We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Hotel website
101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Special Rate
Stay and Play $199
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    84
    73
    40
    24
See reviews for
84
124
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
There are newer reviews for Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quite nice. Stunning view from our balcony. Good restaurant for dining and breakfast. Room needs a facelift rugs etc. Swimming pool nice but fitness room was cluttered with machines half of witch didn't work. Over rated probably for the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We will be working on renovating all of our guest rooms over the winter with updated furniture, finishings and decor that I think you would be quite pleased about. Come back next summer and stay with us again, you won't be disappointed! More 

Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this resort for one night while touring Waterton Park. The rooms are in the town off the main road, The rooms were clean and quiet, a little dated for a standard room. There is a place to eat right in the resort entrance. They give a coupon for 10% off a meal. Right across the street is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, you picked a great time of year to visit Waterton when things are starting to wind down. We hope you stay with us again the next time you visit... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This facility was a big disappointment. The room was not clean, the carpet was filthy, the TV was antiquated (tube type) and unusable. The food in the restaurant was tasteless. The whole facility looked tired and run down. We certainly expected more for $199. per night!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with your stay at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We try to do our best to ensure pleasant stays for all of our guests. If you would have let the front desk know about the maintenance issues we would have happily dealt with any problems to make your experience a positive one. Again, I sincerely... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Livermore, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed here recently. We were quite unimpressed! Our original room had slats missing from the window, which meant that sunlight would burst in and wake us up, but we needed to sleep till 11 am, because we were tired. Also, the phone did not work at all, what a joke! So..... we had them reassign us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was a nice room, but was a little disappointed it didn't come with a fridge. Love the jetted tub, the shower was very big, but a very small shower head and not intended for two people to shower together. Maybe a trip in the winter so we could of used the fireplace. Overall it was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write us a review,we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we are looking in to replacing the shower heads to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you do come back to visit us in the winter and have the chance to enjoy the gas fireplace. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The place looked very nice on the Internet and when we arrived the room was not very clean and smelled musty. The blinds in the bedroom were broken so anybody outside could look I . When we went into the bathroom the caulking all around the bath tub was mouldy. There was nowhere else to spend the night so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize you were unhappy with the quality of your room. This is not the standard of quality and excellence we try to provide to our guests, and I am sorry we failed you. If you can recall your room number, please email info@waymarker.ca so that we can take a look at the issues and have them taken care... More 

Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Cost over $400. Balcony filthy with debris and rotting wood post. Storm door window filthy and had no automatic closer on it. Smoke alarm did not appear to be operational since there was no green or red light on it. Behind the bed was very filthy and carpet was stained and worn. A lot of money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review on your stay at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We sincerely apologize you were not satisfied with your experience. This is not the standard we strive to achieve, and we are sorry we failed you. If you can recall the room number you stayed in it would help us to... More 

Glenwood
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It seems over the years that I've noticed the lodging facilities in resort communities are either top shelf or very run down. The top shelf properties always far exceed our budget, so we've generally had to tough it out in more humble fixings. Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is actually what I'll call a truly average facility. Clean, not overly worn,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Waterton is a beautiful place and we work hard to give our guests the best experience possible, we appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to have you back with us again soon. More 

Alberta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time I've stayed at this resort in the last three years. I think there have been significant changes in the management of the resort in the last year, as my experience this year was completely different from last year. I had a deluxe king room in the First Nations Building. The room was clean, bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are glad to know you gave us another chance this year after your last displeasing experience. We have worked hard to improve our overall guest experience on all platforms, and it's good to hear it hasn't gone unnoticed to our guests. We hope you... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here in early Aug. We found the room a good size(room 1509) and clean. Centrally located in Waterton. There was no iron in the room which I found strange. Bathroom was dark with a thin shower curtain. This is just a bland hotel,nothing special in any way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay