. More than once during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Staff was extremely friendly. I've stayed in other hostels that have had bars, which made the staff care less about its hostel occupants. The Fullmoon staff care a lot however! Great vibe about the place too- lifeaffirming art, cozy commons room, spacious and furnished kitchen, and a plethora of outlets!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

To begin with, we couldn't check in for half hour because the lady on the reception didn't know how to turn the computer on. When it finally happened, she surprised us further by not knowing the password to log on to computer - neither did any other member of staff who was on site that evening. The password was written... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay