We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Hotel website
101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    54
    34
    21
See reviews for
64
106
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Canmore, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Easter weekend and will definitely be back. We arrived in our room to find delicious chocolate covered strawberries and a nice bottle of wine. That night we went for dinner at Vimy's, and shared the Spinach and Artichoke dip, Deep fried pickles and the Pulled Pork Sandwich, yummy! The servers were very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The great place for family vacation. I am writing from 1911 room now. The Room is big and clean. Staff is very friendly. Great swiming pool. Dry sauna works very well. Restaurant is very comfortable. Home made Vimy burgers are very testy. We like to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rod, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! It's great to hear you and your family enjoyed your time visiting us at the Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We're looking forward to having you back again soon! More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Made a reservation for dinner on Valentine's day at Vimy's, but when we got there they didn't have our reservation in the books. That should have been our cue to leave. We were seated in the lounge area under a vent blowing cold air. Other couples had also been seated there before us and asked to move, as did we.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry you were disappointed in your experience with us, as this is not the standard of service we strive to provide to all of our guests. If you choose to visit us again, give some of our regular feature menu items a try, they might be more to your liking! Throughout the winter we have undergone extensive renovations to... More 

Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Beds were great, modern, spacious large rooms, good bathroom, good television. It just needs be cleaned better. Most staff is young, logically seasonal, but oversight by senior staff would assure they were not hanging out in hallways waiting for quitting time (personally observed on multiple day stay). Trash accumulation in cans at entrances and long term filth in hallways, common... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brian, we sincerely apologize you were dissatisfied with your stay during the past summer season. We assure you the conditions which you describe are not a regular occurrence, and we have taken the appropriate measures to ensure we are always providing the best possible guest experiences in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write us a... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

stayed at Waterton Lakes Lodge this weekend and had a fabulous time. We enjoyed the Valentine's Day special menu with beef Wellington and sea food pallela. Desert was delicious. The apple crisp nice and crispy with ice cream, yum! Only suggestion would be to have the candles on the tables actually lit...would add nicely to the ambiance 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Aileen, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the Waterton Lakes Lodge for Valentine's. We hope to have you back again soon. More 

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

When we first arrived we loved the lodge look and feel. This quickly left when entering. The front lobby was dirty, check in was late due to rooms not being "cleaned", rooms had no off season pricing. When we did eventually get our room it was dingy, dirty, very outdated, I would never sit on tne old dirty carpeting, restaurant/lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay with us. You visited during a time when we were unfortunately understaffed due to it being the end of the season, and hiring more staff wasn't possible during that time. The team we did have on hand did their best to ensure we were providing the best... More 

Mundare, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We've spent the holidays at multiple destinations over the years, and this has definitely been my favourite! While much of the village was closed for the holiday season, the resort and its staff did more than enough to make our stay comfortable and memorable. One of the staff --Sammy, I think-- made herself available anytime we had questions or need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Kyle, we really appreciate your feedback. I'm so happy our team at the Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort made your Christmas vacation a memorable one, and I'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Sammy. Hope to have you back again in the future! Sincerely, Darcy Wright General Manager More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We are aware that mistakes happen. How they are handled is what matters! Our situation was handled with high integrity. Groups & Events Coordinator Deanna Baulch identified, fully explained and rectified an overbooking of our reservation accomodation at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort by other staff prior to her taking her present job which averted a crisis! She has been professional,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Paula, I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. It's so great to hear our staff managed to overcome this overbooking issue for you, we're looking forward to having you and your group visit us in July! Sincerely, Darcy Wright General Manager More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We booked a room to celebrate our anniversary. Check in was quick and efficient, but the front desk agent offered very little info on the property other than a rather serious warning to not take anything valuable with us if we went to the pool. (Made me assume theft is a problem here). We had a nice dinner in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
LETHBRIDGE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We had a very personal and private Company Christmas party last Friday catered to us by Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We will gladly do this again for our Company staff next year. The rooms were clean, well maintained and Great value. the Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our event coordinator, Deanna was very cooperative and prompt. Our Dinner buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bill, thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy we were able to play a role in making your staff party a success. Waterton is definitely one of Canada's best kept secrets, and we do our best to keep it that way, especially during the serene winter months. It was great having you, and we're looking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question