We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

5.0 of 5 Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Plough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Plough
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    34
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
27
89
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
West Malling, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the plough just for one night and was just as we wanted the rooms were well decorated and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was outstanding. Fantastic value given that the hotel was of such a high standard, well worth staying in or having a meal in as you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

I think we're now starting to hit the level of consistency we were searching for when taking the business over in the Summer. Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a Friday night. Hadn't booked a table and we were lucky to get one. Had the dog with us so had to eat in the bar area but this was no issue for us. Bar was spacious and clean. Great food. Couldn't fault it. Location not so great as nothing else nearby but we were staying in nearby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Happy that you were able to enjoy an evening in a proper pub with man's best friend in tow... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large group of us ate here on Saturday night. Standard of food is good and certainly value for money. The bar was a little quiet so atmosphere was a bit sparse. We received great service throughout. If you can please 11 with no complaints Id say you are on to a winning combination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

We do pride ourselves on being able to cater for larger families and groups of friends whilst still maintaining the quality that we're famed for - thanks for your positive words More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to all meet up half way between Carlisle and Halifax for a family meal. The location was perfect and booked a table. On arrival staff were very friendly and asked us t wait in the rustic bar area while the rest of the family arrived. A good selection of premium lager and hand pulled beers are on offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - glad you mentioned booking for Sunday lunch, it's better than ever and we're still improving all the while... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here earlier in the year and loved it especially the superb rooms and we also enjoyed the food and hospitality but we called in for a late evening meal recently and the service was not so good (they forgot about my wife's main course until the other three of us had nearly finished our meals). The food however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

It's a shame we weren't able to maintain the high standards we set first time for you - just the slight inconsistencies of a new business - however we're at full throttle now and no more excuses... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Really good steak for a tenner! I think the pricing is due to change to a set menu on steak night, with a minimum of a starter and steak, but regardless, it's good food and a fantastic refurbishment. Wine was also great and staff were friendly - really nice pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Great review for steak night, thanks...it has changed now, equally as popular and just as good value with more meaty choices! More

london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch, expecting a good tasty lunch after reading reviews. But it has changed hands and the good food must have exited with last owner: I had fishermans platter (not cheap at over £14) which consisted of a handful of defrosted frozen prawns with a blob of commercial Marie Rose sauce, a slab of strange tasting smoked salmon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a great day great service had a steak to die for cooked to my liking well done just melted in you mouth husband had fish which he said was beautiful and still had room for pudding which again was brilliant nice to get dressed up and go for a nice meal at a good price

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had a fantastic meal here. They were fully booked but managed to squeeze us in and we had amazing steaks. Service was really good too. Would really recommend to anyone in the area but try and book in just in case!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights We stayed in the Redman at the rear. No noise lovely and quiet. Great bedroom, huge bathroom Felt really cosy and comfortable here. Really enjoyed the food Good tastes, quantities and all served by friendly young staff. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Would stay here agin if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plough 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Lupton

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay