We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

3.0 of 5 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    54
    34
    21
See reviews for
63
105
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Made a reservation for dinner on Valentine's day at Vimy's, but when we got there they didn't have our reservation in the books. That should have been our cue to leave. We were seated in the lounge area under a vent blowing cold air. Other couples had also been seated there before us and asked to move, as did we.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beds were great, modern, spacious large rooms, good bathroom, good television. It just needs be cleaned better. Most staff is young, logically seasonal, but oversight by senior staff would assure they were not hanging out in hallways waiting for quitting time (personally observed on multiple day stay). Trash accumulation in cans at entrances and long term filth in hallways, common... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed at Waterton Lakes Lodge this weekend and had a fabulous time. We enjoyed the Valentine's Day special menu with beef Wellington and sea food pallela. Desert was delicious. The apple crisp nice and crispy with ice cream, yum! Only suggestion would be to have the candles on the tables actually lit...would add nicely to the ambiance 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Aileen, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the Waterton Lakes Lodge for Valentine's. We hope to have you back again soon. More 

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

When we first arrived we loved the lodge look and feel. This quickly left when entering. The front lobby was dirty, check in was late due to rooms not being "cleaned", rooms had no off season pricing. When we did eventually get our room it was dingy, dirty, very outdated, I would never sit on tne old dirty carpeting, restaurant/lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay with us. You visited during a time when we were unfortunately understaffed due to it being the end of the season, and hiring more staff wasn't possible during that time. The team we did have on hand did their best to ensure we were providing the best... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Mundare, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We've spent the holidays at multiple destinations over the years, and this has definitely been my favourite! While much of the village was closed for the holiday season, the resort and its staff did more than enough to make our stay comfortable and memorable. One of the staff --Sammy, I think-- made herself available anytime we had questions or need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Kyle, we really appreciate your feedback. I'm so happy our team at the Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort made your Christmas vacation a memorable one, and I'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Sammy. Hope to have you back again in the future! Sincerely, Darcy Wright General Manager More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We are aware that mistakes happen. How they are handled is what matters! Our situation was handled with high integrity. Groups & Events Coordinator Deanna Baulch identified, fully explained and rectified an overbooking of our reservation accomodation at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort by other staff prior to her taking her present job which averted a crisis! She has been professional,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Paula, I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. It's so great to hear our staff managed to overcome this overbooking issue for you, we're looking forward to having you and your group visit us in July! Sincerely, Darcy Wright General Manager More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We booked a room to celebrate our anniversary. Check in was quick and efficient, but the front desk agent offered very little info on the property other than a rather serious warning to not take anything valuable with us if we went to the pool. (Made me assume theft is a problem here). We had a nice dinner in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LETHBRIDGE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We had a very personal and private Company Christmas party last Friday catered to us by Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We will gladly do this again for our Company staff next year. The rooms were clean, well maintained and Great value. the Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our event coordinator, Deanna was very cooperative and prompt. Our Dinner buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bill, thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy we were able to play a role in making your staff party a success. Waterton is definitely one of Canada's best kept secrets, and we do our best to keep it that way, especially during the serene winter months. It was great having you, and we're looking... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

Waterton lakes lodge catered my October wedding at the waterton community hall. The food was amazing and the event coordinator (Deanna) was so helpful. Many of our guests stayed at the lodge and loved it. It is centrally located in the townsite and one of the only hotels with adjacent green space, this means great wildlife watching. Deanna really made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ainsley, I'm so happy to hear we were able to make your special day a success! It's nice to know our entire team worked together to overcome issues and provide the best experience possible for yourself and all of your guests. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Deanna. Sincerely, Darcy Wright General Manager More 

Matane, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed at this property 3 nights late September. Waterton being a wonderful but relatively small townsite,there was nothing else left available for that time.We wish that we could have upgraded it but considering that the other places were closing off for the season,we made the best of what we had. It was not a great lodge,the room was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, General Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Hi Anne, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay with us at the Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We understand the level of service you received is unacceptable and we sincerely apologize that these issues were overlooked during your stay. We were understaffed and did our best to provide exceptional experiences to all of our guests, we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay