We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Hotel website
101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
194 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We booked a two-room suite with kitchen for an ice climbing trip. There wasn't a lot of space for four adults, but the room was warm, clean and comfortable. Cooking equipment was basic but adequate - we used our own knives for chopping and cutting. The staff were helpful and accommodating when we changed our plans.

Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here for our one-year anniversary and had a nice time but had a few disappointments along the way. We realized that it was the winter season and our choices for eating/shopping/lodging were going to be very limited. We chose this lodge because they had a hot tub. We went hiking in the snow and we're excited to warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carla_Raffael
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Carla! We're so sorry to hear you encountered some disappointments during your stay with us. To explain, our hot tub was out of order because we were in the process of re-tiling the bottom and replacing broken jets, we apologize our front desk team did not make you aware of this when you checked in. Same goes for the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of our anniversary getaway. We wanted something different from our annual Jasper or Banff trips. Overall, it was a positive experience. Staff were friendly, the mountain and lake views were great, and our appetite for something different was quenched so no regrets. There are however, a few things to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garth P
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Visiting friends in Montana and added a trip to Glacier National Park. Waterton is the Canadian side to the north of the border. Had to go into Canada at the border to the northeast of Glacier as the border at the park closes at 6:00 SHARP. Beware of "open range cattle" standing in the road in the dark!! Bad....very bad.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

In September we held the Waterton Glacier International Peace Park Assembly in the town. The hotel was our primary lodging site and they also catered our main meals at the nearby Community Hall. I believe that most people who stayed there found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable. The staff were most accommodating and went out of their way... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrandpaCalgary
seattle
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

I've stayed here a few times when other hotels were overbooked. Its sort of like an old condo complex. The rooms are rather bleakly furnished with wierd decor. Lamps made from animal horn type motif. Not really my thing. Towels and amenites are not the best and while tv is very ltd in Waterton they still use the old massive... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank davidgmg
Otis Orchards, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

The units are grouped about 4 or 5 to a building and "Good Luck" finding your room. The numbers are a secret and the desk people didn't give us or any of the other travelers we encountered directions. The desk person just kept telling us how tired she was as she is working two jobs. The rooms are basic and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hoorae45
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Nice hotel in Waterton, king size bed comfortable. Rooms are quiet, and spacious. Our room was a bit too warm even after we turned all the heat off, but in fairness to the hotel, we didn't advise them, unless we were going to stay another day. Other hotels in the Waterton town area are not as nice as this hotel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Next_guitar_hero
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

We come to Waterton on a regular basis because we live only 40 minutes away. I am not sure that there is a bad a place to stay here but one thing for sure is that this place has the vimy restaurant and it is good. You might as well stay here. It's nice and clean the price is right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

This was our first visit to Waterton, and maybe our last visit to Waterton if we live by our first impressions. The Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort was the only place in town left open after the long weekend, we had no idea the place becomes a ghost town after Thanksgiving. It would have been nice if this info was shared... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Darren B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.1 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay