We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Bristol accommodations

Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Hotel amenities
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Full Moon Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
37%
Ranked #30 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    8
    9
    23
See reviews for
1
9
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Full Moon is a great Hostel, but it's not for everyone. I had a fantastic time there, but you have to understand that it is situated above a bar, next to another bar, and across from a night club. It's one of the most popular places to be on the weekend, so if you're looking for a good night's sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is at a great location for exploring Bristol. The staff was freindly and the factilites were great. Having a pub on site was handy although not serving breakfast on a sunday morning was a shame. The rooms were very basic but clean! There are only 2 toilets and 1 sink to share between the whole floor so this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in a lot of hostels over the years and this is unfortunately the worst I've experienced. I wasn't expecting miracles as the price I paid was very cheap, but I wasn't impressed. The private room was admittedly quite large but definitely hadn't been vacuumed, everything looked and felt dirty, stained walls, carpets, uncomfortable bed. The toilets were pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spend a night here on the 5th oct2014 as we came from barry to watch a band. Being of a certain age, a hostel wasnt somewhere i thought i would stay. I have to say we booked a double room instead of a dorm and wat a fab surprise it was. The room was spacious and had a fab... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The full moon is, quite simply, the centre of Bristol's nightlife. Right between stokes Croft and the city centre it's in a prime location and one of the best venues around. Staying here is really, really good fun if you're looking to explore, meet new people and party.. For a quiet relaxed night it's maybe not the best, but that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gumbet, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having visited Bristol a handful of times I didn't know what to do in the city but after a chat with the staff I came away with lots of information and helpful suggestions. The rooms are clean and made for a comfortable nights sleep. As an added bonus there is also a lively pub attached to the hostel which has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel exceeded my worst dreams. If you're looking for a place to sleep, you're better off on a bench in a park. There's a club downstairs which runs until after 2 in the morning. Which basically means you're in for a party right inside your room. Opposite the street there's another club which provides the great afterbeat. The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Prior to booking it is clearly stated on our website and through Hostelworld and Hostelbookers that we are in a very vibrant area and have a popular and busy bar downstairs, especially over weekends, many agree this is in fact what makes their stay so memorable. Apologies that it wasn't what you were looking for. Kind Regards, The... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting bristol, would recommend this to my friends. Situated just outside the centre, so was nice and close to everything. Hostel was clean, Pub downstairs was very nice, good atomosphere all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Thank goodness we only stayed a night here! Pro's - The staff were friendly and informative - The outside terraced area was great, and very popular (bar, shisha area, food stall, indoor pub/club) - Necessities and snacks/drinks sold at reception, and decent prices - Baggage drop off and pick up was allowed outside of check in/out times Cons: - Sleeping:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there and sorry about the negative aspects of your stay - as mentioned prior to the booking process The Full Moon is a lively place at the weekends and an important fixture in Bristol's vibrant alternative nightlife and music scene, after the bar closes at 2 the staff encourage everyone to respect sleeping guests and our neighbours by keeping... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Blood stains on the bedding was minimal. There were no bedbugs. Report Bed Bugs immediately. Don't leave bread in the lockers in the common room as it will grow a thick layer of mould over time. Only minor flecks of blood on the bedding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Full Moon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Address: Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Backpackers Hotel Bristol

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay